We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nee dankie Madres Kitchen :(”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Madre's Kitchen - CLOSED

Madre's Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Fabulously situated on the Stanford Wine Estate (on the R43 in Stanford), this organic vegetable garden kitchen was recommended to us by locals & was a fabulous find. A glass of chilled sauvignon blanc & a simple but excellent lunch whilst watching the coots play on the small lake in front of the kitchen. A rustic paradise situated between the whale watching at Hermanus and De Kelders.
cape town
1 review
“Nee dankie Madres Kitchen :(”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

After a recommendation to try the "well-renowned" madre's kitchen,we were greeted with impatience,served with irritation as well as an uncomfortable atmosphere with a few tearful staff members!!! not to mention the over-priced, bland "variety" of food. Thanks but no thank you Madres Kitchen :(

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank allisonbing01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    30
    8
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“The setting beautiful - the prices way too much for what you get!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We drove all the way from the Strand to experience the food of Stanford and also selected this restaurant because it was promoted as a children-friendly venue (we have two boys aged 2 and 4). Once we arrived we were very impressed with the setting, but we were surprised to see the menu written on one board, which had to be carried around for you to see. Surely they can afford more than one? I ordered the pickled yellow tail fish with potato salad and when asked about the children's menu, they told me, they only had one dish for them - a boerewors roll???!! We ordered this for them as we had no other choice for two hungry children. When their food arrived, the sausage (about the size of a R5 coin) was put into a bread bun and with four potato wedges. I asked her (the waitress) whether she thought that this was good value for R45? She said no, but there was nothing else to be done. I got my fish which was cold with the potato salad drifting in a heavy overpowering sauce - this for R120. I sent it back saying that they should warn you that it would be cold dish, as I really wanted a hot lunch, especially for that price! After sitting for another half hour of being ignored, no manager came to talk to us or offer us anything else, so we asked for the bill. I asked the waitress whethere there was a manager that day, she said yes and pointed to the lady who walked past us about a hundred times but chose to ignore us. So, definitely won't be going there again and won't recommend this place - especially not as child-friendly. It looks like they want to retire after a few months off their clients and are not interested in sustaining their business for the future.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anouka47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great choice for a tasty & relaxing lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Ate here a couple of times while in South Africa on holiday. The setting is very attractive, with gardens, a pond and small playground for children. We sat outside, but undercover, and ate two very tasty leisurely lunches over the course of a couple of weeks. Great wines to accompany the lunches. The food was simple, but with great flavour combinations, well seasoned and well presented: very enjoyable!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank GuyRJSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Portions very good but never thought I would get a restaurant that tell you that you can not get another option for eggs than scrambled because they are too busy? It's then the busiest time of the year surely you must get geared for the masses? Waitress that served table 6 also wasn't the friendliest.

Helpful?
Thank Liezelp1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
166 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Country eating at its best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

On a good weather day the setting of this restaurant is quite magnificent on the verandah looking onto the large Duck pond filled with large Koi fish with the Overberg Mountains in the back ground.
The menu is brief but has sufficient variety to cater for most. We had 4 different dishes which were all prepared to perfection and well presented.
This is a very good option should you wish to lunch in Stanford.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MES196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madre's Kitchen also viewed

Stanford, Overberg District
Stanford, Overberg District
 
Stanford, Overberg District
Stanford, Overberg District
 
Stanford, Overberg District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing