We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Cuevita

La Cuevita
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We visited La Cuevita several times.
Friendly welcoming service.
The fish of the day, often vieja, was superb - as was the sweet of the day, often tiramisu. We aso enjoyed the prawns and langoustines.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jbo850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    100
    49
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Not stone age”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Friendly staff and good value, not haute cuisine but competent cooking in a unique setting. Outside tables very close to the road.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 2_Romantics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed by the food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

This restaurant is in a great location and very atmospheric, basically built into a cave. It gets very busy so it is well worth booking. We went on the strength of the reviews on trip advisor and were disappointed with our food. The starters were lovely - I had the local watercress soup and my husband had grilled octopus. Both were tasty. Our main courses however were a let down. I had tuna which was a generous portion but overcooked and a little tasteless. My husband had moray eel that had been fried until any moisture had been driven out of it and eating it was something of a chore. We would probably return for lunch and just stick with the starters.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Fresh, well cooked fish and a pleasant atmosphere. First ate here some six years ago and much improved. Four adults and one six-year-old had a lovely meal...

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank keithmacb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Dreadful food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Best food was the bread with two dips. Garlic chicken definitely not fresh -tasted like it had been cooked some time ago and reheated in oil to which garlic had been added - the whole lot overlooked and the chicken tough. Meat and vegetable stew comprised large chunks of tough meat (no idea what the meat was) sitting in a very salty sauce with soggy chips. Prices were generally reasonable but not for this very low quality of food. Seated outside (to the side) to avoid the wind having been told all tables inside were reserved though we noticed several tables inside remained empty the whole time we were there. Service was friendly and efficient.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lap56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cuevita also viewed

Playa de Santiago, La Gomera
Playa de Santiago, La Gomera
 
Playa de Santiago, La Gomera
Playa de Santiago, La Gomera
 

Been to La Cuevita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing