We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent graze breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Graze Slow Food Cafe

Graze Slow Food Cafe
Ranked #6 of 32 Restaurants in Stanford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Locally sourced and seasonal menu
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent graze breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We have been planning to visit Stanford and eat at Graze for a few months and today was the day. Well worth the wait and it hopefully won't be too long before we visit again. I had the omelette with the best tasting fresh tomatoes I have ever had. The others had full breakfast and were not disappointed. The bread freshly made and everyone said extremely tasty. Fresh veg for sale so we came home with some of those tasty tomatoes, bread and gorgeous fig, rhubarb and ginger jam. Already half the jar finished with fresh pancakes on our return after a lovely sojourn around the area. We will have to visit for dinner as if the breakfast is anything to go on, dinner will be divine.
Thanks Tabby and Alex - a lovely morning spent eating :-)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabby R, Owner at Graze Slow Food Cafe, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
So glad you finally made it to Graze! Our Wednesday Morning Market is proving to be very popular with the Stanfordians so its great to see visitors coming all the way from Hermanus too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    28
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Curiouser and curiuoser”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

I didn't realize when booking a table here that it involved sharing one with complete strangers :) Although we were all initially a little taken aback (they obviously also didn't know this!) it made for an interesting and entertaining evening. I'm putting this in my review just so others are aware of it.

The food is really good, with the rabbit and prawns being voted the best of all. The menu is small but it's all so good that the choice is agonising which means you have to go back another time to try something else.

A relaxed, small venue with pleasant service, good local wines and an inviting atmosphere. My best moment was when they casually said we could pay via eft a few days later if we didn't have sufficient cash. Do remember, they don't have card facilities so be prepared.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabby R, Owner at Graze Slow Food Cafe, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thanks so much for your review and for joining us at Graze. Yes the rabbit is a popular menu item who would have thought? Customers do sometimes have to share tables as we try to accommodate everyone however i do try to inform people when they book that this may be the case. Sorry you weren't given notice but glad you enjoyed the company!
Hope we see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Small menus are great and fresh food I understand but don't run out before the restaurant is half full!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Slow food,Small menus are great I understand but don't run out before the restaurant is half full! And then only have the usual run of the mill hake and steak as other main course alternatives
This is the second time this has happened at Graze won't be back

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielR77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabby R, Owner at Graze Slow Food Cafe, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thanks for your review. Its customary and considerate to book in advance to allow us to plan our menu and minimize wastage. We do always try our best to accommodate walk-in customers but give preference to people who've booked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Well worth grazing here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We were lucky enough to grab a last minute table at Graze on Friday last week and were delighted. The restaurant was fully booked but Tabby offered us an outside table and even invited our friend's dogs along! I loved the small touch of having throws over the chairs which you can use to keep yourself warm as the evening gets cooler.
Alex gave us a very relaxed and helpful front of house service... checking to see that we had all we needed. Tabby's food is lovely - just a small, but interesting menu. I strongly recommend the home baked bread, slow cooked rabbit and the frangipane tart with sour fig ice cream!!!
Tabby and Alex should be rightly proud of the restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelsimeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabby R, Owner at Graze Slow Food Cafe, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
So glad we could accommodate you (and the dogs). Luckily you came early because the Rabbit was quite popular. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay and please come visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Where fine dining and the farm kitchen meet.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

I know a place is my type of restaurant when I want everything on the menu. I love that feeling of gleefully wrestling with the delicious choices - I mean how do you choose between honey-sesame'd kobejou and rabbit stew ! ( I chose the rabbit, which was too delicious for words - who knew polenta was so yum).

What I love about Graze is that they source most of their ingredients from in and around Stanford. The rabbit is either from their farm or one down the road, the Palma ham around poached Stanford figs that i had as a starter was smoked up the road too ! A lot of the veggies are grown on the farm where owner/chef/manager team Alex and Tabby live. Even the breakfast bacon is Stanfordian (is that a word?)

This local feel spills over into the warm family feeling of the space. You kind of feel like you're in Mom's farm kitchen.( if mom had a farm and knew how to cook like a god)

Another good indication of the quality of the food is the heavy contingent of locals. Some arrive for breakfast ( have the omelette ! ) and stay right through to lunch and beyond.

This is quality, intimate, real, slow, local food. Only open Friday evening and Saturday for breakfast and lunch, so booking is a must.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cape_storm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabby R, Owner at Graze Slow Food Cafe, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank for your your review, we're so glad you had a wonderful eating experience at Graze. See you again soon! xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Graze Slow Food Cafe also viewed

Stanford, Overberg District
Stanford, Overberg District
 
Stanford, Overberg District
Stanford, Overberg District
 

Been to Graze Slow Food Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing