We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location, excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hospederia la Mariposa
Ranked #1 of 1 Gebas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stunning location, excellent value for money”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed at La Mariposa for a short break and chose it due to the location in the mountains (we were looking for somewhere peaceful and beautiful) and the fantastic deal offered.

La Mariposa is a beautiful, charming little guesthouse set on the edge of the mountain with simply decorated rooms leading off the courtyard and a wonderful terrace overlooking the valley which is a perfect place to sit and relax.

Frankly, for the price of the accommodation, we weren't expecting much but we were pleasantly surprised. The room was spacious with en-suite bathroom including shower in bath, small TV and limited tea and coffee making facilities (1 teabag and 1 sachet of coffee per person: a couple more teabags and sachets of coffee wouldn't cost much and would've been appreciated, particularly as this wasn't replenished during the stay).

The room itself was simply but attractively decorated in a Mediterranean style, restful and clean.

Breakfast was basic but again, for the price, only to be expected: sliced bread for toast, orange juice, tea, coffee, yoghurts, cereal, jam, paté. 1 mini croissant per person.

We ate twice in the restaurant, both times at lunchtime (one of these was a roast dinner). Both meals were very good quality/value for money and to be recommended, we left full and contented.

The icing on the cake was the service received by the son and daughter of the owners, who were friendly without being intrusive, always willing to help, polite and welcoming.

The only slight disappointment was when we popped into the restaurant one evening enquiring about whether it'd be possible to have a bite to eat (just a sandwich would've done) but we were informed that they stopped serving at 9 (we arrived shortly after - in Spain, 9pm is dinner time and so I imagine that any Spanish guests will also wish to have dinner then). I don't think making a sandwich would take them more than 5 minutes, not much trouble for them and would've meant a bit more income for them and 2 happier customers. The point is that La Mariposa is in the middle of nowhere and I think that they should be a bit more flexible with their closing times as there are no other restaurants within walking distance. Just a small remark anyway.

We hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guiri_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    30
    7
    4
    14
See reviews for
42
63
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murcia, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We spent 2 nights at la Mariposa a few days ago and were impressed by the friendly and professional service we received. It's a lovely place in the middle of the mountains. The young lady who welcomed us was very nice and catered for all our needs for the three days that we were there. Her and her brother who also takes groups for walks and other activities were fantastic. Really nice place to have a break long or short.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UK2013J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto de Mazarron, Spain
1 review
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We have been to La Mariposa for lunch on several occasions and also stayed overnight on one of their Music Nights. The food is second to none and there is always a friendly "home from home" atmosphere. The hotel is run by a lovely English family and located in the beautiful Sierra Espuna with breathtaking views. I'm not the outdoor type so can't comment on the numerous activities from personal experience but feedback from those who I know have partaken is always very positve. Keep up the good work. We will be back very soon!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMiles2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Excellent, was beyond my expectations.
Now if you don't like rustic or traditional and are not prepared to put up with inconveniences then this is not for you. If on the other hand the natural rugged views, friendly staff and good honest food are your forte then I highly recommend this slice of Spain. Would I go here again? Yes in an instant, BUT beware they close Wednesdays and booking, even for lunch or dinner, is absolutely essential to avoid a wasted trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arthur r R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartagena, Murcia, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2013

The hotel was recommended to us by friends and we had a lovely 3 days at La Mariposa, we arrived early and was told that the rooms would not be ready until 3pm which we had read on the website and the booking company also informed us, the receptionist asked the cleaning lady to finish our room 1st and we were allowed in at 1pm, the room was spacious and spotlessly clean with everything we needed and more.
We pre-ordered our evening meal on arrival which we certainly did not mind doing but I am sure that this would upset some picky people however it was not a problem to us and the choice was good for a Menu del a noche, the food was on time, piping hot and lovely we both went to bed stuffed.
The hotel is rural and in the middle of the countryside on the edge of a mountainous area 404 metres above sea level, the air is fresh and clear (obviously the odd farm smell when they are spreading their stuff!) but clear clean and fresh.
We decided to try a guided walk which was organised for the Monday, 30 people attended these popular walks (this was 13km easy medium grade) which included a 4 course walkers meal, the food was buffet vegatables and a great choice all told, catering for 30 people all at the same time can only be described as heroic for the kitchen staff and they coped admirably and even the wine was included in the price, I don't know how they did it.
The hotel recommended other restaurants in the area if we fancied a change and their choice was spot on, Mark and Tom were very helpful through our stay as was Cady (our waitress).
All in all a very enjoyable stay in this hard working family run hotel and once we left we felt like one of the family and will certainly be back and perhaps next time we will try the quad bike tours which come highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had room no 5 which I would recommend however I did not see the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Just back from an overnight stay at La Mariposa. Great night. The hosts provided us with a fabulous curry evening. The wine was delicious and the room was spotless and cosy. Breakfast was a relaxed enjoyable experience. Great banter. Great Atmosphere, warm and welcoming venue. We will be back! Thank you Mark, Sam, Tom and Cadey.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macki62000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Lovely relaxing, welcoming hotel. The Hotel is family run by a happy family unit. We went on one of their twice monthly organised walking then lunch tours held from September through until April. The views were amazing and the guide was informative but not spoiling off information all the time which was great. There was 30 people on the walk so best to book early on this walkers lunch was was excellent value at €12 for a three course lunch and the guided walk. We choose to stay the night before and the night of the walk which was a really relaxing way of doing it, and the room was spacious clean, apart from right under the bed. The bed was huge

The hotel also offers loads of other activities from Quad bikes to river rafting, organised walks to kayaking

Well worth another visit.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gebas
5.3 mi away
Hospederia Bajo el Cejo
Hospederia Bajo el Cejo
#1 of 1 in Alhama de Murcia
217 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Executive Sport
20.5 mi away
Parador de Lorca
Parador de Lorca
#1 of 5 in Lorca
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Hotel La Cumbre
Hotel La Cumbre
#2 of 4 in Puerto de Mazarron
580 reviews
21.6 mi away
Apartamentos Pueblo salado S.L., Mazarron
18.2 mi away
Nelva Hotel
Nelva Hotel
#1 of 28 in Murcia
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospederia la Mariposa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospederia la Mariposa

Property: Hospederia la Mariposa
Address: C. Comarcal C-3315 Alhama de Murcia - Mula, 30848 Gebas, Spain
Location: Spain > Region of Murcia > Gebas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gebas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hospederia la Mariposa 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small rural hotel situated at the foothills of the Sierra Espuna nature park in Southern Spain. 8 en-suite rooms surrounding the terrace which overlooks the Barrancos de Gebas (Badlands), restaurant/bar, pool, gym and pool terrace, fantastic area for walking, mountain/road biking, climbing or just relaxing, extremely competitive room prices. The area is a haven for nature/wildlife lovers, we cater for walking/cycling groups etc. The hotel is English family run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hospederia la Mariposa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing