We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Location for a simple beach holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Voga Mari Bungalows
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed in Bungalow No.13 which was a roomy one bed bungalow well equipped for a self catering beach holiday with the added advantage of some very good restaurants within easy walking distance. The bungalow had a large covered patio area with stunning views which offered shade from the afternoon sun and was still very pleasant to sit on later in the evening watching the sun go down. The interior was simply furnished with comfortable bed and plenty of storage. This bungalow also had the advantage of two patio doors leading from the bedroom as well as the living area overlooking the sea. It had a separate air conditioning unit which was very effective but noisy. I would also like to mention that Astbury Formentera Travel company are excellent to deal with and staff brilliant. This is the fourth time we have travelled with them and will do so again to this wonderful Island.Equal any day to the Caribbean!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueSully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 42 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2011

We were very happy with our stay. I think the location was very nice. 1 minute wslking distsnce to the beach. The beach is very nice; it's C/O. If the winds are not from south, the sea would be calm with no waves.
The Voga Mari Restaurant has good food and almost excellent service. Delicious paellas.
The only downside I would say is the size of the windows in the rooms. They are big but still I would prefer larger windows and doors so that we can enjoy the beautiful sea view more.
The rooms could be decorated more stylish but it's totally OK.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familymannn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

It was our first time on the Formentera Island but surely not the last time ! Actually, we really can't wait to be back at the "Vogari Mari Bungalows" (rented via the Astbury agency) next year. Those bungalows are in mint condition, very nicely furnished and ideally located, at walking distance from the heavenly Migjorn Beach, with its white sand and cristal-clear, turquoise blue sea ! This beach was very clean, absolutely not over-crowded (at least in early July...), and the nude and non-nude people could be side by side, in a very "open", relax and tolerant way. And the bungalows are also very near the excellent "Vogamari" restaurant, where you can eat delicious, typically spanish dishes, at a reasonable price, with a cordial welcome as a bonus ... ;-) And last but not least, we also have to mention the very professional, efficient and friendly people who are running the Astbury business. In brief, we had a wonderful time there !

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Surfin_Jack_1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Having walked the Migjorn Beach from Ca Mari to Maryland, Voga Mari is the very best location on the beach. The rooms are simply and tastefully equipped, comfortable beds and cooking facilities, clever combinations of doors and windows, shutters and curtains gives excellent privacy and temperature control - we didn't need to use the air conditioner . There are just two buildings of about 6 rooms each - I guarantee that you will SLOW DOWN. The daily routine of a simple short walk to the beach in the morning, a siesta, and another beach session in the afternoon, then a walk to the Blue Bar or one of the other beach bars for the evening - or a quiet night in. Take books to read, better yet take audio books to lie back and listen to on the beach. Make a bit of effort and walk east down the boardwalk a little way from the obvious beach area with its umbrellas to get your own little cove - some as small as 4m wide.
This was a return to the island after over 25 years, and we proved how timeless the place is - it had hardly changed - apart from noisy scooters in the towns and main roads in the evening.

So why not 5 stars all round?
The Voga Mari restaurant is very, very good, but a bit expensive.
The Italians who infest Maryland gradually spread west along the beach - but it is a long walk for them.
Although you can just about survive, you really need to hire a car to get around the island - why not compromise and hire a car for a few days only.
There were a few mosquitos at night when we left the windows open, but the curtain and repellent fixed that problem - no ants, but we were careful to keep food closed.
The reception is only there on about alternate mornings, but a simple note got problems fixed promptly - we ran out of cooking gas.
The furniture and fittings were good, but a little tired, I understand that Astbury have refitted the rooms, the photos look great - and we have rebooked again this year.

Room Tip: Best value = room 14 (end of the row, secluded)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dawsie_etal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JL35400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldwelbexian, Managing Director, Astbury Formentera at Voga Mari Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Giorgio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: los apartamentos alejados de la carretera son los más tranquilos. Los esquineros mejor que los medi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank miguel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Migjorn
2.5 mi away
Hostal Casbah Formentera
Hostal Casbah Formentera
#1 of 3 in Sant Francesc de Formentera
181 reviews
2.8 mi away
Apartments Paraiso De Los Pinos
1.6 mi away
Hotel Riu La Mola
Hotel Riu La Mola
#1 of 5 in Migjorn
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Club Punta Prima
Hotel Club Punta Prima
#3 of 10 in Es Pujols
611 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ses Eufabietes
Ses Eufabietes
#2 of 3 in Sant Francesc de Formentera
145 reviews
3.7 mi away
Castavi Apartments
Castavi Apartments
#7 of 10 in Es Pujols
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voga Mari Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voga Mari Bungalows

Address: Migjorn Beach, Migjorn, Formentera, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Formentera > Migjorn
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Migjorn
Price Range: $147 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful group of high quality bungalows situated amongst the dunes overlooking the superb beach of Migjorn on the beautiful, unspoilt island of Formentera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Voga Mari Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voga Mari Bungalows, Migjorn Beach Hotel Migjorn
Voga Mari Bungalows Formentera/Migjorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing