We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you go to Mariefred, this is where to stay”
Review of Skomakergarden B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mariefred
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Skomakergarden B&B
Ranked #1 of 6 Mariefred B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 5, 2014

if you go to Mariefred, this is where to stay. As we came to the guest house, we where so nicely welcomed, and the room was excelent.
A small privately owned place, with some few rooms, warm and nice.
Mariefred is a very small town, so the Bed and Breakfast is only a few minutes from "it all".
The breakfast was so Swedish.. And so good!
A break from the stress in the big cities? Go there. We hope to be back soon again

Room Tip: make reservations in good time.. the place is not big..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bjorn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 33 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

In the centre of Mariefred, the little gem located at the lake Mälaren, you find this amazing B&B. The charming couple running it have transformed their home from the 18th century to an extraordinary B&B. The rooms are located in small redpainted huoses in one end of the garden and the rooms give you the impression that you are staying at a 5-star hotel. The breakfast is generous and if the weather permits you can have it in the wonderful garden full of lovely flowers and plants. You can understand why the owners are also running the flower shop in Mariefred.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hartwig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We originally hoped to stay at In My Garden, but it was fully booked so we selected Skomakagarden instead. It is a very attractive little B&B, with nicely furnished rooms and a small, sunny garden for guests. There are four rooms: Ostra Garden (east garden), Vastra Garden (west garden), Sodra Loftet (south loft) and Norra Loftet (north loft). Ostra Garden is the nicest of the rooms, closely followed by Vastra Garden. The two loft rooms appear to have very small windows and not much natural light. The owner and family are friendly and welcoming; the garden is cute and well maintained; and a substantial breakfast is available whenever you feel like it, in a communal kitchen/breakfast room. This is a good facility where you can also make tea/coffee at any time during the day.
The downside, and it was a big one for us, is the layout of the place. The B&B is right next door to the owner’s house. You enter the B&B from Longgatan Street, whereas the owner’s front door is on Kyrkogarten – a parallel street to the east. A shared gravel pathway runs through both properties and there’s a simple wooden gate separating the B&B from the owner’s garden. The problem, for us, was the continual ebb and flow of visitors, friends, family coming to see the owners and using the B&B as a short cut. We were hoping to rest up here for a couple of days, but an afternoon sleep was impossible with the constant crunching of gravel right outside our room. This spoiled what we hoped would be a quiet, relaxed afternoon.
A suggestion to the owner: make the entrance to the B&B a private one ‘for guests only’, and direct everyone else to your own front door!

Room Tip: Ostra Garden and Vastra Garden are the two best rooms. I would not book one of the loft rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Prufreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2009

Lovely B&B on quiet street in the old part of Mariefred, a short walk from Gripsholm Castle and Gipsholm Värdshus (the oldest inn in Sweden). Carefully renovated in keeping with the original building style. Bedroom on first floor in what used to be the grannary. Limited daylight due to narrow window just above floor, but lots of ceiling spotlights. Access to rooms via a ladder-style open staircase. Lovely yard with garden furniture. Breakfast room downstairs (in the former stable). Good choice in breakfast. Friendly landlady.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristinaochPelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Erika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Ingar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mariefred hotels
0.2 mi away
Gripsholms B&B
Gripsholms B&B
#5 of 6 in Mariefred
10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roda Magasinet
Roda Magasinet
#3 of 6 in Mariefred
10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gripsholms Vardshus and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skomakergarden B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skomakergarden B&B

Address: Langgatan 8, Mariefred 647 30, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Sodermanland County > Mariefred
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mariefred
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing