We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect little hostal in paradise”
Review of Hostal Sol i Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Sol i Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2014

All around great place! Super friendly and helpful staff. Very clean and updated rooms. Great little terrace that lets you enjoy the beach views and lets you fall asleep to sound of the sea.
Also the breakfast was quite nice as well. I highly recommend this hostal and for sure will return on my next trip to Formentera :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank VCC-MAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 90 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

A very well kept, CLEAN boutique stay. The property backs onto a beautiful beach (Migjorn) with a quaint and busy beach bar-resto within 100 m. It's an excellent place to stay for a quiet, peaceful visit to the island. The management is kind and always helpful. The rooms are spectacularly clean, and well maintained throughout the stay. The breakfast includes, hams, cheese, breads & spreads (toaster), several different cereals, yoghurt, fresh fruits and juice. You can choose between coffees (nespresso machine). There is free wi-fi in the lobby and the rooms include AC. Hope to visit again soon from Vancouver, Canada.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Located at the end of a road leading to the beach, it couldn't be in a quieter spot. The hostal/hotel is basic, so if all the gimmics of 4/5* hotels are your thing, this isn't for you.

So what do you get? A sparkingly clean room, en-suite bath/shower, free air-conditioning, hair dryer, sockets to recharge stuff, free wi-fi in reception...that's when there's a wi-fi signal. Oh, and best bit for me, no televisions in the place whatsoever.

Breakfast is simple continental fare taken on the ground floor, dinner (if booked) taken in a hotel nearby, the same one has a pool and bar you can use.

Also local to the hostal is a well-stocked shop for your baguettes, suncream, ice creams, drinks etc, plenty of bicycle/scooter/car hire shops and a regular bus service taking you to the beach and port.

Unfortunately the beach opposite the hostal suffers from seaweed and you have to walk a wee bit to find clear sand, but seeing as the beach is miles long, that's no problem!

Room Tip: Ask for sea-view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howardfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The location is great if you want to relax and escape the city life. It's quiet and clean. The rooms are small but if you are lucky you can get a room with a beatiful view of the sea! The only thing really bad is not having AC! The rooms are very hot and the fan isn't strong enough to cool down the room.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank sergiomgomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I don't usually write reviews on Trip Advisor, but felt compelled to share what a great time I had at this lovely hotel.

Ignore the negative reviews, for the price you pay (cheap for Formentera) this hotel is really, really good. If you want something fancy this isn't the place, however if you are happy with simple, modern clean rooms, sweet service, an incredible location and peace & quiet (away from all the wonderfully friendly but noisy Italians) then this is the place for you.

I travel a lot with work and, despite usually staying in 5 star sort of places, I couldn't fault this. Air conditioning would have been a bonus, as it was a bit hot some nights, but I could just open the French doors onto my balcony to let the sea breeze in. For this reason, it is definitely worth paying extra for a sea view room. All of the staff, from the cleaning ladies to the management, were really friendly and helpful.

The location is great. There's a bus stop two minutes from the hotel, with routes traversing the island at 2,50 euros for a one way ticket. The beach right outside isn't the best, however there a picture perfect beaches a 10-15 minute walk away. I walked the length of Migjorn beach one evening and have to say that it was my favourite beach on Formentera. There are lots of private coves to swim and sunbathe and you can hire a bicycle to explore. There is also a charming restaurant next door called Ca Mari and, if you're after cocktails and funky DJs head to Gecko Beach, a five minute stroll away.

Overall, I would highly, highly recommend Sol I Mar based on the price, location, service and simple clean rooms.

Room Tip: Go for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elisheva100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

Our friend had made the bad decision to book this hotel which was twice the price as many other hotels, and offered less than all others. It is in the middle of nowhere with only one restaurant around, so we always had to take expensive taxis or buses (2€ for litterally 2 min of bus). There is no pool and the rooms are cery average. We paid 108€ per night for 3 while i found out that there are so many other nicer places for only 50€ with a better location. Rafalet or the other hotel behind it for example.

It cost us 16€ of taxi from the harbour to the hostel.

If you want horrible beds, a bad value in a very isolated place then this might be the place for you. Otherwise, there are many other better places to stay at on this island. While we are at it, formentera is enoigh for a day trip only actually, there isn't much to do here but there are nice views.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank genlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank VIRGINIA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Migjorn
1.3 mi away
Apartments Paraiso De Los Pinos
3.2 mi away
Hotel Entre Pinos
Hotel Entre Pinos
#1 of 2 in Es Calo
418 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Riu La Mola
Hotel Riu La Mola
#1 of 5 in Migjorn
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Castavi Apartments
Castavi Apartments
#7 of 10 in Es Pujols
184 reviews
1 mi away
Hostal Casbah Formentera
Hostal Casbah Formentera
#1 of 3 in Sant Francesc de Formentera
181 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Roca Bella
Hotel Roca Bella
#8 of 10 in Es Pujols
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Sol i Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Sol i Mar

Address: Venda Ca Mari, Ap. Correos 1. 115, Formentera, 07860 Migjorn, Formentera, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Formentera > Migjorn
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Migjorn
Price Range: $50 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Sol i Mar 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-run hostal on the island of Formentera, on the Migjorn Beach (Ca Mari area). We offer you a special way to discover the island, focused on the idea of a relaxed holiday. Our hostal is isolated, on the sea shore, surrounded by savin woods, yet well connected with local infrastructure. Our aim is to provide our clients a peaceful holiday. The sound of the sea should be the only one interrupting your thoughts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal Sol i Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Sol i Mar Formentera/Migjorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing