We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An exceptionally lovely place”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
A lovely warm log burning fire
Dining and kitchen
Main Bedroom with ensuite bathroom
The patio,lookuing onto private garden
The Palmiet reed roof
The Plunge Pool
Oh so comfortable patio seating area
Dry wall in garden
The Road to Nowhere,gorgeous
The gum trees out front
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
McGregor, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
susannaj
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An exceptionally lovely place”
Reviewed March 14, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We lost our hearts to this welcoming and delightful cottage, in keeping with its surroundings and revealing in its decor a deft artistic hand. We only had two blissful nights and couldn't bring ourselves to stir farther than walking around the village to enjoy breakfasts at Temenos and a stylish dinner at Karoux. How we wish Wild Almond weren't so far from England!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 15, 2017
So pleased that you enjoyed Wild Almond and being such special guests
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
11cyndym
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Utterly Charming Cottage”
Reviewed December 1, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed the weekend at Wild Almond and had the most divine time. The cottage is quaint and charming, spotlessly clean, with remarkable attention to detail by the owner. Every detail is taken care of, and I could not fault it at all. Great location in the village of Mcgregor. I will definitely be back !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 22, 2017
Thank you for beig such special guests
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermaak20...
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A gem in the winelands”
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Excellent accommodation located in McGregor in the Western Cape. Quiet, peaceful and well appointed for a memorable stay. Fully equipped with attention to detail for self catering. A beautiful little cottage that sleeps four easily in two bedrooms with two bathrooms. Our friendly host Dennis even welcomed us with fresh flowers in the cottage. We only stayed for one night but we would love to stay longer in future.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 22, 2017
Thank you for you kind comments
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carine V
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The hosts thought of everything!”
Reviewed October 12, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage really is superb. Our host, Dennis Higgs, really thought of everything. The cottage is equipped with all kinds of creature comforts - including recipe books, electric blankets, enough kitchen utensils, nice body products etc. In addition, it's beautifully decorated and there's a lovely plunge pool and veranda in the private backyard. It's also in a quiet part of town. Dennis left a bottle of McGregor wine and chocolates, and gave us hints and tips on where to find the best food and wine in the area. We'll definitely be back!

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 22, 2017
Thank you for staying at Wild Almond and beig such delightful guests
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
webmonkey...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We hd a lovely warm welcome from Dennis. The cottage is well equipped and really peaceful, we just wished that we'd booked some extra nights!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 25, 2017
Pleasure to have you as such nice guests....thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanne L
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
Google Translation

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing