We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McGregor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tanagra Wine + Guestfarm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Faraway cottage is absolutely gorgeous! Set out amongst the hills with just the birds and the animals.

Anette and Robert provide guides and maps for hikes and cycling routes, great recommendations for restaurants (tried Karoux and Mo & Rose) in the area and a fun selection of boardgames for the days you want to spend at the cottage - and believe me, there were plenty of those! You don't want to move! The bed is so comfy, the bath is so spectacular!

As it was winter though the bath water stayed about lukewarm and the gas heater had been run out by previous visitors. However, Anette was incredibly helpful, especially that her husband was unexpectedly away!

Of course we had a tasting too! The grappas are strong to say the least but interest the palate. I highly applaud the wines - especially "Heavenly Chaos"! The Shiraz was beautiful too (bought a bottle to open in a celebratory year) and the Carah was a perfect balance of Shiraz and Cabernet Sauvigon.

Really spectacular all-round! Gorgeous views, warm blankets, awesome bathtub and lots of relaxation and fun! This place is a MUST!!!

Thank you Anette (=

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tal22lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 217 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at Tanagra in one of the garden cottages. We loved the tasteful decoration and attention to detail. The private enclosed braai area led onto the pool and garden and although we could hear the traffic from the road it was very tranquil. A problem with the geyser meant we had to wait quite a while for hot water, however the owners generously warmed us up with a bottle of their bottle Grappa. Although it was cold the fireplaces and heaters kept us snug and warm. There are lots of accommodation options - we will definitely be back. Tanagra is a short drive outside of McGregor. Be sure to stock up on food if you are self catering and there is very little to buy in Mc Gregor. The Saturday morning market is all over by 9.30am so get their early! A resident who saw our disappointment that we could not buy fresh bread in town handed over one of her loaves that she had brought earlier at the market! So thoughtful! The town is very welcoming to visitors. The Karoux is apparently good for very fine dining. Otherwise Tebaldis at the top of the road offers very good food and excellent prices.

Room Tip: Lots of different options so be sure to ask which room will best suit your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen312659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I wish that this secret was mine to keep forever....What a wonderful place. Well run, value for money and generally an amazing place to vanish for a tranquil holiday! The cottages are always clean and tidy, the facilities are fantastic, the wine is very good, and the location....is just spectacular.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We had a fantastic stay at Tanagra Hill Cottage. The cottage itself is tucked away on a hillside with great views over the Robertson Wine Valley hills, and more immediately Tanagra's Shiraz vineyards and Karoo scrub. Cottage is well-appointed and very comfortable, with lots of nice touches e.g. the plunge pool, shower window with a view, an excellent folder with practical advice on things to do and places to go in and around Mcgregor. Robert and Anette are great hosts, very friendly and with plenty of good advice on the local area. And, of course, they make excellent wines and spirits. We are very much hoping for a return visit at some point.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ibu7979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We had THE most blissful four nights at Faraway cottage at Tanagra farm. The accommodation is perfect, everything so well-thought through, so tastefully done and the setting absolute perfection. The bath in the main room has to be seen to be believed - I thought I would never get my girls out of it. Its for those who want to change pace and slow down, you can see nothing but fynbos, the mountains and at night gazillions of stars. So absolutely silent and tranquil, we all had a tech-detox and a real family bonding session.
Lovely wine and grappa tasting at the main farmhouse which is a 15 minute walk away from the cottage and you are less than 10 minutes by car from McGregor. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaReekie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We spent the easter weekend at the Faraway cottage. If you are looking for the most relaxing, luxurious yet comfortable accommodation getaway surrounded by nature, look no further. Truly wonderful, the location is excellent for outdoor enthusiasts, as we could go hiking and mountain biking from our doorstep. The plunge pool is so welcome in the heat of the middle of the day as are the hammocks which swallow you in as you look out at the vistas. The bathtub with a view is another luxury highlight.
The home was really built with functionality in mind. Anette & Robert are great hosts, their wines and grappas excellent and also worth a tasting. It is very isolated so ideal for privacy and pure relaxation. A lot of thought has gone into the cottage, as there is a hifi for music, a selection of board games, cards and books/magazines.
We cannot wait to go back to Tanagra in the near future!

Room Tip: Faraway self catering cottage is really the best option!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErikaCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We had a wonderful weekend in the Hillside Cottage at Tanagra. Anette and Robert are charming, highly personable, and just very good people. The cottage is sublime for a quiet romantic getaway. It's very tasteful and carefully put together. Just perfect for my taste. Can't wait to stay there again. And to buy more of their delicious wine and grappa!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hillside Cottage - it's away from everything, very quiet, in the vineyard, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surfnerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McGregor hotels
0 mi away
Lord's Guest Lodge-McGregor
0 mi away
Cape Cottages McGregor
Cape Cottages McGregor
#3 of 9 in McGregor
109 reviews
0 mi away
Old Village Lodge
Old Village Lodge
#1 of 9 in McGregor
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Le Bonheur Guest Accommodation
0 mi away
Fountain Place
Fountain Place
#2 of 9 in McGregor
107 reviews
0 mi away
Whipstock Guest Farm
Whipstock Guest Farm
#6 of 9 in McGregor
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanagra Wine + Guestfarm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanagra Wine + Guestfarm

Address: Vroljkheid, McGregor 6708, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > McGregor
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in McGregor
Price Range: $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanagra is an idyllic wine and guest farm with character in the McGregor Valley providing a stylish and yet authentic countryside experience in upmarket and tastefully furnished accommodation (Self Catering and B&B)for the wine and nature lover. Relax under the magnificent old wild fig tree in the garden or at the pool, watch the birds, which are there in abundance, stroll along, swim or go fishing in the big dam, go for anything between a leisurely walk in the vineyards or the veld to a more serious hike in the adjoining Vrolijkheid Nature Reserve. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing