We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem close to Stanford on Hermanus lagoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We came across this wonderful place, home of The Spookhouse, a recently renovated guest house, cottages and restaurant situated close to the water's edge of the lagoon. Excellent service from the ever friendly Jennifer, who handles reception, waitress, barman.
Nestled under the huge and majestic milk wood trees, individual tables spread out amongst the trees provides privacy and superb views.

Short menu with a good selection of tasty eats offering excellent value.
It's worth a trip even just to have a drink, some tea of a quick meal.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank AndrewCTKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhereWildThingsAre, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you Andrew for coming to Mosaic to enjoy our cottages, tasty food and beautiful setting of the 1892 Spookhuis on the edge of the Hermanus Lagoon. Also for taking the time to write us and let us know you found Mosaic wonderful, especially commenting our our Team member, Jennifer. Since Mosaic is just over a 2 hour drive from Cape Town, we hope to see you again very soon, perhaps to try out our luxury Lagoon Lodge.
Kindest Regards,
Kathryn and the Mosaic Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 344 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2014

Just returned from a relaxing stay at Mosaic, and absolutely loved it! The staff was very accommodating and the property is so beautiful. The atmosphere is very peaceful, and there are plenty of activities to keep you busy if you so choose. My favorite was taking quad bikes down to a beautiful secluded beach. My boyfriend and I stayed at one of the self catering cottages for 2 nights and at the lodge for one evening. We had a wonderful experience at both! The cottage was very spacious and equipped with everything we needed and more. The cottages would be a great option for families or for couples wanting a full kitchen and extra space. The lodge was really unforgettable. So tranquil and private. Our room was fantastic and included a large bed, nice porch with a sitting area, mini fridge, huge bath tub, and private outdoor shower. Everything down to the bath products were top notch. The food was really amazing and exceeded our already high expectations. The chef at the lodge is so talented! After returning from a delicious meal, we came back to our room to find the bed turned down and a lovely bath drawn. I can't say enough wonderful things about Mosaic's location, accommodations and staff. Suitable for a romantic couples getaway or a family affair. Would absolutely recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hrs5704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhereWildThingsAre, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you so much for staying at Mosaic and your great review of both Mosaic's Lagoon Lodge and Mosaic Cottages. We are so happy you had a wonderful experience at both (two very different accommodations) and enjoyed our fun activities. And that you loved our food and little details that make our guests' stay special. We call it "lagniappe", a little something extra. We hope to welcome you to Mosaic again soon.
Kindest regards,
Kathryn and the Mosaic Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed at Lagoon Lodge at Mosaic Private Sanctuary for 3 nights in September 2013. The weather was turbulent prior to our arrival. The 10 km approach on the unpaved public road was full of potholes and in a small rental car this travel was stressful. We arrived earlier than expected – before the ‘park at the Spookhuis’ – sign was posted and the last km from the unpaved road to the Lodge had potholes unlike any I had ever driven over/around before, and this road is narrow. I have never heard wind as fierce as that during our first night – no doubt amplified because the bungalows have thatched roofs. The winds were high during our entire stay so there was no sunset lagoon cruise or quad bike rides. Picnics were out of the question. Although the pool was heated, the temperatures in September combined with the winds made it difficult to enjoy a plunge although my husband did manage a few minutes in the water. We tried to have a glass of wine in the sunshine by the pool but the winds made that effort futile and we retreated back inside.
But we would return to Lagoon Lodge in a heartbeat. The main lodge and individual bungalows are beautiful. The view of the lagoon and mountains from our deck was breathtaking. I loved the outdoor shower and even with the wind it was a much enjoyed luxury. The pellet stove in our room kept us warm; the bed was comfortable and toasty with a comforter and electric blanket. The mosquito netting draped around the bed at night just added to the African ambiance. We did get to enjoy a sunset drink at Walker Bay. What an absolutely beautiful beach with tall sand dunes and crashing waves (it was windy). All of this would bring us back but by far the standout was the staff. Amber the manager and Johan are wonderful conversationalists making us feel like part of the family. How enjoyable it was to meet the chef and discuss the dinner choices. The roasted tomato soup still ranks as one of the best ever. The property is beautiful, the food is wonderful, and the staff is top notch. The only unknown is the weather and even that didn’t detract from our unforgettable stay at Mosaic Lagoon Lodge.

Room Tip: Kingfisher, it was grand!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nrb0816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhereWildThingsAre, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

We are so delighted to know that you enjoyed every part of your unforgettable stay at Mosaic Lagoon Lodge, even though the weather did not cooperate. The pellet stoves are a new addition to our Lagoon Lodge rooms and love by our guests. And we are so happy to announce that we have a new road to Lagoon Lodge! We hope you will return to Mosaic for sunshine and beach and boat weather.
Kindest regards,
Kathryn and the Mosaic Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed in one of the self catering cottages for night only (11th-12th January 2014). Our experience was very disappointing. The service was unprofessional, especially at the check in when the manageress came out of her office to chat to her staff member and not even has greeted us while we were busy filling out the forms. No one communicated to us whether verbally or by means of a pamphlet of what the attractions in the area are, where to eat, what to do etc. For a self catering accommodation the facilities were not good at all and in my opinion they need to be upgraded and modernized to match a 5* rating. Also the breakfast came half an hour after the time we have asked for it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karolina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhereWildThingsAre, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Karolina. Thank you for letting us know the details of your stay. We are deeply concerned and apologize, as this is not the standard that we strive for here. The management and I are looking into every detail.
We hope you will try us again and perhaps stay at our Lagoon Lodge, and be totally pampered. Lagoon Lodge is our 5 star facility.
Kindest regards,
Kathryn and the Mosaic Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Being from the area we are quite used to seeing the beauty around us. But after our visit to Mosaic Lagoon Lodge we appreciate it so much more. We decided to celebrate our 26th Wedding anniversary at Mosaic and it was amazing. The suites are beautiful and very well positioned it felt like we were there on our own. The morning we made some coffee and spent time just sitting on the terrace listening to the sounds of nature. Our meals were scrumptious and the service 5*. The staff was so friendly and very attentive to our needs.

The only thing wrong was that we couldn't stay longer. Thank you Mosaic for making our 26th anniversary one to remember.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annelie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhereWildThingsAre, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Annelie, we are so privileged that you chose Mosaic Lagoon Lodge to spend your wedding anniversary! Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay - we are thrilled to know that you enjoyed such a special time at Mosaic. The Whale Coast is a beautiful area, and when at Mosaic the Overberg Mountains above the Hermanus Lagoon truly is spectacular. We all wish you a wonderful year and hope you will return to Mosaic Lagoon Lodge for longer as soon as you can.
Kindest regards,
Kathryn and all the Team at Mosaic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We were greeted by Amber with a warm welcome upon our arrival to Mosaic. My children and I had two cottages, both were immaculate, had gorgeous interiors, and breathtaking views from our private decks. Although the weather was not wonderful, and our scheduled shark cage dive was cancelled (due to the weather), Johan and Amber gave us many alternative activities to do while there. I opted for a massage, my children went for a hike, then quad bike riding with Johan. Also, we are vegetarian, and the chef went above and beyond accommodating us, and making us magnificent meals. All of the staff we encountered during our stay were delightful. We regretfully were only here for two nights.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhereWildThingsAre, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thank you so much Julie for staying at Mosaic's Lagoon Lodge, our all inclusive retreat. We loved having you and your family. We are so happy you enjoyed your room, your activities and food. Even if the weather does not cooperate there is much to do at Mosaic, especially relax with treatments at our Rain Spa! We are glad you explored. We hope to see you again at Mosaic for a longer stay and perhaps your shark dive will work out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed in the self-catering Milkwood 2 cottage at Mosaic Farms for 5 evenings. The setting is breathtakingly serene and peaceful. Cottages have all the amenities and are kept clean by housekeeping services. Baby cot provided had beautifully clean and crisp bedding. Braai area was cleaned every morning. Staff were helpful and friendly. Excellent place for families of older and young children. One drawback was a toilet in Milkwood 2 cottage which did not have proper airing but this did not detract from a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Anita,
Thank you for staying with us at Mosaic with your family and for taking the time to write! We are so glad to know you enjoyed the peace, serenity, beautiful surroundings and most of all our staff who go above and beyond to make our guests' stay wonderful. We love families and hope you can continue to make your selves at home here as your children grow.
The accessible shower was added to the bathroom in Milkwood 2, which is the reasons for the toilet being on the "inside". Thank you for noting this so we can look for a solution. I am sure we can find one.
Hope to see you again soon. Watch for specials on our accommodations and special events that we will have this year.
Kindest regards,
Kathryn and the Team at Mosaic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanford
5.8 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#2 of 11 in Hermanus
438 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
770 reviews
8.3 mi away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
MOSAIC Cottages
MOSAIC Cottages
#5 of 12 in Stanford
69 reviews
7.5 mi away
Bellavista Country Place
Bellavista Country Place
#2 of 11 in Stanford
99 reviews
8.7 mi away
Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
#1 of 1 in Grootbos Private Nature Reserve
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge

Address: Wortelgat Provincial Road, Stanford, Overstrand 7210, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Overstrand > Stanford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Stanford
Price Range: $392 - $567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MOSAIC LAGOON LODGE is one of South Africa's finest hidden gems on the famous Whale Coast, 2 hrs SE of Cape Town. On the Hermanus Lagoon with 4x4 beach access, Mosaic is a nature lover's paradise. Here you will be immersed in flowers and bird-life of the Cape Floral Kingdom with activities including: boat cruises, kayaking, beach excursions, quad biking and mountain bikes. Mosaic is centrally located for whale watching, marine tours, cage shark diving and exploring the Overberg Wine Region. LAGOON LODGE is private and secluded with just five safari-style suites. It is built within ancient milkwood trees on the edge of the Hermanus Lagoon with magnificent mountain views. A pampered stay here is fully inclusive of all meals, house beverages/wine/beer and activities. The Mosaic Rain Spa offers massage and skin therapies using only Rain Africa professional products. New in December: the Spa will offer Elemis facial treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing