We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but room for improvement” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Jardin Tecina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Jardin Tecina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Good, but room for improvement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Overall, we found our experience of the Jardin Tecina to be good. There are a few things that could be improved and I will try to cover those in this review. Hopefully, I’ll try to provide some useful information to any who are planning a visit.

Transfers – All our flights, transfers, taxis, and ferry crossings went without a hitch. When planning a trip here do your research on flight arrivals and ferry crossings (all ferry times are on the web); all ours fitted perfectly (as I planned them), were on time and the waiting periods were not excessive. The instructions given at Tenerife airport by Thomson are quite clear, with a little information and the vouchers needed for the ferry (and return). The only minor problem we had on the way back was looking in the taxi rank for a car back to the airport (I looked at the instructions again and it was quite clear that he would wait by the luggage pick up where we found him). Thomson also give a mobile number for the local representative, although we never had to call it or try contacting the 24/7 line. It is a shame that there are no representative visits; the Thomson information book was useless with only two pages! The hotel provides plenty of information, although at times we had to ask reception about things (like the timing for the walks) when this could be more prominently displayed.

Board levels – We were on all inclusive (AI), which we found was excellent for us. We only paid a small additional charge for some meals in the a la carte restaurants. All other meals were fully covered, the house wines are acceptable (without limits on the size or number of bottles), drinks at the bars, ice creams and cakes…etc. and the safe, water and soft drinks in room. We didn’t even have to leave a deposit on the pool towels. It all looked rather confusing to see people on B&B, HB and I guess FB (but not AI) – the staff have loads of work to do with all the bills, signing, paying cash or charging to the room. Still it probably made it better for us as others were obviously limiting the intake of facilities whilst we just had what we wanted (without too much excess!). We are also fussy about where we eat and drink; we would not have trusted some of the establishments locally in the village.

Restaurants – The food quality was all acceptable. The a la carte restaurants were good but it was not clear what was included as AI on the menus (particularly at the International which had menus with no pricing at all – the menu on the day was also totally different to all menus that had been described outside). There is a good variety of foods on the buffets, but we did think there were few choices of vegetables, all too often they mixed vegetable items up on the same serving tray and in large lumps. No extra points scored for presentation at the Jardin Tecina. Lunches were far less busy and waiter served - much nicer and civilised than the evenings.Try the entrecote steak for lunch at Club Laurel, do ask for it to be cooked a level higher than you do at home, as they tend to under cook.

Plates – Many people have complained that the plates are not warm. Well, don’t take them from next the salad bar! We found the plates warm most days at each end of the hot food counter, sometimes so hot we had to use a paper napkin. Sometimes they were less warm if the pile had just been replenished.

Our biggest grip – the maître d’s (none of whom were better dressed that the wait staff) were absolutely useless and provide a very poor service. We hated the wondering round looking for a table. If they operated a “wait to be seated” system it would be less daunting and work better, the maître de should be at the door to greet you and guide you to a table. They spent too much time wondering around and an excessive time talking to quests (even saw one join a table and talk to a couple for about 30 minutes whilst mayhem continued all around). That said, the wait staff are all polite and work extremely hard, the table clearing service etc. was brilliant given the circumstances of poor support from their supervisors. The wait for a booked table in the International Restaurant was also too long (about 7/8 minutes), without an apology. Again, poor restaurant supervision.

We also never saw any hotel management out and about. The reception and bar staff were brilliant; as said the restaurant wait staff were also – the Jardin Tecina need to change their managers/supervisors!

Rooms – we ordered a Superior room with sea view and that is exactly what we got. A week before arrival I emailed them (address on their web page) asking for a higher floor; we got that too. Many of the ground floor rooms have people walking by particularly along the Camino Horizonte. Our room was on Jacaranda (room 147) at the quiet end towards the banana plantation. Along the front row the rooms really only have a view straight out to sea, ours had a view over a part of the gardens and then the sea (much nicer we thought). The hotel map (a copy is available on the Jardin Tecina web site) was fine and we soon orientated ourselves. We found the bed perfectly comfortable.

Room cleaning and servicing was excellent, the replenishment of the fridge and cleaning of tea/coffee mugs (and the resupply) was all perfect. Do take a bar of soap – the soap they provide is tiny, but there is a dispenser for shower gel over the bath/shower. Room towels are getting worn out and are thin (but are clean and plentiful). Watch the bathes they are slippery.

Pools – the main pool is certainly in need of renovation however we saw a contractor measuring up the size of the pool so hopefully they are going to have the work done soon. The loungers are just awful; we could not find one where the metal frame did not catch you across the back. Many are grubby, they need replacing with some comfortable ones perhaps with mattresses. There are a few day beds at the Club Laurel which we used on several days. Lifeguards on duty at both pools and he supplies the pool towels. Loungers are always available but of course we saw a few being reserved, by Brits – why do we always blame the Germans? Why do some people have to sit in the same place for the whole of their holiday? Totally, unnecessary. Also, nice to have a quiet pool bar without load music and noisy clientele. Club Laurel was lovely and the mini-golf a bit of fun.

Entertainment – The garden and plantation walks with Hans were good, informative and amusing. The duo on in the evenings were total cxxp, when singing in English some of the words were totally indiscernible (I guess as my singing in Spanish would be!). The acrobat show, the Silbo demonstration and the contortionist/juggler were good. The Il Divo tribute group was awful particularly when they did an Abba number. The Cuban band was OK but not a good copy of a real Cuban band that have some wind instruments (like trumpet). Anna Tina plays the piano in the main bar every night. But, then we don’t go on holiday to be entertained or watch English channels on the TV.

Wi-Fi – get a code for each device you have (phone, tablet etc). It worked perfectly for us wherever we were. Our Blackberry phone and Samsung tablet worked fine, except the Samsung had to be logged in each time we used it (no great issue). Even used Skype to call home so no expensive phone calls.

Clientele – A good mix of nationalities, mostly middle-aged to elderly (don’t stay here if you can’t handle a few steps), very few children (mostly below school age). Normally, we only go to adult only (Couples) hotels so we were slightly worried that there might be ill-disciplined British kids there, there were not, so we had the peace and quiet that we wanted.

In summary, a good experience, but certainly room for improvement. Don’t think the management is very good an indication of which is that I’ve never seen a reply on TripAdvisor. They do get a lot of repeat guests who are obviously happy. Would we join their loyalty program and visit again? Definitely not, there are too many other places to visit and we have stayed in far better hotels with excellent restaurants.

Room Tip: Book a superior room with sea view, ask for high floor, try to a room at the banana plantation end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank davidfthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaCarrillo, Community Manager at Hotel Jardin Tecina, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on most aspects of your stay, we really appreciate your effort.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your overall stay and be sure we will take good note of your comments and advise on improvement.
All our guests comments on Tripadvisor are responded within one week of publication.
We appreciate there are many places in the world to visit but we will be most delighted to welcome you back in the near future.
Once again, thank you for choosing Hotel Jardín Tecina & Tecina Golf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    726
    521
    150
    48
    29
See reviews for
288
909
46
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

we visited this hotel after 4 other friends had visited (in winter) recommended it.We loved the place - very beautiful setting in gardens and terraces looking out to sea on top of 300ft cliffs. there is a lift down to the eshore and a salt water. pool with a restaurant and bar which is part of the hotel complex. All immaculate and with charming helpful staff. Restaurant a bit like being on a cruise ship but their fish cooking was not good.We are spoilt in Guernsey for that.

Room Tip: choose a room with a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenny499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaCarrillo, Community Manager at Hotel Jardin Tecina, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are delighted you had a good experience at our resort and you liked our Beach Club, going down in the lift inside the cliff is located the Club Laurel, a beautiful restaurant by the sea, where guests can enjoy barbecues, Á la Carte menus and a swimming pool with a bar where we hope you enjoyed the sunny days of La Gomera. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Many aspects of Tecina are good or quite good; some are very good, but based on recommendations and other reports it fell short of my expectations.
The situation is magnificent, but the adjacent village of Santiago has little to offer. The hotel grounds are attractive and some rooms have magnificent aspects, others not so.
The main buffet restaurant was O K but you need to get your timing right to avoid the busy scramble for tables. We chose to eat later to ensure a table in our preferred area, which sometimes resulted in dishes having run out and not replenished. Use of the alternative international restaurant and Club Laurel was slightly confusing as to which days they opened, what menus applied and at what additional cost. We used the international restaurant several times, good but not outstanding, and let down by the most unattentive maitre d' , no welcome, no greeting, and did not even look at us when taking the order. Much improved when the young assistant maitre d' was in charge.
We missed our ferry connection on arrival because of a lightning baggage handlers strike,but the situation was handled admirably by the Sovereign rep; she took us to a nice hotel for the afternoon, stored our luggage and then we strolled out beside the sea to a local restaurant for tapas and a glass (or two ) of rose. She collected us 4 hours later for the evening ferry. It meant we arrived at Tecina in the dark so finding our room was a bit difficult for a first time visitor - and no offer of help from the hotel. Our superior room was good with a wonderful view, but initially reception tried to fob us off with a room that was far from superior which we rejected. Apologies to the guests who were held up behind us !
In summary a great location, lovely gardens, the hotel is good but not as good as tripadvisor rating would suggest.

Room Tip: If you book a superior sea view room, make sure that is what you get - not one where most of the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaCarrillo, Community Manager at Hotel Jardin Tecina, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Your comments are very much appreciated. Your concerns have been noted, we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Reading the previous reviews - we were fortunate not to have weather-induced 24-hour delays experienced by others unlucky enough to arrive during the reported dreadful weather before our holiday!

I cannot begin this review without commenting on the dreadful start of our holiday at the hand of Thomson Holidays Ltd. 1kg overweight on our cumulative hold baggage resulted in a £12 excess baggage fee... the payment of which resulted in a 24p credit card processing fee! The flight was on time but seats were dreadfully cramped for me (my wife, somewhat shorter than 6', had sufficient space). We arrived in Tenerife at 11:20: I have never experienced bags presented so slowly. Initially we amused ourselves with visions of a little man running back and forth from the plane - the belt moved at the usual speed but bags were being placed on the belt with at least 30' between each one. So slow was this process (and it never accelerated!) at least two of our fellow passengers/guests actually missed the 14:00 ferry! After we had finally retrieved our hold baggage, Thomson's 'A La Carte' representative's stand-in merely handed us a 'Dear BLANK' letter and travel vouchers to La Gomera. The 'Private Transfer' taxi, a 12/15 seater mini-bus dropped on the quay at Los Cristianos. No rep to meet us - it was very much do-it-yourself. We had 2 X 20kg suitcases, our hand-luggage and extra outer clothes we had needed at 5 in the morning in the UK, a wad of Euro notes, our credit cards, but no €1 coins which (if we had known about them) were needed for avaricious Fred Olsen's baggage-lockers. Eventually we boarded the visually space-age ferry and struggled up the narrow staircase to the open deck at the rear. Arrival at La Gomera was similarly un-supported by Thomson.

HOTEL At the hotel we joined a long and rather slow queue. If you don't expect anything you won't be disappointed, but after a 4 hour transfer (not 2 hr 30 minutes as in the Thomson A La Carte Brochure suggests), a soft drink would have been welcomingly refreshing as we waited.

ACCOMMODATION On the main drag 'Jacaranda', we were regularly disturbed by the whine of electric tugs and workmen's communications as mentioned in others' reviews. Although this wasn't a problem for us, it might have been more fitting had we been allocated a rather more minor pathway having asked for a 'quiet room'. Notwithstanding, we have never stayed at such a quiet hotel... They were obviously busy (witness the numbers of guests in the Principle Restaurant) but the masses of people seemed to vanish during the day.
Our Superior Room was quite adequate; immaculately clean; a bath/shower with ample hot water, loo, bidet and hand wash basin with two bath, two bidet and two hand towels, and a single flannel - attractively shaped as a swan. The room servicing was fine except that by the end of week-one we had 'lost' the flannel and the two bidet towels... no real problem - we can manage very well with hand and bath towels, just odd!
We asked for an extra pillow on arrival, it hadn't arrived so we phoned again. Imagine our surprise when, whilst we were at dinner, slipped under the door was a note that our rental car would be delivered at 10am the next day. We telephoned Reception and told them we were still awaiting a pillow (and that we hadn't ordered a car). The pillow arrived a short time later: I do wonder if the person who ordered the car ever got it!
The balcony, as others have noted, is very small and not at all private, we regularly exchanged pleasantries with one couple from Sweden; the guests to our other side used to disappear inside without a word as soon as we opened our balcony door.
Safety Deposit Boxes, even in Superior Rooms, have a €2/day charge... a little greedy on the part of the hotel.
Similarly, despite FREE Wi-Fi signs everywhere, for those of us without an iPhone there is supposed to be a computer suite (which is out of order) so we are compelled to use the "Information" office computer. A charge is levied for this too: €1 for each 20 minutes. For those with Laptops/iPhones, the coverage seemed sketchy at best. Free: I don't think so!

COMMUNICATION Some of the staff were very helpful, some very friendly, but most didn't understand English terribly well. My Spanish (and my 'El Silbo') isn't up to much, so I'm afraid the language difficulties made our stay frustrating at times. I don't think it was entirely a language issue - the staff didn't seem to be briefed on what was happening, where or when. A further example: the Aqua Gym was scheduled to be every day (except Thursdays and Fridays) at both the main pool and Club Laurel (salt water) pool. Due to the preceding week's poor weather, Club Laurel pool was closed but we were told that the activities scheduled there were to be held in the main pool. The Pool Life Guard didn't know where Aqua Gym was, neither did Reception who referred us to the Gym Booking Desk, where, as others report, there were rarely any staff available. So we made sure we were at the pool at the allotted time... No Aqua! (Presumably, no call for it!)

MEALS Many reviewers have represented meal times as a scrum. I would be kinder to my fellow guests, most of whom were polite and courteous... there was certainly a feeling of being in a dodgems ring at times... Breakfast was very busy, a wonderful spread with the most gorgeous, small, extremely-tasty dried figs, stoned dates and wonderful local bananas (like they used to be in the UK). Ordering a cup of tea was dangerous - often, but not always, turning out to be a herbal mix of some variety. (You rarely get a decent cuppa abroad.)
Dinner in the Principal Restaurant was extensive and surprisingly varied. It was unfortunate that there were never hot plates (although good quality napkins might suggest there should have been) so dinner was never hot, mostly just warm by the time one had negotiated the queues: excepting this failing, the presentation and food quality were very good. Desserts were tasty and varied (with inappropriately warm plates, sometimes). Evidently, there's no fresh cream available on the island but there was a good variety of ice-cream.
We had a further example of language difficulties when we booked the International Restaurant (waited service) for one evening. As half-board guests we were led to understand that using this restaurant was merely a case of booking a table, no extra charge. On checking-out, I was surprised to note an additional €12 charge for this meal. The service and peace and quiet made a pleasant change from the Principle Restaurant, but the meal was no better and considerably smaller.

FIRE During our first week we became well trained on the normal response to hearing the hotel's Fire Alarm. During our second evening the fire alarm sounded. I was surprised at the lack of other guests' and staff's response. I stood, however, ready to leave the restaurant before the alarm was silenced. This happened on two further occasions that night, a number of times on two subsequent evenings and once at breakfast. This 'training' of both staff and guests to ignore the fire alarm is unprofessional, irresponsible and down-right disturbing on so many levels. Management should be able to isolate zones if they must have indoor barbecues. If it is a regular occurrence, rate-of-rise detectors would be more appropriate than normal smoke detectors. On no account should a fire alarm system be sounded without some meaningful explanation. It is not on for staff to dismiss my concerns with 'No worry: if problem, follow me."

ENTERTAINMENT In the evenings the downstairs bar under Reception has regular live music and dancing... the El Silbo (whistled language of Silbo Gomero) demonstration one evening is really impressive! On another evening Acrobats perform wonders in such a small area: really professional. Upstairs there is a piano bar where Anna Tina plays light music and guests' requests each evening. On one evening per week (may be Wednesday) she does a simple and rather fun music quiz... it's very clever the way that each answer is worth a different number of points (for reasons which will be obvious if you take part).

WALKS/TRIPS Thomson offered no support at the resort.
On the Wednesday of our first week we attended the Jardin Tecina's own Botanical Walk "In three hours around the world without leaving the hotel." Hans, who guided the walk, was so enthusiastic, so knowledgeable, so interesting and so amusing! If you do nothing else, attend this 'walk'. You don't need walking boots or even shoes! I would be surprised if we covered more than 300 yards, but we certainly went round the world!
On Thursday's he accompanies a walk of the nearby banana plantation (and advocado plantation, if you have a keen party). It's not far, 500 yards total, but you will need shoes on this one.

We booked two 'hikes' through the Hotel Reception with Timah (www.timah.net). Of the two we did, the first was a serious endeavour. Thankfully we had brought our walking boots and walking poles. Tuesday's walk was 10k in the Rain Forest (El Cedro) with phenomenally steep slopes and seemingly miles of steps, some rather slippery, some gravelly, lots of roots and loose boulders. It was not easy, but the views and tour guides' knowledge made it a great day out... (This is not the opinion of my wife's calves! )
On Thursday we completed the Forest of Fables, 9km, very much easier walking after the first descent/ascent. Once again, you would need to wear walking boots and have considerable stamina. The flowers on the former farming terraces were stunningly beautiful; the views, without care, one could easily slip and die for! We finished this trip at Valle Gran Rey where ice-creams, beer and very welcome toilets are available. On the subject of toilets - there aren't any on either of these two walks: you either have to have an extremely strong bladder of be happy to go 'au natural'.

LOCAL TRANSPORT (There is a daily aeroplane to La Gomera just after 10am.) On the days the flight comes in there's a bus some 20 minutes later (bus stop is left out of the hotel, left at the T junction and 100 yards down the hill on the bend) bound for Playa de Sandiago. This service is not listed on the time-table! (Leave the hotel when the plane flies over). It's far more convenient than the 07:30 bus and there are busses back in the afternoon, Linea 2, 15:30, 18:30 and 20:30.

TRANSFER On Wednesday evening before our planned departure on Friday, Thomson faxed an instruction letter indicating that we leave the hotel at 06:00 on Friday to catch the 15:40 flight from Tenerife! Thomson's A La Carte brochure says 'TRANSFER TIME 2 hours 30 minutes incl a ferry crossing.' (not 9 hours!) Were we to have complied with their directions we would have been compelled to pack our baggage the previous night and have it shuttled to reception luggage room (for the night-time/early-morning peace and quiet of our fellow guests); we would have had the inconvenience of having to add our night clothes, tooth-paste and potions, etc. with our hand luggage and clothes for the UK; we would have had to hang around with all our baggage at Tenerife Airport for hours...
There is an alternative ferry run by Armas which leaves at 11:30, arrives Tenerife at 12:30 giving ample time to transfer the few miles to the airport from Los Christianos - say 13:00 to check in for our 15:40 flight. Why wasn't this proposed by Thomson Holidays? The hotel Reception tried and tried to fax my response letter to Thomson's fax number in Tenerife... busy for over an hour and a half; later, no answer. Hotel Reception tried the Thomson 24/7 Help-Line... they got an answering machine! A La Carte? - more "Unfit for Purpose" and "Not As Described".

We considered that this ill-conceived transfer arrangement must affect many hotel guests and appealed for the hotel to contact Thomson... an action they weren't prepared to take. I was quite surprised by their position: reviews like this one must act against their better interests, deterring potential guests.
Without their proactive support, it was back to DIY. The next morning (Thursday) we were still unable to contact our local rep by fax, nor telephone or text message. With the assistance of the hotel, we called the Thomson 24/7 line and, together with another couple, we categorically rejected their ridiculous transfer arrangements.

Ultimately, we took the transfer that we had researched and proposed, leaving our hotel after our lovely breakfast at 10 o'clock. The Armas' ferry was a far better organised operation than Fred Olsen's. For no cost they took our bags from us and loaded them into their van; the trip was an hour as opposed to 40 minutes, but was far more relaxing; the baggage was off-loaded for us at Los Cristianos. I think it was cheaper too, although we used our voucher - so didn't benefit from this saving.

This hotel and the area in which it is situated is so quiet and peaceful. Were it not for the poor communications with and between staff, the extensive transfer times which are misrepresented in the Thomson brochures, and the hotel's apathetic response to our requests for their support over the ridiculous 6am transfer suggestion, I would have given a better grading.

COME AGAIN? We would return to Jardin Tecina for the peace and quiet, but it won't be with Thomson. In view of the DIY nature of this trip we would consider doing it ourselves, saving a great deal of stress trying in vain to contact inept and apathetic Thomson staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Flombergasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaCarrillo, Community Manager at Hotel Jardin Tecina, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time and effort to share your experience, it helps us to improve. We deeply regret that your expectations were not completely met and we hope that you keep a good memory of your overall holiday. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Despite a really hideous return journey - a day late and taking 24 hours door to door, owing to a big early March storm and cancelled ferries* - we did love the location, the people and the food at this hotel.
Getting there, however, is quite complicated. We flew in with Thompson from Gatwick. You then take a taxi to Los Cristianos harbour (where you have to leave your suitcase on an unprotected trolley if you do not want to struggle up steps to go on board with it: we mistakenly did the latter, which was exhausting). There are two ferries, Olsen and Armas, with Olsen being the less reliable if the weather is bad. On arrival you eventually find an agent and then a taxi to the hotel. No ordinary drive, this, for the road is one long s-bend for about 35 minutes. We were glad it was already dark! Until you travel the roads you do not realize how very mountainous the island is or how winding the roads are. The hotel stands on a huge Olsen-owned estate, with wonderful trees and flowers everywhere. All rooms are in small two-level cottages, so although it is a big hotel you do not feel surrounded by people at all. Finding our room that first night was challenging, as the winding paths and series of steps are not that well lit. In daylight, climbing up the various different routes to the restaurants worked up an appetite and enabled one to admire the breath-taking views from many angles.
The rooms are tiled and spacious, but the beds are pretty hard. Furniture is OK but could do with some sprucing up/retouching, as could the bathroom, where it is almost impossible to avoid a wet floor every time you shower! The coffee- and tea-making machine is a great comfort as it saves you climbing back up every time you need something. Every morning a staff member from the hotel will come by and bring you coffee or bottled water (for which you pay).

The staff at the hotel are all terrific, without exception. Full of advice and suggestions and enthused about the hotel and the island. They know the internet connection is not always reliable, it seems, and let us use an office machine a couple of times instead. Conny and her colleagues at the desk were patient and helpful. Sra. Dolores was brilliant at looking after our room. Always smiling and helping out with my limited Spanish.

We had one of the sea view lower rooms, and it is true that you do hear footsteps overhead. But no one was noisy at night during our stay. You feel so safe there that we slept with merely our screen door locked but the door open. If this makes you nervous, ask for a sea-view room on the upper floor, then no one would walk by your door.

The food at theTecina is really marvellous (and I say this as someone who loves to cook). Hugely varied, always with plenty of fish and other local dishes, and with a chef on hand to serve some of the freshly roasted meat and fish or make you a fresh breakfast omelette. The cheapest house wine comes in at about 14 euros, but we were on half board so half a bottle of wine a day was not too bad.
In addition, you can choose to eat in one of the two other restaurants,both with waiter service, (unlike the main restaurant), one down below the cliff (5 floors down in a lift) and one called the International restaurant up above. Both have very good and varied menus and the supplementary charge is quite modest, between 4 and 10 euros, as I recall.

There are 2 or 3 pools up on the cliff and a salt-water one down below, along with a mini golf. As other reviewers have pointed out, parts of the main pool are shabby. The quiet pool where we went was lovely, clean, and never crowded.

We went on an excellent tour of the island by bus - nothing would have induced me to drive there - and learned a great deal from the excellent guide about the island's often difficult history. Since there is nothing to do in the little village below the hotel, these tours are a nice change of pace from the hotel amusements of tennis, table tennis, swimming and sun bathing.

Many people come there for golf. The18-hole course there is GORGEOUS, almost enough to make me take up the game! High on the cliff, winding between flowers and banana palms - idyllic.

The other big thing to do on La Gomera is walk and hike. It was easy to tell at breakfast (out on the lovely terrace) which were the serious walkers and which the amateurs, as the 'real' walkers wore the most impressive boots I have ever seen! After driving up and down the volcanic mountains, I could understand why. Another time I would want to do more of that, but only with the right gear.

We did not make it back to San Sebastian, the island's capital, as we were busy with activities at the hotel and it would have been a 35 minute drive each way. So do not go to this hotel for nightlife (though the hotel does have an entertainment each night - from piano to singing to folklore dancers). Go there for the gorgeous views, the heavenly garden, the lovely staff and the delicious food. If you resist the food a bit and take advantage of the multiple sports options, you will come back home far fitter than you left...

* One suggestion I would have would be to return to Tenerife the night before your flight goes, to avoid getting up at 4.30 a.m. to get down to San Sebastian in time for the ferry. Or book a flight late in the day so you can take the slightly later ferry.

Room Tip: Ask for upper level sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaCarrillo, Community Manager at Hotel Jardin Tecina, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. We are delighted you had a good experience at our resort. Hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed for a week in March 2013. Some good and not so good. There is no doubting the spectacular location high up on the cliff and the attractiveness of the well planted and landscaped gardens but there were a lot of niggles.
We have to have twin beds and this is what was booked but this was not really twin beds (see photograph). It was two beds but with one bedspread so we had to ask for separate blankets. The beds were incredibly hard and we woke up each morning with backache. The wrought iron "bedhead" was most uncomfortable and rattled against the wall with the slightest movement and was certainly not an object you would want to lean back against (see photograph). The floor was tiled and cold. When it rained the rain came into the room under the entrance door. We had to buy a cloth so that we could mop up and to clean the doors to the balcony which were so dirty that we could not see the view properly. The room was classed as "superior with sea view". We would not class the room as superior when compared to other hotels of the same rating. We were on the lane 'Jacaranda' which is three lanes back from the front line of buildings so we did have a view of the sea but over the three lines of buildings that were between us and the sea/cliff edge. (The front row is 'Camino Horizonte'). There was a sewage type smell in the bathroom. The main room had many tiny ants although they were not a problem as long as you did not leave anything like sugar or anything edible out. It is a very large site and the staff seem to be constantly talking on walkie-talkies and driving up and down the "pedestrian" lanes in battery operated buggies so the peace is spoilt somewhat. The entrance door has a lock on the inside but this does not seem to stop the cleaners being able to enter and wake you up when you are still asleep. The "superior" room has tea and coffee making facilities but we had great difficulty in getting the tray restocked; in the end we walked up to reception to ask for some more milk cartons (those tiny ones for one cup each) and were promised a delivery which never arrived so in the end we went to get a jug of fresh milk from the restaurant (about a 250 yard walk). NB the site is very steeply sloping with many steps and it is plenty of exercise going back and forth to the main building!
The main swimming pool was dirty, needed cleaning and was in need of maintenance - the paint around the side was flaking off.
Down at beach level reached by a lift set inside the cliff (which was not working for a day or two) is "Club Laurel" which incorporates a mini golf course. We went to use this but found it all locked up and closed down.
The food was excellent and very varied, catering for every taste, but was a buffet which was like a rugby scrum. The tables were very close together and people continually getting up and down and knocking into you was offputting. Unfortunately human nature being what it is, it was a matter of the pushiest got to the food and the polite were pushed out of the way.
This was a very expensive holiday but whilst the site and setting is very beautiful and the external building designs most attractive, regrettably overall it is not worth the price. It is a 35 km taxi ride from San Sebastion and the ferry port and with very little in Playa De Santiago then you should recognise that the hotel complex is remote. Such a beautiful place spoilt by all the niggles described. NB I TRIED THREE TIMES TO ADD PHOTOGRAPHS BUT TRIPADVISOR'S SITE WOULD NOT PERMIT ME TO DO SO.

Room Tip: Entered tips three times but deleted by Tripadvisor on each occasion on clicking "Submit your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulBerni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

As other reviews have said it is more like a village than a hotel. The atmosphere was good, the food was good , the service was good, everything was good. Make sure you do the garden tour that was really enjoyable.All the accommodation is built in houses on two floors. The biggest downside is that the pools are not heated and were not too good in January. Angela Merekel stays here so it must be good. If possible take a top floor rather than a ground floor. We were on the ground floor and could hear people walking around above us.The Island is good for walking.

Room Tip: Book a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RogShoreham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaCarrillo, Community manager at Hotel Jardin Tecina, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Our garden of over 70,000 m2 with more than 50 species of plants and flowers from all over the world contribute to the creation of this garden, so we always suggest our customers to join us in our botanical walk, we're glad to know you already did and enjoyed the experience. Hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Santiago
6.3 mi away
Parador de la Gomera
Parador de la Gomera
#1 of 9 in San Sebastian de la Gomera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
9.2 mi away
Ibo Alfaro Hotel Rural
Ibo Alfaro Hotel Rural
#3 of 7 in Hermigua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
10.2 mi away
Playa Calera
Playa Calera
#1 of 25 in Valle Gran Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Hotel Gran Rey
Hotel Gran Rey
#2 of 25 in Valle Gran Rey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
9.6 mi away
Charco Del Conde
Charco Del Conde
#4 of 25 in Valle Gran Rey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
25.0 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jardin Tecina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jardin Tecina

Property: Hotel Jardin Tecina
Address: Lomada de Tecina s/n, 38811 Playa de Santiago, La Gomera, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > La Gomera > Playa de Santiago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Playa de Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jardin Tecina 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Jardin Tecina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardin Tecina Playa De Santiago
Hotel Jardin Tecina La Gomera/Playa De Santiago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing