We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect in every way!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McGregor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tanagra Wine + Guestfarm
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were lucky enough to stay at Faraway cottage for the long weekend in August and WHAT an experience. We love our weekend getaways and until now we thought we had discovered the best the Western Cape has to offer. Faraway is now our firm favourite - an absolute gem. Anette and Robert are very gracious hosts (and ther wine and grappa in fantastic too!).

I almost don't wish to share this find with anyone else but that would be selfish :). For those who are not partial to resorts and who love being isolated (in comfort!) Faraway is perfect. The house is beautifully designed and is ideal for winter or summer. The feel you get is of being completely immersed in nature since all areas of the house have huge glass concertina doors/double doors or picture windows that open to the outside.

Great hiking and mountain biking around the farm, and although we didnt try any ourselves great restaurants in the area if you dont feel like cooking. A bird watchers paradise with great hides in walking distance. Can't wait to be back there!

Room Tip: Both are exceptional, however the one with the double bed and bath has the most beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elsa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
145
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

From the minute we arrived we were welcome with such warmth and hospitality from Anette and Robert. Straight into a wine tasting afforded us a few bottles of the Heavenly Chaos which turned into many cases when we left. We treated ourselves to stay at Faraway, 3 days and nights of complete relaxation, hikes in nature, log fires, delicious baths and togetherness, really made for the most incredible much needed retreat that we were after. Now for the Eco designed house itself...so simple yet beautifully appointed from the well equipped kitchen to feather duvets, cosy blankets, heater, fireplace, hammocks to laze in and a lovely pool with stunning 360 degree views (although we did not use the pool this time as it was winter). A real treat to yourself and we definitely give Tanagra and Faraway cottage a 10 out of 10 if you are looking for a weekend away from the city buzz. Looking forward to our next visit in summer!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Before you go to Tanagra you must read "A Year In Provence" by Peter Mayle, again. It is a small wine farm that still makes real wine. The rooms are excellent. The new Far away cottage is the best. From it you can not see any human development as far as the mountains in the distance.

Room Tip: Book the Far away cottage if you do not be totally on your own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

My partner and I are regular visitors to self-catering cottages in the Western Cape, and I'm happy to say that Tanagra was definitely one of the best we've ever stayed at. Hill Cottage was stylishly furnished (not something one finds very often in this kind of accommodation), surrounded by beautiful views and spectacular walks. Anette and Robert were charming hosts and offered a wealth of information about activities on the wine farm and in the area. We look forward to visiting Tanagra again in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our two night stay at Tanagra was a wonderful experience from the minute we arrived. A warm welcome from Anette, Robert and Juup the dog. The accommodation was spacious and had everything required in our self catering cottage. Wonderful walks on the farm where we spent alot of time birding with Juup keeping us company. An abundance of birds all around.

Wine and Grappa tasting excellent. We will certainly return.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nancy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We came to Tanagra for 2 nights end of May and were deeply troubled not having the time to stay longer.....nice people, a charismatic dog and a breakfast bringing together the best of South Africa and Europe (most of it homemade). Robert and Anette managed us tables in the best restaurants of the region and organized private wine tastings on "hidden gem"-wineries (Arendsig) within minutes.....
Not to mention their unique Grappas and "Eau the vie"s - taste the lemon !
We will come back & stay longer

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wiwo29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Tanagra is a great place to get away for walks, wine and experiencing the charm of McGregor. Great views and friendly... including Juup the dog who took a great fancy to us because we brought him back some lamb shank leftovers from dinner at Tebaldi's in the town (more like one street village). We found it looking on the web for a place to stay near the Eselstjiesrus Donkey Sanctuary which I wanted to visit. Wine tasting and grappa tasting is great - red wine and about 10 different gappa which are truly fantastic - and a complimentary bottle of red called 'Heavenly Chaos' to sip during sunset looking over the grape vines sums it up. The wild fig tree is absolutely magnificent! It is huge! Your host and hostess are great - really friendly and informative (like the tip to go the McGregor market on the Sat morning which has to be smallest, quickest market ever... it starts 9ish and a hour later, if that everything is gone... olive oil, fresh bread, pate, home made pies, fresh veggies, honey... and loads more!

Room Tip: We stayed in 'Blue Gum' which feels a bit close to the road at night when you're sitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank des b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McGregor
1.0 mi away
Lord's Guest Lodge-McGregor
2.6 mi away
Fountain Place Guesthouse
3.0 mi away
Old Village Lodge
Old Village Lodge
#1 of 7 in McGregor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Cape Cottages McGregor
Cape Cottages McGregor
#3 of 9 in McGregor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
10.9 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
12.1 mi away
Bonnievale River Lodge
Bonnievale River Lodge
#2 of 10 in Bonnievale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanagra Wine + Guestfarm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanagra Wine + Guestfarm

Property: Tanagra Wine + Guestfarm
Address: Vroljkheid, McGregor 6708, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > McGregor
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in McGregor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanagra is an idyllic wine and guest farm with character in the McGregor Valley providing a stylish and yet authentic countryside experience in upmarket and tastefully furnished accommodation (Self Catering and B&B)for the wine and nature lover. Relax under the magnificent old wild fig tree in the garden or at the pool, watch the birds, which are there in abundance, stroll along, swim or go fishing in the big dam, go for anything between a leisurely walk in the vineyards or the veld to a more serious hike in the adjoining Vrolijkheid Nature Reserve. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing