We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family birthday party weekend”
Set in large south-facing and established garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Set in large south-facing and established garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
74 reviews
Set in large south-facing and established garden
Front aspect
Master bedroom
Double bedroom
Lounge
Master bathroom
Family bathroom
Garden
Double bedroom
Utility room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Fulbourn, Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Geoff B
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family birthday party weekend”
Reviewed January 11, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We stayed at Beechwood House Cambridge last weekend , and what a fantastic house..We all really enjoyed it, the house is just perfect for a large family gathering...
equipped with everything you would need...!! .
thankyou so much,

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 13, 2017
I'm delighted you all enjoyed your stay with us and had such a memorable family birthday celebration.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jchrismor...
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed January 7, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We booked this house for a family Christmas. From the very beginning, James was very helpful and accommodating. From the moment we stepped in the front door, we felt like we were home for the holidays. The decorations were amazing and everything was taken care of. We had some slight trouble figuring out how to use the heat the first day, but fortunately, we just called James and he came right over. He even had a plumber come out on Christmas Eve just to make sure everything was okay (which it was). The entire stay was magical. The pool was amazing and with four small children, the pool and the large backyard was a big hit, even despite the cold weather. We could not have asked for a better place. James and his wife were extremely helpful and very kind. I highly recommend at this property for anyone looking for a carefree Christmas in the English Countryside. I can only hope that we will have another opportunity to stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 9, 2017
I'm so pleased you all had such a good Christmas at Beechwood House and that everything met with your full expectations. We'd love to see you again when you're next visiting the UK.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bdpallett
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful house, Fab Owners!”
Reviewed January 5, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

I initially booked Beechwood House a year in advance as a surprise for my wife's 50th birthday celebrations. James the owner gave me and one of my friends a tour before we booked and I was so impressed I booked it for a long weekend for the following December at that point. The house is beautiful and the 2 adjoining studios allow a total of 15 people to stay. The icing on the cake is the indoor swimming pool. We also made use of the open log fire in the living room which was great in December. James is delightful and always very helpful when being contacted especially as I had to amend the booking to include the 2 studios at a later date as part of my booking. Although I wasn't there on arrival, James explained everything to my friends who arrived first. We also made use of local facilities. Punting in Cambridge and a meal at the six bells pub in Fulbourn. I could probably write pages in this review but we definitely did not want to leave on the Monday and everyone loved the whole weekend. My son's quote who is 21 said "One of my favourite weekends ever". We would love to return again someday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 6, 2017
Many thanks for your kind words and I'm delighted you all took away such happy memories.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
714woodla...
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
1 review
“A warm, comfortable, fun, family home from home.”
Reviewed August 13, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Beechwood is spacious and comfortable. Even with three generations the house feels roomy and the garden and pool are fantastic for the children. Many a happy hour is spent splashing around or improvising games on the lawn. The house is well furnished and James is a generous host providing numerous pool towels and washing facilities etc. We have stayed four times now so it must be good!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 5, 2016
It was lovely to see you all again and its always nice to see Beechwood House buzzing with happy family activity!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stewi1950
east lothian
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“My grandchildren want to come back every year!!”
Reviewed August 13, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Found Beechwood on line when looking for a base to attend my son's wedding near cambridge. We made a holiday week of it It. Could not have been better with space for all the family in the big house and two studios for close friends and relatives. The children absolutely loved the pool and the huge gardens to play in - we had badminton, volleyball, croquet, boules, space hoppers - great fun. Hosted a party for the bride's family on the eve of the wedding - BBQ going non stop! The outdoor dining area was superb and, as we were lucky with the weather, we dined outside a lot. Great kitchen for self catering and we did have one carry out from the Chinese in the village - which was good. Coop in the village for everyday stuff and Tesco a mile away for a big shop. James - the owner - was very friendly and helpful - even a bottle of fizzy chilling for us on our arrival! All in all a great holiday venue in a lovely village.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gardens and the pool
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 5, 2016
It was an absolute pleasure having you all to stay and I'm delighted that you all had so much fun and took away happy memories from Beechwood House.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLYOX
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply perfect”
Reviewed July 25, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed at a Beechwood with my family to celebrate my husbands 40th. Although we live locally, we wanted somewhere where we could all stay together to celebrate.
The house quickly became our home for 4 days, the hosts have thought of everything to make us feel welcome.
The house is decorated beautifully with absolutely no signs of wear and tear. All bed linen and towels were provided, even an abundance of towels for the pool - which came in very handy.
The kitchen is a great room with extended dining facilities and all the gadgets you can think of to cook for large numbers of people. Lots of fruit and other treats left for you to enjoy too.
The bedrooms were fab, great size and really comfy beds! My favourite was the room with an ensuite - stunning roll top bath, what's not to love!
The garden - wow.. it is simply stunning (and absolutely huge!!!) We spent hours walking around admiring the gorgeous flowers and bushes.. The weather was very kind to us so we spent a lot of time on the patio enjoying the bar b q looking out at the scenery. Even with the odd shower it didn't matter as there is a fantastic gazebo covering the area.
The pool is brilliant too - such a great size for the kids to enjoy during the day, and adults to have fun in the evening. Really warm and very clean.
Overall it was the perfect place to stay. We couldn't have asked for more and we are currently thinking of a date as to when we can return! We highly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen
Liked least: Leaving 😒
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2016
Thanks so much for your kind words and I'm delighted you all had such a memorable weekend and that Beechwood House and its grounds met with your full expectations...may see you all again for your next big celebration!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesca...
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The perfect place for a weekend exploring Cambridge!”
Reviewed July 11, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I stayed with a group of fourteen friends at Beechwood House and it's additional studio apartments during the last bank holiday weekend in May. The house and grounds are absolutely beautiful. All the bedrooms are tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The kitchen has everything you need to cater for a large group, we easily cooked breakfasts and a big dinner during our stay. The garden is well kept and has picturesque views across the Cambridge countryside. The indoor swimming pool was warm and clean and a lot of fun! There were plenty of bath and beach towels supplied.
We took taxis back and fourth to the main town, which only took 10-15 minutes and cost about £16-17 a trip through Panther Taxis.
James was an excellent host, supplying a welcome drink for our arrival and dashing out to get a replacement speaker to play music through when we realised the exisiting one didn't work. He was also very flexible on our arrival time when we got sdtuck in traffic. We loved our stay at Beechwood House and can't recommend it highly enough if you're looking for a base to explore Cambridge from. Thank you James!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and garden were beautiful and felt like a luxurious but cosy weekend away.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2016
You are most welcome and I'm delighted you all had an enjoyable weekend in Cambridge and that all aspects of Beechwood House, the pool, garden and two studios lived up to your expectations!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing