We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Havercrofts

Havercrofts
Ranked #1 of 32 Restaurants in Stanford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

What a fabulous find. Havercroft's is an absolute must for anyone visiting anywhere vaguely near the Stanford area. Unfortunately time only allowed a quick lunch en route, but the food was absolutely delicious, the scenery is stunning and Innes makes the entire experience complete. We will be back!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claudia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    20
    4
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“An Absolute Pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

What can I say - we had the most delicious three course lunch - from the signature Kidney starter to amazing mains and superb fudge ice Cream and Profiteroles - all prepared and looked after by Brydon and the ever entertaining Innes. Having waited about two years to finally get in the experience met all expectations and more!

WILL CERTAINLY BE BACK

Ralph. Milton - JHB

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ralph493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“NEVER FAILS to impress!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

I returned to this gem of a restaurant after being away for more than a year. The consistency of the food along with the service and venue is why this husband and wife team preside over one of the highest rated establishments in the Western Cape and #1 in Stanford.

Stanford, and the Overberg in general, have rightfully embraced the farm to table concept of fresh and seasonal produce and meats prepared using the finest traditions. There is no doubt that Innes and Braydon have contributed as pioneers to a sustainable concept that made a lot of sense to them years ago. As a result, they set a very high bar for all that follow.

Local gruyere soufflé, Kudu Steak cooked to perfection and profiteroles to die for...need I say more?

We'll be back!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeyQuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Christmas Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

My son, daughter and I had Christmas Lunch at Havercrofts last year. It was an experience of a lifetime! The setting is perfect 5 minutes drive out of picturesque Stanford, with a charming, restful view of horses grazing in a paddock, with the majestic Kleine River Mountains in the background. The welcome was warm , friendly and festive, and the restaurant was filled with happy guests. We had a table outside under green, cool vines which was perfect. We had the Roast Pork and all the trimmings, and all the food was fantastically presented, and very tasty. Lots of farm vegetables, and a fresh garden salad complimented the main course.
I would definately recommend Havercrofts to anyone wanting a country dining experience, and think it is time we visited there again soon !

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LinMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Guaranteed entertainment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

You will never be bored during a lunch at Havercrofts. There is not dish on the menu that will let down your taste buds - everything a wonderful mixture of avant garde meets home cuisine, but most importantly, the entertainment value provided by the 'larger than life' 'front of house' Innes is to be experienced again, and again and again. Oh Innes - don't ever go quiet on us. Your wit - your attention to detail - your ability to persuade us to drink yet another glass. Thank you yet again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bigtreeSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havercrofts also viewed

Stanford, Overberg District
Stanford, Overberg District
 
Stanford, Overberg District
 
Stanford, Overberg District
Stanford, Overberg District
 

Been to Havercrofts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing