We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great following the recent refurbishment”

The Hat & Rabbit, Bar & Kitchen
Ranked #4 of 6 Restaurants in Fulbourn
Price range: $6 - $38
Description: A family run Bar & Kitchen, Great ALES, Premium Lagers/Beers & Ciders, Fine wines & Fizz, But most of all a great Kitchen offering a wide range of dinning options.
Restaurant details
Description: A family run Bar & Kitchen, Great ALES, Premium Lagers/Beers & Ciders, Fine wines & Fizz, But most of all a great Kitchen offering a wide range of dinning options.
Reviewed May 29, 2018 via mobile

This was my first visit since the refit about a month ago. It was a mid-week afternoon and the garden was popular with kids. Overall the venue was quiet and the atmosphere very warm and friendly. The pub has been decorated to a high standard and was comfortable. Service was excellent. We all ordered fish and chips and were delighted by all 3 elements of the meal: peas, fish and of course the chips.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank knigma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 20 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2018

Great decor, unrecognisable from a year ago (thank God). It seems like the whole family pitch in and it does have a family feel to it. Good selection of beers and so nice to be offfered a selection of Gins all served with Fever Tree tonic in big goldfish bowls loads of ice and fresh fruit. Makes all the difference. Same with the vodka, lots of choice and served up really nice. Obviously into their sports with a few screens playing the footy and you can eat in the bar in a booth with a screen at the end of your table so that pleased my husband as it was the Champions League final. 6 of us ate there and I had the bbq ‘dirty’ chicken and it was good, fish and chips looked nice as did the pot pie. My husband had steak and he enjoyed it. A couple had puds and we had cheese and biscuits and it was a very generous portion we got extra biscuits sent out coz there was so much cheese. The garden is clean and functional and there is a nice little play area for kids along with a Kandy Kabin selling sweets and ice cream. It’s not cheap and tbh why should it be????? They’ve clearly spent a fortune doing it up and being a local and living a stones throw away for 16 years it’s been a grotty boozer serving cheap booze and rubbish food for ages. Last time I went in there when it was the Bakers Arms it was full of drunks shouting and swearing, flooded toilets and broken chairs - not a place I wanted to be nor take my kids to. My only criticism was the chips - they were home cut (big thumbs up) and triple fried and although fluffy on the inside a few were a bit burnt on the outside and difficult to cut without pinging across the table. If I were to offer any advice it would be to utilise the outdoor kitchen and do more bbq’s and maybe in the future a Sunday carvery???? The pub gets a huge thumbs up from us, great place to take the kids, or go as a group of adults and get a nice Gin. Staff are really friendly too. I hope it manages to shake off the old stigma the pub had and succeeds.

Date of visit: May 2018
2  Thank NicL99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2018 via mobile

Visited her on recommendation from the nightingale family , what a lovely pub great food and great drink selection very reasonable prices as well considering we live half an hour away we will definitely be returning

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank schwarz678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2018 via mobile

Such a wonderful family run pub beautiful atmosphere and amazing decoration
Food was just perfect would recommend the steak and homemade chips are to die for x staff excellent service impeccable

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank nightingalesharon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2018

Beautifully redecorated, lovely food and prompt, friendly service. Great to have our pub back. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 772diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hat & Rabbit, Bar & Kitchen also viewed

 
Fulbourn, Cambridge
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Trumpington, Cambridge
 

Been to The Hat & Rabbit, Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing