We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven is closer than you may think.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McGregor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tanagra Wine + Guestfarm
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heaven is closer than you may think.”
Reviewed August 16, 2010

I celebrated my birthday at Tanagra with some close friends and stayed at Hill Cottage which is just such a lovely space set away from the main buildings on a hill overlooking McGregor. Anette and Robert came to South Africa from Germany to live their dream and relocated to McGregor. They are the most unbelievable hosts and made us feel a part of their family. Anette's German breakfast was a gourmet delight and almost everthing served at the table was made specially for us including the breads, jams and pate's.
Their wines are extremely quaffable and Robert makes a style of grappa in different flavours such as lemon and apricot plus many others too.
Tanagra is an unpretentious place with a wonderfully livable decor style and a few days here will put life back into perspective

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenlaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
151
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

This was our first visit to the town of McGregor and I cannot think of a better place than Tanagra to explore it from. We stayed in Hill Cottage which is an absolute must. Nothing better than going to sleep with the sound of the crackling flames of the fireplace and waking up with the sounds of abundance of bird life.

Our hosts were wonderful, friendly and very knowledgeable.
Be sure to try their wines and grappa!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephanCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

We spent four days at Tanagra Wine and Guest Farm for my husband's birthday. Anette and Robert are the perfect hosts! We were treated to the World Cup soccer games on the bigscreen in the cellar with lovely gluhwein and Robert's pride, Chardonnay Grappa.
The cottages are beautiful with king size beds. There is a small kitchen,a living area and lovely bathroom. In summer you can lounge next to the pool. Anette was very helpful with a reservation for my husband's birthday and what a treat that was!DO NOT MISS KAROUX.. Anette, you will hopefully see us soon! Danke schön and Auf Wiedersehen!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TessOfDurbanville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregory707
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2010

I had a realxing time on the farm, dividing my time between exploring the farm and the village. All amenities at the farm were to my liking. I did the self-catering option, so cannot comment on the food. Thought the bathroom mirror is placed too high on the wall for most ladies, but could not fault anything alse. All was clean and modern and comfortable. The hosts are the right sort of people: you feel you want to be there because of them. I look forward to returning one day.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregory707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna Western Cape
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2010

This was our second visit to Tanagra. Our first visit included a few nights at Hill Cottage followed by a further period at the Bottlebrush apartment. In both cases accommodation was very comfortable, with beautiful mountain views and abundant bird life. Congratulations to our hosts Robert and Anette for creating a truly relaxing environment.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SchatziSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2010

We spent two nights at Tanagra wine farm and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The accommodation is basic but very comfortable and the farm is peaceful and rejuvenating. Annette's breakfasts really are amazing!

Watching the abundant variety of birds and star gazing by the pool at night was so rejuvenating. The perfect fuel for mind and soul.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikedCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2010

We enjoyed our time at Hill Cottage - it was our 3rd wedding anniversary & everything was perfect - they even made a booking for us at a very romantic restaurant in town.

If you are laid back, love beautiful surroundings and nature (especially birds) then this is the place for you. It's spacious and beautifully furnished.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romanticathearttoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McGregor
1.0 mi away
Lord's Guest Lodge-McGregor
3.0 mi away
Old Village Lodge
Old Village Lodge
#1 of 7 in McGregor
366 reviews
10.9 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Fountain Place Guesthouse
3.2 mi away
Cape Cottages McGregor
Cape Cottages McGregor
#3 of 9 in McGregor
104 reviews
13.6 mi away
Orange Grove Farm
Orange Grove Farm
#2 of 24 in Robertson
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanagra Wine + Guestfarm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanagra Wine + Guestfarm

Property: Tanagra Wine + Guestfarm
Address: Vroljkheid, McGregor 6708, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > McGregor
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in McGregor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanagra is an idyllic wine and guest farm with character in the McGregor Valley providing a stylish and yet authentic countryside experience in upmarket and tastefully furnished accommodation (Self Catering and B&B)for the wine and nature lover. Relax under the magnificent old wild fig tree in the garden or at the pool, watch the birds, which are there in abundance, stroll along, swim or go fishing in the big dam, go for anything between a leisurely walk in the vineyards or the veld to a more serious hike in the adjoining Vrolijkheid Nature Reserve. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing