We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive. Prices have gone up too much.”
Review of Karlaby Kro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Karlaby Kro
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Karlaby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We have stayed here 4-5 times in the past and enjoyed it. But last time was maybe 3-4 years ago. This time, in July 2011, we see that prices have increased remarkably. Wine especially, but also food, was way out of line as far as prices. Cheapest bottle of wine, nothing special at all, was SEK 730 or USD 110. The food was good but the meal, with only a main course and a cheese plate and 1 bottle wine came to SEK 1735 or USD 270. Time to review the pricing here I suggest.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HOBNOB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 127 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2011

This is a nice little hotel set on the swedish country side (Österlen but not by the sea, the small villages by the sea are well worth a visit if you stay here) The restaurant is very good, a little bit on the edge with combinations of fish, caviar and meat and some interesting local suppliers.

Rooms are nice and average size, comfortable bed. Breakfast is very good!

The only problem is that everything is a little bit over priced. Everything is "OK to very good" but not that great.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwedenFamilyBusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

This was my second visit to Karlaby, love the setting and the place itself. Food is simply excellent! Was a bit disappointed by the service this time, had to wait long at the table several times and staff not very friendly (or rather, the staff feels very "individual" with some being professional and nice while some seeming to be rather new and not very nice). In this kind of place I would expect much better service, and it was much better last time I visitied. Holiday time so many kids which was somewhat disturbing as they were very loud. Would prefer to have a separate kid's swimming pool or have some hours when kid's are not allowed in the recreational area. After all, the advertisement is to come to Karlaby and relax...

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surb14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Well worth the trip from Malmo or even Copenhagen. Fantastic michelin level food in a very relaxing, rustic and at the same time modern setting. We didn't really have time to explorer the surroundings, but didn't feel the need, as we just wanted to switch off for two days. I have been to a "similar" spa in Skane, but it was no where close in terms of food and service.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KamiMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2011

I have visited this hotel three times, it's one of my favorites in Sweden.

Fantastic food and service! Probably the best experience I have ever had in the region.

The Spa-region is cosy, but lacks a bubble-patth.

Try to get one of the rooms on the second floor, they are bigger.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2010

We had a great stay at this hotel. Its setting is very rural, and it is a lovely spot to relax. Our room was very spacious and comfortable. There is a decent pool and the breakfasts are feasts. The evening meal could be a little "fussy" but the food was generally excellent. I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting a peaceful base to explore the Skane area.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WDPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2008

We stayed at Karlaby in August 2008. We'd been in Skane for a couple of weeks to see my wife's family and treated ourselves to our last night here. We'd come from a truly awful youth hostel in Ystad so the contrast with Karlaby could not have been greater!

The hotel is a converted farm but it has been done very sympathetically. The public spaces are really chilled and very tastefully decorated. The pool is small but adequate and the sunbeds outside are so wonderfully relaxing. As soon as we arrived we had a quick swim and then lay on the beds for a couple of hours reading.

The room we had was superb. Big, spacious with a huge bathroom with excellent toiletries, shower etc. It was really clean and well looked after. An excellent bed, really so very comfortable.

But we were there really for the food. We'd been to several gastro places through Skane and this was our last. We'd also bought a copy of the White Guide so had some clues as to what to expect and what to compare it with. Of the three places we stayed at in the White Guide I would say that Karlaby was second. The food was quite delicious. It is such a change to go somewhere and have the chef really play with flavours and textures compared to the UK where so much now is locally sourced (I'm all in favour of that) and simply cooked. But I can do that at home. If I'm paying top whack for food then I expect the chef to do something special with the ingredients and they did here. We had a super four course meal with wine that complemented it well.

The breakfast the following morning was the best we had in Skane. Really good breads, cheeses, meats etc, etc, etc. So much food that it lasted right through until we got the flight out of Copenhagen that evening (well almost).

A really great place to stay - but not cheap. Wine in Sweden is also so very expensive. Not in the shops, but restaurants bleed you dry. But that's the way it's always been, it's just a bit of shock when you have to pay £25 for the cheapest bottle on the wine list. The chef's selection of three/four glasses that we had to go with our meal was nearly £40 each - £80 for wine!!! Be prepared!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissingMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karlaby
8.7 mi away
Kiviks Hotell
Kiviks Hotell
#1 of 1 in Kivik
161 reviews
18.4 mi away
Villa Strandvagen
Villa Strandvagen
#1 of 6 in Ystad
158 reviews
18.5 mi away
Ystad Saltsjobad
Ystad Saltsjobad
#2 of 6 in Ystad
3,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Svea Hotel
Svea Hotel
#1 of 1 in Simrishamn
149 reviews
19.3 mi away
Hotel Continental Ystad Du Sud
19.5 mi away
Anno 1793 Sekelgarden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karlaby Kro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karlaby Kro

Address: Tommarp, Karlaby 27293, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Karlaby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Karlaby
Price Range: $217 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Karlaby Kro 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karlaby Kro is a small hotel and restaurant located in Osterlen. We are open all year and the restaurant welcomes everyone, not only guests of the hotel. On your way here, you pass through villages with names such as Baskemolla and Gladsax. You turn onto a dirt road and there, amid rape fields and farmland, lies our whitewashed Skane farm. Karlaby Kro is a place for peace and tranquility. The nature and surroundings make Karlaby Kro a place that exudes peace and tranquility. You'll find the bar and reception in the main building, while the hotel rooms are located in what was one the farm stables. Here you'll also find the guest living room with fireplace. The former stables also house the poolroom with a 12 x 4 meter indoor pool and sauna. With light streaming in through the glass roof, the poolroom is a warm and lovely room to sit in, even if you don't wish to swim or take a sauna. You may also enjoy a spa treatment in this room. During summer you can sit on the terrace outside or rest in the hanging beds in the pergola just next to it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Karlaby Kro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing