We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I can see why Mosaic is a part of SA's Inspirational Places. The atmosphere is gorgeous and peaceful, and the staff are gracious. We had a very special experience relaxing by the lagoon, and quad biking. Convenient to shark cage diving and the beautiful vineyards of SA. You should go!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TEM17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much for writing us! We are so glad you had a relaxing stay at Mosaic and enjoyed our activities. Also that you had a successful shark dive!
We hope you will return to Mosaic!
Kindest regards,
Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    30
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
81
173
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

The all-inclusive resort made for great fun and a very relaxing vacation! That's because nobody has to be the bad guy saying no to just one more round of kayaking, quad biking or a trip to the beach. I took a wonderful nature jog right next to the lagoon and cooled off in the pool. The sunsets are enough to take your breath away. I couldn’t help but devour the excellent food; it was such a great variety every night. The staff was so sweet. They spoke to us as if they knew us all along, and I learned a lot about the South African culture from their heart-felt stories. Lunches at the Spookhuis under the Milkwoods were so relaxing and fresh. I could go on and on, but I suggest you just go see for yourselves. Amazing….

Room Tip: If you’re looking for extreme romance book at the lodge. If you are looking to take a family, consid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mw5wags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much for writing us, for the wonderful review of Mosaic and letting us know that you had a wonderful time. Since you stayed a over a week we were able to make sure you took in all our activities on Mosaic and in the whale coast and wine lands. Our staff loved getting to know you and they all look forward to your return! Hope to see you soon!
Kindest regards,
Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We visited Mosaic Private Sanctuary and so enjoyed its many "pieces." The property afforded us a luxurious lagoon view (always sprinkled with various bird species), as well as beach access by quad-bike (fun!). The accommodations were extremely comfortable and so well-appointed. We especially loved the serenity of our lagoon lodge safari cottage. The staff members were so anxious to make sure our stay was tailored to OUR interests. Also very apparent was the staff's respect for the environment and interest in preserving it. The Spookhuis offered a piece of local history, along with delicous lunch/wine pairings. Our candlelit dinners gave us a sampling of fine South African cuisine. Like a beautiful piece of mosaic artwork, all of Mosaic's "pieces" contributed toward making it an exceptional travel experience for us. Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ndenovo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Wow, I love your description of Mosaic as a beautiful piece of Mosaic art and appreciate your lovely comments of your experience and our staff!! It is also a "Mosaic" of our passions. We are thrilled that you enjoyed all parts of your travel experience and we hope you will return soon, and perhaps during whale season.
Kindest regards,
Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

It takes a bit of time to reach Mosaic but once there, it's well worth the effort! We stayed in a spacious cottage for 2 which had all we needed to cook a simple meal (and a big braai outdoors). We also ordered some food at the "Spookhuis" which was very good. Nature starts at the doorstep, with the lagoon nearby. We enjoyed some of the activities there and of course the sunset over the lagoon, with hundreds of birds, Ideal location to wind down and get into a holiday mood.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Inge K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at Mosaic, even though we are off the beaten track. We think that is part of what makes us so special! We are so happy to be able to provide food to our cottage guests and that you enjoyed the food, activities and bird life on the lagoon. We hope you will return and perhaps try our Lagoon Lodge, which has all meals, activities and house beverages included.
Cheers from all our staff.
Kind regards,
Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at Mosaic with our 2 year old daughter and had a truly wonderful time. The staff were so hospitable and made us feel so at home. The setting was also magical and views breathtaking. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We are so happy you had a wonderful time during your stay at Mosaic Private Sanctuary with your family! Hope to see you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Mosaic Private Sanctuary was everything and so much more we expected for our two night getaway to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. From the moment we arrived we felt so special and all the kind gestures and little details made our stay special and memorable. I said to my husband - If I lived to be a hundred years old, I will always remember Mosaic and Amber, Octavia, Johan and Jurie who played a part in it. A visit to Mosaic is something everybody must experience in their lifetime! Thank you so much. It will always have a special place in my heart. We stayed in the Lagoon Lodge and didn't even get to experience all the amenities, but the 4x4 and boat trip was so nice - despite the foul weather on the Friday, the service and food... a true 5 star experience! We hope to go back next year for our anniversary - and hope to see all the familiar faces still there. Thanks Amber for listening to my furchild rantings and for sharing this passion!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaCarstens1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you so much for writing about your wonderful experience at Mosaic Private Sanctuary! We have succeeded in our goal!! That is, making you feel so special while in our care - especially on your anniversary celebration! Thank you for staying at Mosaic to celebrate and we hope to see you soon.
Kindest regards,
Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed here in January 2010 and I have to say this is one of the best places I've ever been. The location is absolutely gorgeous. Amazing food and wine, incredible hosts, very close to the water and beach. There is nothing I can complain about. Stay here...you will not regret it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielSkiffington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for returning to Mosaic Private Sanctuary and for the wonderful comments! We are so glad you enjoyed our location on the water and by the sea, and our staff, food and wine. We hope you will return again and see our fireplaces that we added to the Lagoon Lodge rooms!
Kindest regards,
Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanford
7.8 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
5.8 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
8.2 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
MOSAIC Cottages
MOSAIC Cottages
#5 of 12 in Stanford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
9.5 mi away
White Water Farm
White Water Farm
#2 of 12 in Stanford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stanford River Lodge
Stanford River Lodge
#1 of 11 in Stanford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge

Property: MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
Address: Wortelgat Provincial Road, Stanford 7210, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Stanford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Stanford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MOSAIC LAGOON LODGE is one of South Africa's finest hidden gems on the famous Whale Coast, 2 hrs SE of Cape Town. On the Hermanus Lagoon with 4x4 beach access, Mosaic is a nature lover's paradise. Here you will be immersed in flowers and bird-life of the Cape Floral Kingdom with activities including: boat cruises, kayaking, beach excursions, quad biking and mountain bikes. Mosaic is centrally located for whale watching, marine tours, cage shark diving and exploring the Overberg Wine Region. LAGOON LODGE is private and secluded with just five safari-style suites. It is built within ancient milkwood trees on the edge of the Hermanus Lagoon with magnificent mountain views. A pampered stay here is fully inclusive of all meals, house beverages/wine/beer and activities. The Mosaic Rain Spa offers massage and skin therapies using only Rain Africa professional products. New in December: the Spa will offer Elemis facial treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing