We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The right choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rummana Boutique Resort
Ranked #21 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The right choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Very warm welcome with surprising refreshement after a long trip.Nice bungalows, accomondation very charming, maybe a little too less store possibilities.Roomservice very good.The whole hotel area seemed to be always maintained and very tidy. Breakfast of very good quality, wide choice of fresh fruits and fresh made egg dishes. Restaurant very nice and romantic athmosphere, excellent quality of food, served from a very well trained, nice and warm staff, always accompanied with a smile.After having a noise problem with a toad we were offered to immedtiate change rooms. Hotel and beach area very calm and relaxing.Beach very tidy, a few stones in the water did not bother us.We like to thank the hotelmanager Sayan and his crew for making our holiday very special and unforgettable!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerhard Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    68
    22
    8
    6
See reviews for
40
114
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside
Level Contributor
109 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is our second visit to Samui and to the Rummana and unfortunately we wish we had stayed somewhere else.

There is nothing wrong with the hotel, but it’s just not quite right.

It may tick the boxes to get it’s 4 stars but you don’t feel as though you are receiving a 4 star experience.

The rooms are tired and need a refurb – as do the bathrooms. The showers need to be swapped for thermostatic type.
TVs are old crt type and it would be nice if they were replaced with flat screen.
Aircon is noisy and never quite gets there...

The pool caused a number of minor cuts to our feet – not serious – but not nice. Pool is usually littered with leaves and was often over dosed with chemicals (quite strong smell).

Most of the staff are very polite (as everywhere in Thailand). Hotels garden is very calm and relaxing, with small waterfalls.

Despite our disappointment with hotel we had a nice time. We like the beach location (quiet) and the 15 minute walk to town is pleasant.

We wont return and we would suggest to friends that they stay somewhere else (next door looked nice....)

Room Tip: Close to the beach if possible. Another hotel perhaps?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

All the resort employees are very kind and always ready to help. They were just awesome. The restaurant Is great as well as cocktails. Definitely a place to recommend. I didn't give it 5 stars because the beach is great but not awesome, the swimming pool would need some renovation and towels weren't always completely clean.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chino8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Me and my wife were on a Vacation on this resot from 15.7.12 till 19.7.12 I can say that we enjoed very much. The servis was exelant the stuf was very good and kind the restarunt was very good also every thing was cleen and perfact. The money I paid was ok.
The Pool area and Pool was cleen.

We very much enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The room was in the midel of the resort, and it was quiet and plesent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rastaman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Me and my husbant just returned from Rummana hotel, we went on honeymoon and were expecting real 4 star luxury and chic hotel (as they say in the broshiure). But were very much upset and dissapointed from first minute we entered the room. Its ok, but it is not a 4 star at all, and definitely not worth high price we paid, for 150 euro per night you would expect some level of comfort. There was no even hand wash soap, no body lotion and whole bathroom is complete disaster. No separate shower, bathtube is old and not very clean, no tiles on the wall, so water is splashing all around, floor is concrite with holes in there and stones, everything is wet and lookes unpleasant. You cant walk with slippers in there. The whole place is terrible old, probably last 20 years without any touch. Furniture is more like in 2 star hotel, smth just painted with dark brown paint. Breakfast is ok, but tea and coffee they serving from big kettler is some kind of brown liquid, terrible. Occasionally I find out that its possible to ask for a green tea bag and personal pot with hot water, so do it. Swimming pool is very small, I cant even call it a pool, its more of a size of a bathtube in our garden. You cant swim there. If you like swimming in the pool, dont be fooled by the picture they have on website, its really small. On the beach there are about 10 beds, many stones under water, so better to go a bit left side from the hotel. And be aware of dogs running along the beach, its easy to step on poo, and many broken glass, really must watch where you put your foot. Nobody cleaning hotel beach, plenty of plastic and sigaretts. Personell in the hotel is very polite and service minded, as everywhere in Thailand. Hotels garden is very calm and relaxing, with small waterfalls. But that is only positive I can say. Inspite of dissapointment with hotel itself we had a nice time. We like the location and can come back to this hotel, but only if they will renovate bathrooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

After far too much investigation, into hotels in Koh Samui, we finally settled on this gem.

Cons:
1. We had to wait, at the airport, for our hotel transfer for an hour (we have 3 children aged 16, 9 and 4 so it was slightly inconvenient). Apparently the mini van, destined to collect us, had an accident so I suppose this is a fair excuse.
2. The are no adjoining villas for families - in hindsight not a bad thing ;-)
3. Babysitting is expensive - TBH 300 per hour. Our 16 year old son helped us out one night so we didn't need this service.
4. The sea is quite rocky. This is only a problem if the sea is "rough" because you cannot see the rocks beneath you.
5. No English pork sausages for breakfast. We are expats living in Kuala Lumpur (Malaysia is a Muslim country) so I was a bit disappointed. Loads of bacon though so it didn't cause any stress.
6. Asian Mosquitos! Repellent machines and mats are provided but (we follow this protocol in our home in KL too) I strongly suggest aerosol mosquito spray, which is freely available, to be sprayed in your villa at least once before bed time (stay out of the room for a about 20 minutes after spraying) and keep doors and windows closed.
7. Pillows. You are provided with two pillows per person. One which feels like a brick and one which feels like a softer brick. Softer pillows are needed. Having said this, we did not request softer pillows so perhaps these are available.

Pros:
1. When our airport transfer arrived we were met with smiles, apologies, beautiful fresh orchid garlands, ice cold bottled water and wonderfully refreshing, and intricately folded, COLD and wet towels.
2. Our check in was swift and friendly.
3. On realising that adjoining rooms were not available, we were allocated new villas, which faced each other, in a quiet little cul de sac accessed via a wooden deck bridge over koi ponds, very close to the pool, beach and restaurant -within the maze of villas. We stayed in villa 303 and 304.
4. A wonderfully comfortable extra (single bed) was provided in our children's villa to accommodate 3 people. After a small argument about who got the "comfy" single bed....my 9 year old daughter won.
5. Hotel staff moved our belongings (and the extra bed) whilst we went to the beach for a long swim, beach walk and lovely dinner at the hotel bar overlooking the beach.
6. Rooms and bathrooms are clean, spacious and well maintained. There are wonderful little burners in the bathrooms, which contain camphor oil, so the room always smells fresh.
7. A well stocked mini bar.
8. The hotel pool and surrounds were very clean and I actually saw a staff member cleaning the mosaics, all the way around the swimming pool, with a hand held little brush.
9. A short walk, along the beautiful Lamai beach, to numerous restaurants and bars.
10. Scooters are available, for rental, right outside the hotel or a few meters further on the main road. This is a MUST! We all really enjoyed exploring the island on our "steeds" and travelling to Lamai Town in the evening for the vibe and market.
11. The hotel restaurant is really good. Though there is no "kids menu" the staff are happy to serve the lunch menu in the evening and my two younger children thoroughly enjoyed the fish and chips.
The Thai curries are heavenly and bar service is excellent.
12. My husband surprised me with an intimate dinner (at our hotel) for two - on the beach with the waves lapping 2m away from our table. The atmosphere was peaceful and romantic, the staff were attentive, the decor at our table (complete with storm lantern and fresh orchids everywhere including our ice bucket!) was beautiful beyond words, and the food was delicious.
13. Towards the end of our dinner for two, a hawker came past with sky lanterns. My husband hailed our children and we sent 2 sky lanterns into the clear sky. One for love and luck for my husband and myself and one for Mommy's love with my children.
14. Seamless check out and return transfer to Samui International Airport.

All in all a wonderful stay. My 4 year old son cried when we were checking out, and I felt like a petulant child who didn't want to leave the party.

I would recommend this hotel without reservation.

Room Tip: If you need 2 villas choose villas 303 and 304. Very quiet and private. Close to restaurant, swimmin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Teri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hellerup, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

A Perfect spot, situated on the Right place on Lamai beach. If you have the oppotunity to stay at the bungalows (they've Got 2) do that !!! They are perfectly located by the pool, and overlooking the beach. The staff is extremely friendly, and it is close by the shopping at Lamai. Only reason for not giving 5 stars are the pool which needs to be rapaired to solve the problem with loose tiles

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
2.0 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
1.6 mi away
MANATHAI Koh Samui
MANATHAI Koh Samui
#10 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Beach Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#9 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#17 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Koh Samui Beach Resort
Mercure Koh Samui Beach Resort
#23 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rummana Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rummana Boutique Resort

Property: Rummana Boutique Resort
Address: 124/10 Moo 3 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rummana Boutique Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Rummana Boutique Resort, a little goes a long way. Masterfully designed in every aspect, choose from our "Island Chic" Deluxe Villas or Rummana Suites for a perfect stay, private, peaceful, well-equipped and fully stocked, you'll never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rummana Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rummana Boutique Hotel Lamai Beach
Rummana Boutique Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing