We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice pretty peaceful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Jardin Tecina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We went for 1 week at the end on April. The weather was lovely which made the trip. The hotel was great with a good breakfast offering lots of selections and freshly cooked items such as crepes. Dinner was also very nice with a wide salad and desert selection. The mains were fine but as I only eat fish there was not as much choice ( so full veggy might struggle) also the fish was so so boney that in the end I gave up most nights. Nice service and full section on drinks which were nice. On the first night however we were given a room with a wet room for a shower and the whole room flooded. The bed was almost floating awaiting. They did fix this straight away the next day and gave us a better sea view room so that was nice ( I think they might have know that would happen all along) pools were Great so large and good choice. Lots of other things to do such as crazy golf and tennis although you do have to pay extra. They also offer trips round the island which we did and was ok. There is not much to do here however the hotel was so nice which made our stay lovely.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,626)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

437 - 443 of 1,626 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014

And if I could give it almost excellent I would. As many people have said, it is the setting that makes this hotel but let's start at the beginning - the transfers. Yes, it takes a while, and we now know that it's wise to check ferry times before booking flights. However, our transfers went well, with little assistance, or indeed presence, from Thomson! The private taxis are great, the ferry crossing smooth, accompanied by dolphins! Yes, it's a euro each for the luggage lockers but do you really want to haul your case up and down those stairs?? The drive to and from the hotel on La Gomera was great, gives you a real sense of what the island is like.
Check-in at the hotel was smooth though I have to say that even with the map we struggled to find our room - nearly caused a domestic (we were pretty tired by then!!). But we soon found our bearings round the hotel and realised there was no problem at all.
Our standard room had a lovely view onto the garden and the bonus of a view out to sea. It was very spacious and kept beautifully clean throughout our visit. You do pay extra for the safe but at least it is a decent size and comfortably took cameras, lenses, kindles, phones etc etc. There's also a decent sized fridge. The beds are huge and pretty firm but we found them comfortable. We were ground floor and did not find any problem with people walking past the patio which provided some necessary shade - several of the balconies gave no shade at all.
Contrary to some comments we experienced no scrums at meal times, but always lots of tables and food constantly replenished. The breakfasts were excellent - anybody else find it odd that fizz and vodka freely available but extra charge for freshly squeezed orange?? Loved the smoothies, the crepes, the huge selection of fruit. Too full from all of that to even consider the cooked stuff! The evening buffet is perhaps one of the few reasons for not giving this hotel a perfect 5. The starters, especially the individual salads, were great and also the desserts, but the main courses did get a little repetitive but mainly we ate very well. The staff in there were great.
We did eat in the Club Laurel one evening and paid a supplement of about 9 euros each for the taster menu. That made a nice change to be waited on. The meal was pretty good too, though the first 3 courses were better than the steak, and the desserts were very similar to the main dining room.
The pool areas are fantastic, especially the pool where you can only swim! At the time of our visit, end of March/April the water was quite cool! Great system for pool towels which were a decent size and thickness. And the loungers are pretty comfortable too. And yes, in spite of the policy clearly stating they do not tolerate reserving loungers (and it being totally unnecessary) one little group did so every day!! We didn't use the pool by the beach.
The hotel shop was rather disappointing and the gifts poor. But several mini markets down in Playa de Santiago for general shopping.
One of the other reasons this didn't get 5 was that we felt the service in the main bar was a bit hit and miss, both in terms of speed of service and actually getting the order right. And we felt that the poolside bar menu was a bit limited - being on half board we only wanted a lunchtime snack.
The grounds are beautiful - I was very sorry that the garden tour was the same day as the round island trip we'd booked as the flowers were beautiful. We also got a lot of exercise walking round the site - it's definitely not the hotel for anyone with mobility issues. The lift down through the cliff to sea level was great and we used that each morning to take a stroll into Playa de Santiago to get a coffee in the square ( can recommend Chicos) and watch the old guys play dominoes! The other place for coffee, or really the cakes, is the pastilleria(?) a street or so back from the sea front. Can't believe how cheap their delicious pastries were.
Clearly a lot of people go there for the walking (serious stuff with boots, poles, high levels of fitness etc) or the golf but it worked equally well for us and our gentle strolls, swimming and lazing with a book.
We have little experience of the Canaries, only one previous visit being a week on Tenerife - this was way better for us and a great place to get to peace and quiet and lovely sun.
We'd definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Youngatheart6248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We had a great time at La Gomera, thanks to this great hotel for its calm, beautiful gardens and breathaking view. The staff is always nice and helpful but with no fuss. The way the hotel has been designed, like a small village, makes it very cosy and warm. I felt priviledged to be part of it, like if I was more a resident than a stranger only there for a few days.
The room we had was not big, but convenient, clean and plenty of closet space.
Wi-FI signal was super, no problem for connecting and always available.
TV satellite is available with plethore of channels in several languages, but sometimes signal was poor especially for BBC and US channels. Usually ok, anyway I am not there to watch TV.
Shower temp great, the shower head broke the first day and was replaced in not even an hour after we talked with the front desk.
Food: Nice breakfast buffet with a lot of choice. Sadly, lunch is poor, in terms of choices. When you want to eat light it is difficult. There are salads but nothing surprising. We were struggling for something more exotic than burgers.
Same thing for dinner. The offer is not tempting. We tried the buffet once. It is ok but no surprise. We did not try the international dinner restaurant. There is also a wine bar with tapas not advertized in the documents provided (I wonder why). We did not try it but it looked quite nice.
Amenities: You have plenty of choice for sports like tennis, racketball, fitness, ping pong...The pools (4) are supposed to be heated. Maybe they are, but it's not 30C, it may be 22C. Plenty of chairs available and no rush at either pool to get a nice spot which is of great relief (In April Easter break).
View: We were in room 236, with a sea front view. I must just say that it is the best sea view I have ever had. I do not book see view anymore because I am always disappointed. I did not book a sea view either this time but we were upgraded because of a transfer problem with the tour operator. Let say I definitely and warmly advice for the rooms around my block because you are at the front seat and you have lovely garden just in front of you. Further it's the sea. I'm just sad we had to leave such paradise. At night we heard bats screaming, it is like a laugh when you hear it and pretty amusing. amazing all the way and very nature oriented.
Definitely a must if you like quiet stay. Suggestion in improving the menu for lunch and dinner.

Room Tip: If you can, choose the building where is room 236. You have 2 floors. the ground flor as a bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartineVei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This was our second visit to this hotel which is the perfect place to get away from it all and the only care you will have is to decide is whether to have the chilled cava at the notable breakfast buffet, or perhaps the iced vodka helpfully left to make your tomato juice that much more interesting. The salt water pool at Club Laurel, invigorating at this time of the year, is the perfect place to relax. A short walk away take lunch at the beach bar with the Harley bikes outside and the Eagles playing, try the calamares and sardines. This is a place a million miles from the nearby Tenerife, and the only down side is having to spend time in Los Christianos before returning to the airport.
The layout of the hotel reminds you of the Prisoner TV programme filmed at Portmerion a little but with palms, amaryllis, and hibiscus. A place to seek a short period of calm and peace yet where everything works. Service is warm and genuine and with staff who take a pride in their work.
It maybe because this hotel is run by Fred Olsen but it is immaculate in appearance and design rather like the ferry that brings you here.
Whether you want to be entertained by Kristina's piano playing in the main bar or some idiosyncratic local talent, there is plenty here to enjoy our just sit on your terrace and listen to the shearwater gulls returning to the cliffs at night.
Try and take 10 days here particularly as you will lose 2 days travelling but this place is truly special

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank mickyh753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJTecina, Community manager at Hotel Jardin Tecina, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recently stay in Hotel Jardin Tecina and thank you for recommend us. We were happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked the accommodation we provided you and really do hope that you will come and stay with us again soon.
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

The return ferry trip is E60pp, the taxi E35-E40 to the hotel, but wow what a place. Not sure what others have expected and maybe just 48 hours is not long enough to nit-pick, and of course from 0730- 2000 each day we didn't see cloud, so perhaps we saw things through a different lens.

From previous reports we were worried about the food, but had absolutely no need to be - The breakfast on the terrace was superb, a E10 buffet lunch had everything one could have wanted, the village has at least two excellent restaurants and for atmosphere try the cafe/bar close to the entrance... you will not be disappointed.

The golf course is expensive but wow what views, there is no beach to speak of... there is an old library with books and old fashioned table games, the gym looked more than adequate, great tennis courts... whats not to like... Oh and I have not mentioned the sun rise over Tenerife and the 10 minute intense dawn chorus, and the beautifully maintained gardens...

We have toured the world and found this Hotel up there with the best we have stayed at for the view, peacefulness and appropriate facilities....

Room Tip: we had room 40... yep heard people above 'moving out' one morning, but excellent views. had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank webBorehamwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We were exhausted from a miserable winter in England and we were so exhausted we had not done any research on our holiday. It was a wonderful surprise. La Tecina exceeded all our expectations. Our apartment, the service, the food and all the extras available were superb. We particularly appreciated the staff who were diligent without being intrusive. We loved the botanical gardens walking tour and the banana plantation tour. We loved learning about the hotel, the history and the local environment. When you are tired or troubled, as we were, we felt that the staff seemed to sense how to care for their guests. We felt physically and mentally restored by our sojourn in La Tecina and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Need to look at the plan of the hotel and choose a room. Many have good views - most are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJTecina, Community manager at Hotel Jardin Tecina, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear guest

Thanks for you comments in Tripadvisor and for recommending our hotel. your continued support is very important for us, we have passed on your comments to our staff. We looking forward to welcoming you soon and we are sure we will meet your expectation once again.
kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Last year I posted a rather critical review, particularly of the restaurant. This year 100% improvement all round. The staff, the food the service and management was very good. The grounds are like nowhere else. All the staff are excellent, friendly, efficient, always smiling, but a special mention for Francisco. He was everywhere, always happy. The hotel tours are very interesting. The gardens, banana plantation and the inner workings of the hotel were, once again, funny as well as informative. My only wish is that the evenings were better organised. The ground floor bar was like stepping back 40 years and downstairs, when open, was dowdy with no atmosphere. Entertainment almost nil. As there is nowhere else to go, it should be better. Also the lovely entertainment staff need better publicity. Lastly, why don't you make better use of that amazing ampitheatre?
Barbara C

Room Tip: Bottom floor rooms have little privacy due to people walking past
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJTecina, Community manager at Hotel Jardin Tecina, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing our Hotel Jardin Tecina for your recent stay in La Gomera , your suggestion has been taken into consideration and we will pass your nice comments to our staff and really do hope that you come and stay with us again soon.
kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Santiago
6.5 mi away
Parador de la Gomera
Parador de la Gomera
#1 of 9 in San Sebastian de la Gomera
625 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hotel Gran Rey
Hotel Gran Rey
#2 of 25 in Valle Gran Rey
211 reviews
9.5 mi away
Ibo Alfaro Hotel Rural
Ibo Alfaro Hotel Rural
#1 of 7 in Hermigua
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Playa Calera
Playa Calera
#1 of 25 in Valle Gran Rey
219 reviews
9.9 mi away
Charco Del Conde
Charco Del Conde
#4 of 25 in Valle Gran Rey
101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jardin Las Hayas
Jardin Las Hayas
#22 of 25 in Valle Gran Rey
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jardin Tecina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jardin Tecina

Address: Lomada de Tecina s/n, 38811 Playa de Santiago, La Gomera, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > La Gomera > Playa de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Playa de Santiago
Price Range: $147 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jardin Tecina 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Jardin Tecina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardin Tecina Playa De Santiago
Hotel Jardin Tecina La Gomera/Playa De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing