We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal for us in South Africa”
Review of Springfontein Eats

Springfontein Eats
Ranked #2 of 32 Restaurants in Stanford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Lunch served at 12:30 pm Thursday thru Sunday Dinner served at 06:30 pm Wednesday through Saturday Set on a working wine farm, we keep things down to earth, in all senses of the word! Home grown and foraged herbs and veggies, locally sourced fish and meats. Throw the white gloves out the window, and keep all the flavour and finesse a Michelin starred team brings to the table! No BYO, as we have put together an extensive wine list, with South African boutique wineries, overseas gems, and our own Springfontein wines, including older vintages, so everyone should be able to find something special to appeal to their palate, and pair with their meal! We look forward to meeting you, treating you, and showing you what we are all about!
Orange, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best meal for us in South Africa”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Loved everything from the experience: the food, the place, the people. Yummy. Can't wait to return to Springfontein.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ckrinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    23
    14
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“gourmet and good but costly”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The food was perfect for me as I love lots of little, fancy courses. My husband enjoyed it but was less impressed as he likes a more hearty meal. The front of house greeting was effusive but it would have been nice to have a visit to the table also to find out how it had gone. The wine list was disappointing for me as there was only Sauvignon Blanc House Wine and no Chenin Blanc and I do not like the Sauvingnon Grape. Other possible wines were very expensive not served by the glass. Corkage charge rediculously high. This fact alone probably stopped us visiting again during our 5 week stay in Stanford. Food pricey too in an area where you can eat so well for half the cost. I believe lunches are much cheaper but Stanford is not short of good lunch places.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stupendous2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stunning experience.”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Recommended by our guest in de Kelders, we were apprehensive about the dirt road leading to it, but it was well worth the journey. The greeting, the service and the food were all quite fantastic. The German chef's Michelin star Is well deserved, his wife at front of house is utterly charming, and we rated it one of the best meals we had ever had.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply fantastic.....”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed for 6 nights in one of the cottages at Springfontein and were able to enjoy the restaurant several times. The cooking is highly creative and very tasty; together with plate decoration, the fantastic service and given the overall atmosphere in stylish rooms each time was a real treat.

We particularly enjoyed the easy-going and friendly service - not at all comparable to the sometimes stiff atmosphere you usually get in star-quality restaurants of this level.

Also, lunch on the terrace is a great idea due to the setting: wide views over the mountains across the estate in the remainders of a tastefully decorated old building.

And all this at very reasonable prices. We will definitely go again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Klaus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Sublime, unforgettable”
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Getting to Stanford is usually trouble enough, getting beyond Stanford up the dirt track to Springfontein farmhouse rather lowers ones expectations to the kind of "remote but charming" bistros that seem to now litter the valleys and dorpies of the Overberg; all exposed beams, soft kitsch and garrulous owner-chefs. Persist dear reader, persist. For at the end of your journey lies the shrine of what will certainly become one of the great culinary pilgrimages of Southern Africa.

I had no idea that a Michelin starred chef had landed in our midst... Shouldn't there have been fireworks from the union buildings? Fountains playing in the squares? red carpets? a day off school for children? Seemingly Jurgen and Susan Schneider arrived without fanfare or even a small press release. This understatement seems to be their leitmotif. They don't try to show off or brag but seem totally devoted to pleasing and flattering their guests. Something they achieve with charm and sincere warmth

The restaurant occupies an old farmhouse restored elegantly to reveal its past but with a subtle and restrained uptake on the present. I was reminded of the many Relais Chateaux gems one comes across in rural France. The high volumed thatch ensures a soft acoustic which means you can chat softly and gasp amazedly during your dinner without being deafened by the clatter-chatter of the kitchen or neighbours. A particular hate of mine as both hearing and tolerance decline each year.

The welcome from the young Paarl-born waiter (Shaun ?) seemed as sincerely excited to be helping us as we were to be helped by him. Expect no tightly-clenched flummery of the French school, nor the tediously insincere perorations of the "divaahn, awesomefullness" of the capetonian bimbettes. Here is a young man supremely confident of the cuisine and wines he is about to serve and describes as simply and unpretentiously as one needs to make a decision and retreats. The poetry comes when the dish is served. I LOVED that.

And utterly confident understatement is really the seam of ore that runs through the whole place. Chef Schneider has obviously already made all the mistakes he is ever going to make and as each dish arrived, flawless, nuanced, elegant, perfect it was all we could do not to cry. This is a man who no longer has to try to impress; no 15 ingredient dishes, ludicrous combinations or contrapuntal combos. Just local seasonal crops prepared as only 20 years of experience, pure talent and dedication to the art of flavor can achieve. The result is honestly breathtaking.

Menus are a brief description of only the main ingredients and don't even mention the stellar chef's name! And you are given the option of 4 (R390), 5 (R590), or 6 (R590) courses paired with their own estate varietal wines.

This restaurant takes cuisine to a new level in South Africa and in unquestionably the best meal I have eaten this year.
Frankly, who cares how remote it is? If you can afford to fly down to Cape Town, hire a car and drive the dusty road through Stanford simply to have the chance of dining here just once. Your really should. Really, you should. You'll thank me for it.
And do it soon, as I am guessing you won't be able to get a table when word gets out next season...

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Springfontein Eats also viewed

Stanford, Overberg District
Stanford, Overberg District
 
Stanford, Overberg District
 

Been to Springfontein Eats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing