We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Baleens(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$501
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour House Hotel(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
$95
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windsor Hotel & Apartments(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
$97
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$200
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oude Schuur(Vermont)
$72
$61
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveler rating
308
37
8
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
308
37
8
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquad bikingmosaic farmoutdoor showerwhale watchingour honeymoonboat tripwalker baymagical placenature walkvery special placesee whalesvisited mosaicsouth africaattention to detailincluded in the pricenature reservemilkwood trees
Filter
Updating list...
290 - 295 of 356 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We spent 2 nights at Mosaic Private Sanctuary to celebrate my husband's birthday. From the minute we arrived until the moment we left we were treated to the best service we've experienced. The team are fabulous, the service was superb - relaxed, friendly, nothing too much trouble. The food - magnificent!
Quad bikes - first time but not the last! Lagoon cruise - to die for! The lodge - luxury, outdoor shower was just the best ever!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanWGala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Wow, we are thrilled you had a great time! Thank you so much for your comments about Mosaic Private Sanctuary and taking the time to share this. We are truly so happy you and your husband had a wonderful birthday celebration. And hope you will come back for more....quad biking, boat cruises, good food ...... I am so grateful for our comments on our team and the service they provide. We do have a fantastic team and appreciate everyone. It is nice for them to read about it!
Hope to welcome you back at Mosaic soon!
Kindest regards
Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were aimlessly driving west, and phoned at 6pm to see if there was space available. The staff stayed late to let us into our gorgeous cottage, and arranged a breakfast basket for us, all last minute. They were awesome. if I lived in SA, I would return again & again to this gorgeous location, with the unreal lattice work of ancient milk wood trees. It is superb, the staff only made it more special. With the Hermanus whales & Hemel-en-Aude wine valley such a quick drive away, it's a shame not stay at the Spookhuis on Mosaic Farm!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

We were fortunate to have you call! Thank you for staying at Mosaic Private Sanctuary, and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Describing the ancient milkwood trees as lattice work is perfect! We do have fabulous staff at Mosaic and as owners, we appreciate everyone one who contributes to making our guests' stay wonderful.
I am so glad you were able to experience the whales in Walker Bay and the delicious wine from the Hemel-en-Aarde Valley.
Hope you can return one day soon!
Kindest regards,
Kathryn Johnson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I stayed at Mosaic Farms, now Private Sanctuary, for one week in June of 2012 with a small group from the United States!

It was a fantastic stay and the staff was very hospitable and warm. After spending much time with the co-founder of Mosaic, Kathryn, I think I appreciated the stay even more! There has been so much care, love and detail put into this place. The rooms are gorgeous (the heated floors were an extra special touch), the food is wonderful (try the malva pudding) and the view is breathtaking.

Mosaic feels like a little community and I would highly recommend it for anyone looking for a get-away, vacation or retreat. I know I will return some day!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayanni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Dear Jayanni,

It was such a pleasure to spend time with you at MOSAIC and we are so happy you enjoyed your time as much as we did. All our staff sends their regards and we look forward to seeing you again at Mosaic!!

Enjoy the rest of your travels in Africa and we hope to hear about your adventures.

Kindest regards,

Kathryn and the staff at Mosaic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

What a lovely, tranquil area! We stayed in the self catering accommodation at Mosaic. The houses are very spacious, serviced everyday and furnished with everything you could need. The staff are extremely friendly. the Quad biking through the Fynbos in their reserve is an absolute must! Perfect place for a getaway to recharge your batteries!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErikaCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Dear Erika,

Thank you for choosing MOSAIC for your getaway and we are so happy you were able to relax in our cottages. That is why we are here and we hope you will come back soon! We hope you will treat yourself to our catered Lagoon Lodge... we will completely spoiled you.
From your other reviews of beer tasting, it sounds like you had a great time in Stanford. It is a charming village.

Hope to see you soon.

Kindest regards,
Kathryn and the staff at Mosaic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Their slogan says it all- it is most certainly a sanctuary on the lagoon.

We stayed at Lagoon Lodge and from the moment we arrived we experienced exceptional service,comfort and food.

The suites offer amazing views over the lagoon and mountains behind and it was a 'wow' moment when we opened the curtains in the morning. The outdoor shower and huge bath were most welcome and little touches like 'knitting bowl', turn down chocolates and putting the heater on were wonderful.

Every meal was superb and choice of local wines excellent.We also loved the excursions we got to experience. The nature walk was informative and quad biking lots of fun.

We will definitely be back and I can recommend this place for honeymooners, wedding anniversaries and those just wanting to get away from the rat race.

Thank you Mosaic Farm !

Room Tip: All Rooms have amazing views
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iJonty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

HI iJonty M,
Thank you for the wonderful review of MOSAIC Private Sanctuary! It is so great to know that you enjoyed our service (we are SO blessed to have wonderful staff!), the food and activities. AND the mountain views, but we cannot take credit for that - we just found that right place!
We look forward to having you back at Mosaic!
Kindest regards,
Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews