We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Imaginative, friendly, delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Havercrofts

Havercrofts
Ranked #2 of 32 Restaurants in Stanford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Over Kellet, United Kingdom
1 review
“Imaginative, friendly, delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

I cannot recommend this place highly enough - the menu looked so good it would have been worth going several days in succession simply so that I could try everything on the menu. The owners are delightful and I can see why this place came so heavily recommended by friends.

The service was impeccable despite the weather being a scorcher on the day we went, and the views and general setting are picture-perfect. The place has a very rustic, friendly, laid-back feel to it which is a welcome contrast to the modern, clean lines of many of the newer restaurants in the Cape Town area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank christ0pher_r0bin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    20
    4
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stanford, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best lunchtime venue in Stanford”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

To-die-for good-looking chef and grumpy wife. Only for people that have an excellent sense of humour!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BasilBea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
“Havercrofts equals have-an-amazing experience!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Living in Cape Town, we had heard about this restaurant Havercrofts in Stanford, and hence made it our mission to go there! We absolutely loved the experience and have since been back several times! You are greeted by the lovely and bubbly Innes, whilst Brydon prepares mouth watering meals in the kitchen!

The food - amazing! Fresh produce from the surrounding areas ... I highly recomend the pork belly!

Good for both winter and summer days .... in summer we've sat out on the terrace over-looking the beautiful views of mountains and rolling hills. In winter, we sit inside, warm and cozy with the fire roaring away in the background!

Great experience, I would definitely recommend Havercrofts and I most definitely would go back there again!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoniAx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The best in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

People now drive two hours from Cape Town to this stunning restaurant
The perfect days outing to the breathtaking views of Stanford
Only open at lunch time and well worth a visit
The food was stunning creative and delicious. You can take your own wine but there is a good selection if you prefer
The welcome you receive from the owner and front of house is the warmest you will experience in South Africa. The co owner chef and husband is Brydon a talented and imaginative cook.
It's well worth trying it out. If you go you will want to go again and again.
Our guest was so taken with the place that he asked to come back every day !!!!!
Try it. You will love it

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
113 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“LOVE IT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Visiting Stanford we researched the local restaurants and were pleased to see that there were a number of recommended eateries to choose from. Fortunately our hopes and expectations were met by the gregarious Innes and Brydon who served us an excellent meal. We loved the setting under the vines overlooking the valley and the mountains. The tomato tart was fabulous and my sirloin was cooked to perfection. We will be back!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havercrofts also viewed

Stanford, Overberg District
Stanford, Overberg District
 
Stanford, Overberg District
 
Stanford, Overberg District
Stanford, Overberg District
 

Been to Havercrofts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing