We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a really enjoyable stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McGregor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tanagra Wine + Guestfarm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the garden room at Tanagra for 2 nights. The room was clean and had all the mod-cons we needed for our stay: great braai place, implements, wood, complimentary bottle of their own wine and everything you need for the kitchen for self catering.
The only thing it doesn't have is air con so beware of mosquitoes in summer.
Anette and Robert were very gracious hosts and very friendly and helpful.
They make a beautiful breakfast on the terrace with their own home made jams, breads, local cheeses and meats.
There are beautiful walks on the farm but it was to hot to walk, so mostly we hung out at the pool and walked around the village of McGregor. Had a really relaxing chilled out weekend and would go again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarryn222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 203 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

We finished a wonderful trip to South Africa on this wine and guestfarm and it was a relaxing and friendly place to stay. The hosts made us really welcome. The farm had many walks that varied in length and allowed for a relaxing day without further driving. We stayed in the Garden Cottage which had self catering facilities and an outside BBQ. Close to McGregor (by car) where there are plenty of places well worth visiting for food. Thank you Robert and Anette for looking after us so well.

Room Tip: Although we didn't stay in Faraway Cottage I certainly would think about if we return as it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

2 Nights in hill side cottage can't fail to raise your spirits. Delightful secluded cottage with spectaculars views over valley and mountains to be enjoyed from the veranda. Great walks on and off the estate into Vrolijkheid nature reserve with plant and bird life that impresses even the totally unintroduced. Helpful and kind hospitality; just wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanealle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed in Garden Cottage which had its own private setting next to the pool. A great place to relax and unwind. Accommodation was great with abundant bird life and great walks around the farm. Didn't want to leave - a definite must go back.

Room Tip: Garden Cottage is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Wow, if you want a get away that is perfect in everyway - Faraway is for you. My husband and I recently stayed there for 5 nights and we cannot wait to go back in the new year.
Faraway cottage is secluded in the midst of paradise. There are endless activities to do while there, cycling, bird watching, walks, photography, visiting the surrounding towns, grappa tasting, wine tasting to mention but a few. However, once there I must say I could have happily just sat on the porch with either coffee (morning) or a glass of wine (afteroon) and simply enjoyed the silence, views and karoo around me.

While there we had some hot days (30 degrees plus) yet the house is so well designed that the interior remains cool and comfortable. The views from every angle in the house are breathtaking.
The cottage is spotless and well equipped with anything you need. The fact that it runs on solar and wind power caused NO problems at all, as a matter of a fact it added to the holiday feel.

The hospitality from Anette and Robert made me feel as if I have known them for years.
Their pride in their beautiful farm filters through into the fantasic accomdation and overall experience.

I left Tanagra with a heavy heart and my camera card FULL of pictures.

Cannot wait to return.

Tanja

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I was very fortunate to find this treasure on the internet and what a treasure it is. I booked for 3 nights at Faraway as a surprise for my husband's 60th birthday. It truly is heaven on earth for those wanting to get away from it all and have total seclusion. Set amongst the fynbos with not another house in sight, Faraway is beautifully designed and we loved the chic, minimalistic décor. Very clever not to have any pictures on the walls because there is a stunning picture from every window!! The bedroom with the king size bed is the best with a bathroom with a view of note!! Hosts Anette and Robert were very warm, helpful and friendly and their wines and grappa's are delicious. We're already planning our next visit!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank molovesitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Beautiful cottage in a wonderfully private setting with 360 views of the karoo. Perfect for two couples. Definitely one of our new favourites - we will absolutely be back. September/October is a great time to visit, the veld is green and in full bloom.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin-Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McGregor
1.0 mi away
Lord's Guest Lodge-McGregor
10.9 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
3.0 mi away
Old Village Lodge
Old Village Lodge
#1 of 8 in McGregor
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Fountain Place
Fountain Place
#2 of 8 in McGregor
105 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cape Cottages McGregor
Cape Cottages McGregor
#3 of 9 in McGregor
107 reviews
13.6 mi away
Orange Grove Farm
Orange Grove Farm
#2 of 25 in Robertson
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanagra Wine + Guestfarm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanagra Wine + Guestfarm

Address: Vroljkheid, McGregor 6708, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > McGregor
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in McGregor
Price Range: $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanagra is an idyllic wine and guest farm with character in the McGregor Valley providing a stylish and yet authentic countryside experience in upmarket and tastefully furnished accommodation (Self Catering and B&B)for the wine and nature lover. Relax under the magnificent old wild fig tree in the garden or at the pool, watch the birds, which are there in abundance, stroll along, swim or go fishing in the big dam, go for anything between a leisurely walk in the vineyards or the veld to a more serious hike in the adjoining Vrolijkheid Nature Reserve. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing