We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great lunch spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Deli Girls - CLOSED

Deli Girls
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great lunch spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Sit outside or if its raining sit inside near the fire. I always have their tasty soup. They have a good choice of foods. The shop also sells a mixture of other items from cheese to children's books. Not to forget the chocolates. A nice place to browse.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    17
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No tea and cake available from 4pm?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

McGregor is a small town with less than a handful of good restaurants and coffee shops. On Saturday, my husband and I were looking forward to having our traditional tea and cake at 4pm and the Deli Girls were recommended. We were both very disappointed when we entered just before 4pm to be told that the kitchen was closed but we could browse around until 4pm, as that is when they close.

McGregor coffee shops such as this one would naturally survive mainly on weekend business, so it really made no sense that they would close at a time when most people would seek out a place for tea and cake. What a disappointment, as there was nowhere else to go in the town.

It's about time people in small towns who open businesses, act like business people and not employees who watch the clock to shut the doors at "closing time".

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Countrygirl888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful lunch in the beautiful garden. The coffee is excellent too and matched with first class service, we will return on our next visit to the Cape.
Our cheese platters were growning with scrumptious cheeses, preserves and cold meats.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BelvedereCottages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“WHERE BREAKFAST IS A DELIGHT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Homemade croissants with salmon and fresh scrambled eggs. And at a very reasonable rate. The best breakfast for miles around!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“delightful Deli Girls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

This little gem made our trip to McGregor really worthwhile. Set on the main street through McGregor, it is well worth a visit for lunch or for afternoon tea; and to stroll around the beautiful well-kept gardens while awaiting one's food. There are a variety of plants for sale, from well established Iceberg roses for only R35, to palm trees, or cacti. The interesting little shop inside is also worthy of a browse. The food is excellent home-made delicious well presented and plentiful, and can be eaten outside under the trees where the garden can be appreciated. The staff are super friendly and very accommodating.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank sweet63capetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deli Girls also viewed

 
McGregor, Western Cape
McGregor, Western Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing