We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I keep coming back and back and back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kuxville Beach Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I keep coming back and back and back”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I have been to Kuxville when I was a child twice, and now I returned as an adult. Needless to say that I am deeply convinced by this place. And I definitely recommend it for people with children.

The cottages and apartments are comfortable, clean and secure. Kuxville is special because you feel that the people working there are happy and sincere. It's not a five star hotel, but in my eyes a much better way to get to experience Mauritius. You will encounter the famous Mauritian hospitality when staying at Kuxville, from the driver picking you up at the airport to the professional and kind receptionists and the owners who run this beautiful place.

Perfect for holidays with children, the beach is right outside your door, you can play, swim, dive (I'm not a diver or surfer, so I can't comment on Sindbad the diving and surfing school), sun bathe, lie in the giant hammock. There is also a swing on the beach (how much better can it get?).

The cottages on the land side are freshly renovated, with a eco-swimming pool in their center. So even if you can swim in the sea because of bad weather (yes, there is also bad weather in during the cyclone season), you can use the pool, which is also children friendly. All cottages have a large terrace, for eating or relaxing or simply drying your bathing suit. The apartments on the beach side mostly offer a breathtaking view on the sea. It is quiet on both sides of the road, so you can really relax while you are staying there.

All I can say is: see for yourselves and you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    21
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
46
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Accomodation, Location, Service and especially the people, owners as well as kite instructors are just amazing. We stayed almost two weeks and everything was just fantastic. Beach, Kite- and Divespot - just fantastic. Be back soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W0lke8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klagenfurt
2 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed at Kuxville for one month at the end of 2012. An excellent place to unwind at the northern end of Mauritius where the weather always seems to be the best. The accommodation is simple, clean and adequate, with the added bonus of being right on the beach, quite literally only a few meters from the water's edge. A housemaid is assigned to each room and she can prepare breakfast, lunch and dinner each day as required ... a real treat. She can even do the shopping! There is a dive and kite surfing centre on site whose friendly staff make every effort to satisfy client's needs. Though not absolutely necessary, we recommend hiring a car to make local sightseeing more convenient. If you want to relax, have some peace & quiet, with easy access to water-sports, then this is the place .... try it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank miles_aero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

A lovely place, right on the sea. Andrea and Nico, the owners of the cottage always offer a warm welcome and organize barbecues and different activities as kiting, windsurfing, surfing, diving, excursions and more. The room service is amazing with a personal cook for your daily meals, just choose from the menus your selection for the day, fish or meat, mild or spicy.

Room Tip: All rooms are very quiet. Bring mosquito repellent. At the airport, have a copy of your return ticke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoFR2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is a really nice place to stay when you're in Mauritius. Cap Malheureux is quiet with the nice little white church. Kuxville feels small, not like those gigantic resorts. We had a bungalow very close to the beach and a very friendly and sweet maid, who cooked a couple of times for us. It was delicious! There's also a diveshop and the diving is really nice near the islands. And you can also learn how to kitesurf. The people in the reception are also very sweet and helpful. I would recommend this place!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2012

My family and I adored our stay at this beautiful spot; looking off our verandah we just gazed at the bright blue sea and coconut palms as if we had stepped into anyone's image of the perfect Indian Ocean retreat. It is a tranquil little enclave where you can wander out of your cottage into the azure sea or do a spot of SCUBA diving or kite-surfing. Everything is very relaxed and under-stated, from the quiet local lady who appears with your meals and keeps your cottage all tidy to the fact that there was never a hassle to do an activity-in our case we just bowled up to the dive centre and went out whenever we fancied. I would recommend this place to anyone who has a soul; if you want bling go elsewhere--there are plenty of all-inclusive ghettos.

Room Tip: There are cottages within feet of the sea which are divine for their views, but we also stayed in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

The history of the hotel is quite a touching and interesting one. It started in 1966. The hosts (granny, son and daughter-in-law are quite a helpful trio). The location is just splendid, with majestic views overlooking the property.

But majestic views on every corner is what the entire island of Mauritius is ALL about. Wonderful views of beaches and mountains are free and you don;t need to be situated in a fantastic hotel to enjoy it.

Haven said this and without wanting to sound mean - the hotel really is in need of renovation and modernisation. I mean, honestly. I can understand that it would cost the management money, but if it is done in batches, it can be managed! In this day and age of affordable DIY and home improvement centres everywhere (even in Mauritius), there is just no excuse to receive paying guests who have travelled extremely long distances for a dream holiday in a place with outdated décor. Is this supposed to be “Rustique?” “Charming?”, “Quaint?” I don't think so.

Choosing this hotel is entirely the choice of the traveller. But be aware that call Mauritius Africa or Indian Ocean Island or whatever, the island is a modern place and hospitality is luxury-minded at a fraction of the cost of the Maldives, so do not accept anything less. There are legions of accommodation options - whether luxury, boutique or family run hotels; as well as a very well develop holiday home rentals options.

If you do decide to book this hotel, be aware of the following:
- Décor, Décor, Décor. Need I say more? Except of course, you like “rustique olde charm”.
- You WILL be invoiced for the toilet paper you use in your room, and the tea/coffee you drink. You may not be told about this at check-in , but when you do check-out, you will find out that the groceries were provided by the shop-owner somewhere else and it is not free. And your dedicated maid will ask you innocently if she should prepare lunch or dinner. Again be aware that you will be paying for every ingredient used and it will be more expensive than just dining out. Yes, converted to Euros, perhaps little things, but at the end of the day, it all adds up and you may end up paying even more than at a 4*/5* hotel.

Good luck to the traveler and especially the management.

Room Tip: Unfortunately, there is none.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AwesomeThings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cap Malheureux
0.6 mi away
Coin de Mire Attitude
Coin de Mire Attitude
#1 of 2 in Bain Boeuf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
1.1 mi away
Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel
2.3 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,305 reviews
3.1 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,404 reviews
3.7 mi away
Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuxville Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuxville Beach Cottages

Property: Kuxville Beach Cottages
Address: Coastal Road, Cap Malheureux, Mauritius 31706
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Cap Malheureux
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Cap Malheureux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kuxville Beach Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kuxville is the answer for travelers who wish for the true experience! Situated on the northern coast of the island, with the best climate all year round. An exceptional beach location perfect for swimming and sunbathing. Quite and peaceful ambiance. A kite surfing school and rental is located on the hotel premises. Delicious Mauritian and European dishes. All rooms are tastefully furnished, with fully equipped kitchens, verandas, A/C and ventilators. High-speed internet. Bars, shops and spas are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Kuxville Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuxville Beach Cottages Mauritius/Cap Malheureux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing