We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Relaxing and wonderful stay”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at Mosaic with our 2 year old daughter and had a truly wonderful time. The staff were so hospitable and made us feel so at home. The setting was also magical and views breathtaking. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We are so happy you had a wonderful time during your stay at Mosaic Private Sanctuary with your family! Hope to see you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    30
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
84
176
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Mosaic Private Sanctuary was everything and so much more we expected for our two night getaway to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. From the moment we arrived we felt so special and all the kind gestures and little details made our stay special and memorable. I said to my husband - If I lived to be a hundred years old, I will always remember Mosaic and Amber, Octavia, Johan and Jurie who played a part in it. A visit to Mosaic is something everybody must experience in their lifetime! Thank you so much. It will always have a special place in my heart. We stayed in the Lagoon Lodge and didn't even get to experience all the amenities, but the 4x4 and boat trip was so nice - despite the foul weather on the Friday, the service and food... a true 5 star experience! We hope to go back next year for our anniversary - and hope to see all the familiar faces still there. Thanks Amber for listening to my furchild rantings and for sharing this passion!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaCarstens1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you so much for writing about your wonderful experience at Mosaic Private Sanctuary! We have succeeded in our goal!! That is, making you feel so special while in our care - especially on your anniversary celebration! Thank you for staying at Mosaic to celebrate and we hope to see you soon.
Kindest regards,
Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed here in January 2010 and I have to say this is one of the best places I've ever been. The location is absolutely gorgeous. Amazing food and wine, incredible hosts, very close to the water and beach. There is nothing I can complain about. Stay here...you will not regret it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielSkiffington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for returning to Mosaic Private Sanctuary and for the wonderful comments! We are so glad you enjoyed our location on the water and by the sea, and our staff, food and wine. We hope you will return again and see our fireplaces that we added to the Lagoon Lodge rooms!
Kindest regards,
Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We just came back from this most wonderful weekend getaway for a family with kids. We stayed in the milkwood cottage 3, which was perfect for us (2 adults and 3 small kids). The cottage was very spacious and well equipped and very good value for money. A cot for our baby was also provided. After we checked in we had a relaxing picnick by the lagoon (with a delicious cheese, cold meats, olives, homebaked bread etc. platter - also very good value for money as far as I am concerend). The kids could run around freely and climb rocks and trees, they absolutely loved it. In the late afternoon we took a boat-trip onto the lagoon and were spoilt with drinks and snack and the staff was really wonderful and very friendly. Sometime during the day my son spotted the "safari" vehicle and wanted to take a ride, so for the next morning a driver (sorry forgot his name) took us through the reserve onto the beach. The kids climbed the sanddunes and got hot chocolate and biscuits, what a treat! These activities are free for people who stay at the lodge, but understandably we had to pay for them. In the morning we discovered that the gas had run out (no hot water in the shower and no gas in stove) but his was sorted out very efficiently by the staff after we reported it. This morning I got a call from them saying we forgot one of the kids jackets in the cottage and that they will post it to us. How nice is that!
On the way out we also had a look at the lodge, which is beautiful as well, not as much free area to run around for the kids as the area by the Spookhuis, but a pool that is heated all year round! The family suit can fit two adults and two kids on matresses as well as a baby in a cot. After seeing the family suite the kids insited, that we should try the lodge next time.
We really love this place and will be back with some friends this winter still !

Room Tip: Milkwood cottage 2 and 3 are right next to each other, so for a romantic couple get-away I would rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CapeTownHasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
We are thrilled to know that you and your family had a wonderful getaway at Mosaic Private Sanctuary! Having children ourselves we know how important it is to have time and places to get away for quality time together (one of the reasons we do not have TV'S in our rooms - There are much better shows to watch outdoors in nature!).
We are also glad you enjoyed the additional activities, which are such a part of the whole experience at Mosaic. Being on the lagoon and with 4x4 access to the beach is what sets us apart and how we can make our guests' stays really special.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Mosaic at Lagoon Lodge or the cottages.
Kindest regards,
Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcudbright, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Fro the moment we arrived we felt that this was going to be something special and so it turned out. Every aspect of our stay (which was all too brief at 2 nights) met our highest expectations. The guides who took us on the walks and lagoon trip were both informative and amusing, then the chef spoilt us with her excellent food!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank maxwell b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write you great review of Mosaic Private Sanctuary! We are so happy you were able to relax in our beautiful surrounding in nature and enjoyed our staff, the walks and lagoon trip and our chef's excellent food.
We hope you can return for a longer stay next time (it sounds like two days were not enough)!
Kindest regards,
Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed as a family of 8 in the gorgeous self catering Duminy Cottage. It has the most humbling, breathtaking views and an incredible depth of light that doesn't seem real... The location is quite simply out of this world. You can enjoy the tranquil scenery from many vantage points as the place is loaded with verandahs and terraces. There is a charming 'rustic' quality to the place and we were very glad of the woodburner as the nights were chilly when we visited in April. If it were possible to buy this cottage I would!!

Room Tip: We thought that Duminy was by far the best option for self catering.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of Mosaic Private Sanctuary! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at the Duminy Cottage and the beauty that surrounds. We also never tire of the gorgeous late afternoon sunlight descends on the mountains in different colors!
We hope you will return soon to Mosaic!
Kindest regards,
Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
263 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and loved the huts, location, kayaks and sundowner trip. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The one downside is the quality of the food which is average to poor both in the Spookhuis and especially in the evening. The menu suggested restaurant quality that it just couldn't deliver which was a major disappointment given you are a captive audience and have already paid. If the food matched the beautiful setting and the price of staying here, this would be a 5* stay.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Lion_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your good comments about what you loved about Mosaic: the rooms, location, kayaks, sundown excursions, and friendly staff. I wrote to your partner who submitted a similar review to see if we can get more detailed information - it helps us to improve and train.
We hope to hear from you both and to see you at Mosaic at a future date.
Kind regards,
Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanford
7.8 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
672 reviews
5.8 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
407 reviews
7.9 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hermanus
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
MOSAIC Cottages
MOSAIC Cottages
#5 of 12 in Stanford
54 reviews
9.5 mi away
White Water Farm
White Water Farm
#2 of 12 in Stanford
107 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stanford River Lodge
Stanford River Lodge
#1 of 11 in Stanford
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge

Property: MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
Address: Wortelgat Provincial Road, Stanford 7210, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Stanford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Stanford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MOSAIC LAGOON LODGE is one of South Africa's finest hidden gems on the famous Whale Coast, 2 hrs SE of Cape Town. On the Hermanus Lagoon with 4x4 beach access, Mosaic is a nature lover's paradise. Here you will be immersed in flowers and bird-life of the Cape Floral Kingdom with activities including: boat cruises, kayaking, beach excursions, quad biking and mountain bikes. Mosaic is centrally located for whale watching, marine tours, cage shark diving and exploring the Overberg Wine Region. LAGOON LODGE is private and secluded with just five safari-style suites. It is built within ancient milkwood trees on the edge of the Hermanus Lagoon with magnificent mountain views. A pampered stay here is fully inclusive of all meals, house beverages/wine/beer and activities. The Mosaic Rain Spa offers massage and skin therapies using only Rain Africa professional products. New in December: the Spa will offer Elemis facial treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing