We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still fantastic”
Review of Karoux Restaurant

Karoux Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in McGregor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Still fantastic”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I was nervous about trying Karoux again, as it had been one of my favorite restaurants when owned by Kurt and Andre, but there was no reason - the food is superb, service fantastic, and the quirky decor still in place.
The Caesar salad starter was something I would come back for again and again, sirloin steak with "thrice" fried chips was amazing, and the desert equally memorable - definitely back on my favorites list.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    33
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We booked into Karoux for two evenings whilst staying at McGregor. Run by a lovely young couple Ryan and Aimee, offering a small but select wonderful menu of fresh cooked food and high quality wines in a small and cosy restaurant.

We would recommend the steak, the risotto, crime brûlée, infact everything.

It's not open every night out of season, so do book, it's worth the journey from Capetown even if your not staying in McGregor.

Www.karoux.co.za. They have a philosophy "It was a time when the family table has pace for one more - a stranger was merely a friend with a new story to tell. This is the philosophy behind Karoux - arrive as a stranger and leave as a friend, touched by true Karoo hospitality." I can certainly say that this was very much the case.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“So good we went twice”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Really good food with a depth of flavours. The double baked soufflé was amazing. The service was excellent. We had such a lovely meal we repeated the treat a couple of nights later. Thanks.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A culinary gem in little Macgregor!”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

we were blown away by the food and the service.It doesn't really look like fine dining and we were made very welcome by the owners wife even though we were dressed very casually. Then we saw the menu on the chalkboard and were amazed that one would find such unusual dishes in a tiny little town such as Macgregor. Our food was exceptional, as was the very friendly service, the owner is also the chef and came out to greet us as well. we disliked nothing and wish it was closer to where we lived! Also not expensive for what we ate at all.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank KatieGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
187 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“When everything comes together!!!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This place is like adding all the right ingredients together and creating magic! The decor is a combination of all the memoribilla you would have grown up with in the 70's in a south african household, flying ducks and all. The food is on par with any international standard - the best souffle I have ever had!! Well done on the couple bringing so much flair to McGregor!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charmaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karoux Restaurant also viewed

 
McGregor, Western Cape
 

Been to Karoux Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing