We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant beach front villa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Voga Mari Bungalows
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Our trip to Formentera went very smoothly and we opted to make our own way from the airport in Ibiza across to Formentera. Very helpful staff on arrival and throughout our stay. They organised bicycles to be at our apartments and there was a welcome pack of food essentials. We chose to stay here to get away and have a relaxing break. The location was perfect for us but I understand some people may be disturbed by the activity around the restaurant at the front of the apartments. We chose Formentera partly for the naturist beaches and felt very comfortable naked on the beach and there were a good number of other naked bathers. Most other people were topless so very relaxed. We we very sad to leave and would hope to return at some point.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stu545art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 42 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here in a premium deluxe bungalow. We enjoyed the two terraces in front of the living and sleeping room. Small bathroom. Everything was well maintained and very clean. Very friendly staff. Close to the the beach and Voga Mari restaurant. Upon arrival we received some milk, water and coffe which was very kind. There is during the day quite some traffic of people with cars visting the beach or restaurant. Also during night a van will pass in order to fetch garbidge at the resaurant. Also the walls are rather thin as we could hear our neighbours regularly. We had hoped to find nude beaches here, but were rather dissapointed in this as most of the people had their bathing clothes on. We know clothing is optional on the beaches on Formentera, but felt very uncomfortable ourselves due to the majority of Italian visitors who dominates the total island. We were very much impressed by the stunning beaches of Illetes and Llevant but will not return due to the Italian invasion.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmotionsTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The apartments have everything you need for a great beach holiday and if you take one of the premium apartments you also benefit from great views as well. The beach is not too crowded but can get busier at weekends and there are several excellent restaurants and bars in walking distance. The only minor downside is the relative remoteness of these apartments for the shops which necessitates hiring a car or scooter.

The apartments are functional rather than plus, but they are well maintained and have everything that you need. Most of all they have tranquility in abundance and nothing can beat sitting on the veranda with a cold glass of cava after a day on the beach - save perhaps waking up to the same view in the morning.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed in Bungalow No.13 which was a roomy one bed bungalow well equipped for a self catering beach holiday with the added advantage of some very good restaurants within easy walking distance. The bungalow had a large covered patio area with stunning views which offered shade from the afternoon sun and was still very pleasant to sit on later in the evening watching the sun go down. The interior was simply furnished with comfortable bed and plenty of storage. This bungalow also had the advantage of two patio doors leading from the bedroom as well as the living area overlooking the sea. It had a separate air conditioning unit which was very effective but noisy. I would also like to mention that Astbury Formentera Travel company are excellent to deal with and staff brilliant. This is the fourth time we have travelled with them and will do so again to this wonderful Island.Equal any day to the Caribbean!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueSully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We were very happy with our stay. I think the location was very nice. 1 minute wslking distsnce to the beach. The beach is very nice; it's C/O. If the winds are not from south, the sea would be calm with no waves.
The Voga Mari Restaurant has good food and almost excellent service. Delicious paellas.
The only downside I would say is the size of the windows in the rooms. They are big but still I would prefer larger windows and doors so that we can enjoy the beautiful sea view more.
The rooms could be decorated more stylish but it's totally OK.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familymannn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

It was our first time on the Formentera Island but surely not the last time ! Actually, we really can't wait to be back at the "Vogari Mari Bungalows" (rented via the Astbury agency) next year. Those bungalows are in mint condition, very nicely furnished and ideally located, at walking distance from the heavenly Migjorn Beach, with its white sand and cristal-clear, turquoise blue sea ! This beach was very clean, absolutely not over-crowded (at least in early July...), and the nude and non-nude people could be side by side, in a very "open", relax and tolerant way. And the bungalows are also very near the excellent "Vogamari" restaurant, where you can eat delicious, typically spanish dishes, at a reasonable price, with a cordial welcome as a bonus ... ;-) And last but not least, we also have to mention the very professional, efficient and friendly people who are running the Astbury business. In brief, we had a wonderful time there !

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Surfin_Jack_1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Having walked the Migjorn Beach from Ca Mari to Maryland, Voga Mari is the very best location on the beach. The rooms are simply and tastefully equipped, comfortable beds and cooking facilities, clever combinations of doors and windows, shutters and curtains gives excellent privacy and temperature control - we didn't need to use the air conditioner . There are just two buildings of about 6 rooms each - I guarantee that you will SLOW DOWN. The daily routine of a simple short walk to the beach in the morning, a siesta, and another beach session in the afternoon, then a walk to the Blue Bar or one of the other beach bars for the evening - or a quiet night in. Take books to read, better yet take audio books to lie back and listen to on the beach. Make a bit of effort and walk east down the boardwalk a little way from the obvious beach area with its umbrellas to get your own little cove - some as small as 4m wide.
This was a return to the island after over 25 years, and we proved how timeless the place is - it had hardly changed - apart from noisy scooters in the towns and main roads in the evening.

So why not 5 stars all round?
The Voga Mari restaurant is very, very good, but a bit expensive.
The Italians who infest Maryland gradually spread west along the beach - but it is a long walk for them.
Although you can just about survive, you really need to hire a car to get around the island - why not compromise and hire a car for a few days only.
There were a few mosquitos at night when we left the windows open, but the curtain and repellent fixed that problem - no ants, but we were careful to keep food closed.
The reception is only there on about alternate mornings, but a simple note got problems fixed promptly - we ran out of cooking gas.
The furniture and fittings were good, but a little tired, I understand that Astbury have refitted the rooms, the photos look great - and we have rebooked again this year.

Room Tip: Best value = room 14 (end of the row, secluded)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dawsie_etal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Migjorn
2.5 mi away
Hostal Casbah Formentera
Hostal Casbah Formentera
#1 of 3 in Sant Francesc de Formentera
181 reviews
3.7 mi away
Castavi Apartments
Castavi Apartments
#7 of 10 in Es Pujols
180 reviews
2.8 mi away
Apartments Paraiso De Los Pinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Riu La Mola
Hotel Riu La Mola
#1 of 5 in Migjorn
1,357 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Club Punta Prima
Hotel Club Punta Prima
#4 of 10 in Es Pujols
611 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Entre Pinos
Hotel Entre Pinos
#1 of 2 in Es Calo
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voga Mari Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voga Mari Bungalows

Address: Migjorn Beach, Migjorn, Formentera, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Formentera > Migjorn
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Migjorn
Price Range: $106 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful group of high quality bungalows situated amongst the dunes overlooking the superb beach of Migjorn on the beautiful, unspoilt island of Formentera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Voga Mari Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voga Mari Bungalows, Migjorn Beach Hotel Migjorn
Voga Mari Bungalows Formentera/Migjorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing