We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great flavours”
Review of Springfontein Eats

Springfontein Eats
Ranked #2 of 32 Restaurants in Stanford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Lunch served at 12:30 pm Thursday thru Sunday Dinner served at 06:30 pm Wednesday through Saturday Set on a working wine farm, we keep things down to earth, in all senses of the word! Home grown and foraged herbs and veggies, locally sourced fish and meats. Throw the white gloves out the window, and keep all the flavour and finesse a Michelin starred team brings to the table! No BYO, as we have put together an extensive wine list, with South African boutique wineries, overseas gems, and our own Springfontein wines, including older vintages, so everyone should be able to find something special to appeal to their palate, and pair with their meal! We look forward to meeting you, treating you, and showing you what we are all about!
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great flavours”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Great food in every detail, flavours perfectly matching, you can taste that Jürgen Schneider has a long experience in high class cuisine

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank degraeju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    23
    14
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a wonderfull experience”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

good food, good service, very friendly but Susan left the restaurant without saying good bye. Nobody knows why!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank remhoogte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JandJWeber, Owner at Springfontein Eats, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Gentle Critic,

Thank you for your kind words - I am sorry it has taken me so long to get back to you regarding your visit to Springfontein Eats, and to apologise for Susanne leaving so suddenly. We had a very tragic accident with a staff member's child on the previous day, and on receiveing the news that the baby had not survived his injuries, Susanne took the staff member to his home in Stanford.

We do try to welcome and say goodbye to our guests personally, so we are sorry not to have been able to do so in this case, and do hope you will understand - This was a very sad time for all of us, and our thoughts are with the parents who lost their baby.

Warmest regards from the whole Springfontein team, and we hope to see you again!

Jennifer Packard Weber
Springfontein Wine Estate / Springfontein Eats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Offenbach, Germany
1 review
“A wonderful experience”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Having been here in former holidays already for wine tasting, I could experience this year the newly opened restaurant Springfontein eats.
A caring and attentive service makes you feel comfortable right from the beginning. Enjoying the view from the terrace with a glass of sparkling wine makes a good start for a culinary delight. Each of the courses was a highlight and I will surely return again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hossam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An experience not to be missed”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Springfontein is "unique". An unassuming country venue with food that is amongst the finest, globally.
From the friendly welcome, outstanding service, sensitivity to each clients requirements and food that can only be described by saying...."Go and experience"...it is worth the journey and the cost.

Well done all at Springfontein Eats, each visit requires another....

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 835traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best meal for us in South Africa”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Loved everything from the experience: the food, the place, the people. Yummy. Can't wait to return to Springfontein.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ckrinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Springfontein Eats also viewed

Stanford, Overberg District
Stanford, Overberg District
 
Stanford, Overberg District
 

Been to Springfontein Eats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing