We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hospederia la Mariposa
Ranked #1 of 1 Gebas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed here a few night - the rooms were dirty - the towels were never changed and not clean - the breakfast was poor - no fresh coffee - no bread - the food was very poor. the seats at the swimming pool was not fresh - The whole hotel needs a good clean up and fresh up!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Veerle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s18nys, Owner at Hospederia la Mariposa, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

I am very sorry that you were displeased with your stay, I also apologise as I cannot find any record of you staying with us, Please contact us immediately and we would like to re-imburse you for your entire stay on production of your receipt.
We can only apologise and try to make amends.
Fresh towels are available on demand as stated in all bathrooms, rooms are also cleaned on demand as stated.

The pool area is closed in May as the whole swimming pool area is surrounded by pine trees and does not get the sun until June to late August so we are sorry theat the pool was not prepared for you whilst being in the closed season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 167 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2012

Stayed here for one night prior to completing some hill-walking in the local mountains. This is a family run hotel and all members of the family went out of their way to be welcoming. I had the evening meal of Murcian salad, followed by lamb cultets with fresh vegetables and whisky ice cream. Washed down with a bottle of white wine and finishing with coffee.
The room was comfortable and the facilities fine. The breakfast consisted of ypohurt, cereals and toast and as much coffee as you wanted. I then went on a 6km walk with the walking group organised through the hotel. The weather was initially cool but soon warmed up to the high 20's.
After the walk there was a welcoming beer as well as red and white wine. There was a buffet style salad bar with all that you could eat - followed by a chicken paella and a BBQ of sausages; burgers; chicken and chops. All excellent. The total bill for all of the above was just over £60 - if that's not value for money nothing is. Well done La Mariposa, I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rojo447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We have booked a week holiday and loved the place. It's a perfect place to visit the Sierra Espuna, but our favorite activity was the quad tour and visiting the blue lagoon. Food and prices are great and the owners made us feel we were part of the family. Nothing was to much to ask and we enjoyed Tom and Cady.

Stayed: May 2012
1  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I only spent a morning at the hotel as we had only planned a day trip to do the Quad biking experience however from what we encountered this is a very friendly and welcoming place.

I cannot comment on the food or rooms however we received a very warm welcome from Tom when we arrived and offered drinks before Mark gave us a friendly and very professional introduction into Quad biking.

The tour was carried out at a very safe pace suitable for beginners however the terrain is sufficiently challenging to still give you a sense of thrill for those wanting a little more.

Both my teenage children along with my wife thoroughly enjoyed the activity and we were left wanting to do it again so we will definitely be going back to do the combined Quad and Kayak tour next time we are in the region.

I would recommend to any outgoing family with children as even slightly younger ones could ride on the back safely and totally enjoy the scenery.

The place was very easy to find and get too by using the instructions on the website and only took just over an hour from the Torrevieja region.

A must for anyone in the region looking for some outdoor fun with excellent scenery.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Lovely small family hotel. Beautiful setting with lots of activities, or relaxing. The village of El Berro is a few minutes away by car and is a lovely spanish village well worth a visit.
The owners are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: avoid room 3 as this is has a wet room, and the floor gets too wet.Ideal for disabled clients.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynnph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

A wonderful opportunity to experience Mark's skills as quad bike instructor and leader and Denis's abilities as a walk guide. We were a group of 11 split into 2, alternating the events for each group over 2 days. Not only was the organisation perfect, but the Gebas area for both of these activities is stunning. Coupled with the adventure side of the Mariposa business is a hotel providing comfort, service, catering, ambiance and a welcome beyond expectation - a warm thank you to Mark, Sam, Tom, Denis and all of the Mariposa team.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I just love La Mariposa.... the hotel is charming, the owners friendly & the setting beautiful. Just chill out & enjoy the view or if you´re feeling more energetic, take part in one of their organised tours....walks, quad bike tours, kayaking or mountain biking. Something for everyone.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathyMazarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hospederia la Mariposa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospederia la Mariposa

Address: C. Comarcal C-3315 Alhama de Murcia - Mula, 30848 Gebas, Spain
Location: Spain > Region of Murcia > Gebas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gebas
Price Range: $66 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hospederia la Mariposa 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small rural hotel situated at the foothills of the Sierra Espuna nature park in Southern Spain. 8 en-suite rooms surrounding the terrace which overlooks the Barrancos de Gebas (Badlands), restaurant/bar, pool, gym and pool terrace, fantastic area for walking, mountain/road biking, climbing or just relaxing, extremely competitive room prices. The area is a haven for nature/wildlife lovers, we cater for walking/cycling groups etc. The hotel is English family run. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hospederia la Mariposa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing