We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Baleens(Hermanus)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveler rating
304
37
8
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
304
37
8
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquad bikingmosaic farmoutdoor showerwhale watchingour honeymoonnature walkboat tripwalker baythe reservevery special placemagical placesee whalesvisited mosaicsouth africaattention to detailself cateringexceptional service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
277 - 282 of 352 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at Mosaic Sanctuary for 3 days 2 nights last week. It is a very special place. First, the drive down the coast to get there is an indication of what you will find. Beautiful mountains on one side and gorgeous untouched beach on the other. Mosaic in nestled in the bush with a lagoon and the mountains as the back drop. As for the service and meals they were super. The food prepared by Yuri, the chef, shows the feeling he puts into his cooking. Good local dishes complemented with fine South African wine. The Malva pudding was to die for.
The service is almost one to one. We were dropped off at the beach and toured the caves and walked 5km on the beach passing 2 fisherman and one other , that was it. We were met by the staff and 4 other guests for sun downer one the beach. The other guests did the Shark cage which they said was awesome. We would like to come back during whale season sometime to relax and enjoy. The accommodations were excellent and the outdoor shower refreshing. All of our need were attended to. Oh. The Spook House. What a beautiful renovation by the owner and serving wonderful lunch outside watching the unique birds.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigdadwangchung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you for writing about MOSAIC and letting us know you enjoyed your stay! It means so much for all of our team to know you enjoyed the food, setting and care you received while you were with us. We hope you were able to get a taste of the beautiful Whale Coast, and look forward to your return during whale season. It truly is spectacular to see these gentle giants in the sea with their young calves.
Hope to see you again soon!
Kindest regards,
Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Part of a group of 30 plus who attended a weekend Birthday Bash occupying the whole of the self catering cottage area from Friday to Monday, varying numbers of people each night.

The accommodation areas were of excellent quality for our requirements, the outside spaces including under the milkwood trees for the main celebration lunch exceded expectations.

The Staff and Management couldn't have been more helpful, including the Manager who arranged for my football mad husband to watch a live football match on sky telivision.

The setting is tranquil, with many facilities including quad bikes, canoes and swimming in the lagoon. (Beware of black feet afterwards, but fabulously refreshing.) You need to bring your own pedal bikes.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 487graham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

We loved hosting the birthday party! Thank you for being at MOSAIC for your special celebration and for letting us know you enjoyed your stay with us. I think our team had as much fun as you did and we were only too happy to accommodate the football match!
Hope to see you again at Mosaic.
Kindest regards,
Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We were able to spend only one night here during our honeymoon and it broke our hearts to leave so soon - we couldn't have asked for more in terms of a romantic, unique and wonderful destination.
The service we received was impeccable! Such attention to detail and the loveliest little touches that made all the difference! So much effort was put into make sure we had a wonderful stay!
Nkosana and Octavia impressed us so much, I really hope that their wonderful people skills are highly valued. We so enjoyed meeting them both.

The room we were in was stunning! The food was delicious. The range of activities available is great. And the beauty of the area is difficult to capture in words.

DEFINITELY want to go back! Extreme value for money, considering the pure quality of the experience!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Haley,
We are so delighted that you shared part of your honeymoon with us at MOSAIC Private Sanctuary and had a wonderful time! Thank you for taking the time to write and for the awesome comments about our staff, food, rooms and beauty of our place. We hope you will return soon for a longer stay. There is so much to do on Mosaic property and in the area.
Best wishes for a beautiful life together.
Kindest regards,
Kathryn and the Team at Mosaic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at Mosaic in December 2012, unfortunately we only stayed one night and would have loved to have stayed more. The Lodges are nestled on the edge of a lagoon, looking across to the mountains in a beautiful tranquil spot.The attention to detail in the rooms, the quality of service and the location are outstanding. We were met by smiling and gracious hosts and were looked after beautifully by Octavius, from the 4x4 beach ride and sundowners to the fire-lit dinner in the evening. Thanks, we'd highly recommend.

Room Tip: Our lodge overlooked the lagoon and mountains and was fabulous.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Caryl,
Thank you so much for your great review of MOSAIC Private Sanctuary in Stanford! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully you can return and stay longer next time. There is so much to do on Mosaic and in our area of the Whale Coast that several days is not too long! We are glad you were able to experience the secluded beach by us and the fire lit dinner.
Kindest regards,
Kathryn Johnson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My family stayed here for a night before Christmas. The location was easy to find and the road easily navigable in an ordinary car. On arrival our breath was taken away by the view and peace and quiet and everyone was extremely welcoming. The main area is charming and wooden with thatched roof, full of character and in keeping with the local area. Of all the hotels we stayed at in South Africa the attention to detail in the bedrooms and bathrooms was the best. Shawls for cold evenings, swimming towels, night lights by the huge bath, flowers on the basin, powerful and hot outside shower....all done with huge thought and planning. The staff were all delightful and helpful. Johann took us down to the dunes in his land rover and was extremely knowledgeable and amusing about the plant and wildlife en route. It was a fabulous way to see the sunset sitting on the beach with a glass of wine watching the seals. We could only imagine how spectacular it must be in whale season.
Once back at the lodge Jurie had prepared an amazing dinner for us with many choices and I find it hard to believe an earlier review that the food wasn't up to scratch. For us it was one of the best meals we had in South Africa and prepared with true dedication and skill. Octavio was extremely helpful and interesting and Amber very efficient too. The staff were absolutely top rate and the location, lodge, bedrooms and bathrooms out of this world. There is a super plunge pool looking out on to the lagoon and a wonderful terrace for breakfast and drinks. We could not fault this lovely place and I would thoroughly recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely with the same view.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3sisters3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

HI,
Thank you for your wonderful comments about MOSAIC! And we are so happy you enjoyed your time over the Christmas holidays. We really appreciate it when our guests notice the details, as they are there for you! Our staff appreciates knowing that they have served our guests well.
We hope you can stay with us again for longer and during whale season! It truly is a spectacular experience to be sitting on the deserted sand dunes, sipping wine and watching the whales play. The seals are also fun to watch.
Thank you also for your great comments about our food and we are so glad you enjoyed your meals! We use the term KIS...Keep It Simple. And always farm fresh!
Hope to see you again soon.
Kindest regards,
Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews