We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stanford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stanford Valley Guest Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Nice self catering stopover.
Rooms were not very clean.
Breakfast was a bit disorganized.
They need to control the flies!!,
Stunning views and nature...
Good to skip TV for a couple of days.
Could do with a nice swimming pool.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topons8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 68 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

Located about 45 mins from hermanus the Stanford farm is located in a beautiful and tranquil setting. The rooms are quite rustic in perfectly tune with the farm environment. The guest house is on a farm so that you can stroll down to greet the horses or watch the resident pig in its sty. Lovely experience. Highly recommended.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Sangeev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Warm welcome, lovely rooms, lovely staff!! Eric, the owner, is a lovely man! Absolutely stunning location, breath taking! Would (hopefully will) go back there and stay!! Family friendly place, my two nieces didn't even miss the TV! Thanks for a wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jusclack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed on the farm for a wedding which booked the whole farm for the event. The idyllic charm of the venue was outstanding and the rooms were clean, cosy and just right. It is self catering and shops are a short drive away although my room did not have a kitchen (others do). I would definitely visit again when back in SA.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkSweety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was really close to the wedding we had to go to very simple room with 3 beds, shower (it leaked a bit) bamboo ceiling was lovely, fantastic views of the mountains and no light pollution so the most wonderful view of stars I have ever seen. No catering so a fridge in the room would have been nice, the room was not serviced but for 2 nights this was not a problem. Do take your own drinking water, as in so many country places it is brown! Very helpful hosts happy to lend a hairdryer and give me use of an iron. South African rustic at its most charming.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were lucky enough to stay in a self catering cottage on the farm in September. The cottage 'Erica' was lovely , it far exceeded our expectations. A comfy bed , a beautiful bathroom with a courtyard and outside shower.. a kitchen , with a dining table and wood burning stove for warmth.
Our host was lovely , the farm and area itself are magical.. and we had a super weekend.... Thanks Eric !

Room Tip: The water here is full of Tannin... don't be suprised when your bath water looks like tea... it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiliFaerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Eins der neueren Cottages (wir hatten "Erica")
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HamburgFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stanford hotels
1.0 mi away
White Water Farm
White Water Farm
#2 of 12 in Stanford
120 reviews
1.9 mi away
HaesFarm
HaesFarm
#4 of 12 in Stanford
45 reviews
10.4 mi away
MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
#1 of 12 in Stanford
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Stanford River Lodge
Stanford River Lodge
#1 of 11 in Stanford
300 reviews
8.9 mi away
Springfontein Sleeps
Springfontein Sleeps
#4 of 11 in Stanford
19 reviews
11.9 mi away
MOSAIC Cottages
MOSAIC Cottages
#5 of 12 in Stanford
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Valley Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Valley Guest Farm

Address: R326 | 10 km from Stanford, Stanford 7210, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Stanford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Stanford
Price Range: $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanford Valley Guest Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically situated 10 km from the historic town of Stanford, Stanford Valley Guest Farm provides a restful and picturesque base from which to tour both the Overstrand and Overberg regions of South Africa's Western Cape. Close to Caledon, Hermanus and Gansbaai, there is no shortage of "things to do," but we have plenty of space for hiking and swimming in our large dam right here on the farm. Our accommodation comprises of a total of 19 en suite rooms of which 7 are self-catering. Our restaurant, Manor House, opened its doors November 2015 and is already a firm favorite on the culinary scene! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing