We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two weeks in an African Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Two weeks in an African Paradise”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

If you're looking for somewhere that is both relaxing and full of entertainment and activities then Mosaic Farm is the place to stay. I heard about it from a friend and thought I would give it a try. First off the service was excellent. Everyone there is very kind and helpful, they are more than willing to go out of their way for anything you need. Graeme was the guide for most of the activities and he made sure I had the best experience I could, cheers to him. The lagoon lodge is tucked in some trees and has a beautiful view of the lagoon and the mountains in the background. The rooms were very clean and spacious and I especially liked how the shower was set outside the room (with cover of course) so you could see all the amazing scenery. There are plenty of activities to do as well. I took a quad bike tour in the morning that takes you all around the farm with amazing views and in the evening we took a ride to their beautiful beach (which had some great dunes and the whitest sand I've seen) where we had appetizers and drinks. I would just like to add that we rode a unimog to the beach and if you don't know what that is I'll just say it's one of the COOLEST things I've ever ridden on. You can also rent kayaks and go around the lagoon or take the more relaxing route and take a sunset cruise on the pontoon with food and drinks. If you are a wine connoisseur then you will be more than pleased with the wines Mosaic offers or you can always go to a wine tasting at one of the many vineyards in the area. The cook there is fabulous and the food is very fresh (their vegetables are grown right on the farm), I was never disappointed with a meal. There are a few towns in the area with the closest being Stanford which was only a 10-15 minute drive. It is a very small but cultural town with a grocery store and a few restaurants. Hermanus is the big town you pass through before you get to Mosaic and is only a 30-40 minute drive. There are plenty of places to go there and the night life is fantastic. Gansbaai is the town past Mosaic and there is one main reason I went there: great white shark cage diving. It was one of the best experiences of my life and words can't describe the feelings you have when you're in the cage and maybe a foot away from a great white. I can't thank my friend enough for suggesting Mosaic Farm to me, it was truly the best trip I've ever been on.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jared W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Dear Jared,

Thank you so much for staying with us at MOSAIC and for your wonderful comments. It was awesome having you here for a few weeks - enough time to become family! It was truly a joy to have you at MOSAIC enjoying activities, dining, adventures, bonfires under the South African stars, and lots of music and laughs!

We are so happy your trip was better than expected and you were able to experience so much of what MOSAIC and the Cape Whale Coast is known for, especially since you traveled from far away. Also, so glad you loved the UNIMOG on the beach trip- That is a piece of history!!

We wish you blessings in your future endeavors back in Nashville.

With the warmest regards from all the Staff at MOSAIC.
Kathryn Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    30
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
84
176
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

I recently chose Mosaic to propose to my girlfriend and what an excellent decision it was, on arrival we booked in to the lagoon lodge and could immediately tell this was going to be special and very romantic, from a private picnic on pontoon boat anchored in the middle of the lagoon to our private dinner in front of our lodge it was just amazing :).

The food was awesome and the attention to detail really sets a benchmark, if anything you must visit Mosaic just to experience the fine dinning.

Following our romantic evening the next day we thoroughly enjoyed a quad bike ride to the Walker Bay beach and the high point of the farm – what a treat!

Just before leaving we enjoyed a cup of tea under the milk wood tree with some homemade crunches, all my new Fiancé could say was “I don’t want to leave”

Thank you to the management team and staff of Mosaic for making our weekend so special, perfect venue, perfect setting and great food.

We cant wait to come back.

Gary Edwards
[--]

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GaryEdwards_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear Gary and Nicky,

It is absolutely an honor for all of us at MOSAIC that you got engaged in our "private sanctuary"!! We are so glad you enjoyed the good food, activities, beautiful scenery and private settings. Breese and I were so happy to be able to spend time with you again and to meet (you) Nicky. What a gorgeous bride you will be!! And speaking of happy Gary, it is written all over your face and smile.

Our staff loved being part of making your weekend special. Thank you for sharing it with us and we also appreciate you taking your time to let us know you enjoyed your stay.

We are truly so happy for you and your families and wish you all the blessings in the world! We look forward to seeing you again at MOSAIC.

Sweetest regards from all the Staff at MOSAIC, and Breese and Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

It is a very relaxing place at the lagoon. The rooms are specious and the kitchen is well equipped. You can get some very good snacks (platter with cheese and biltong) but otherwise you have to cater for yourself (nice BBQ places).
The location is great for wine tasting tours.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hypercube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Dear Hypercube,

It was wonderful to have you back at MOSAIC Private Sanctuary-Hermanus Lagoon! And we are so happy you enjoyed your stay again. I believe the 1892 Spookhuis Cafe' and our wine cellar was new to you this time. From the Spookhuis, we are now offering breakfast baskets, dinner dishes, braai platters, organic vegetables from our garden and homemade baked goods to our cottage guests.

Also, if you want full service at MOSAIC (breakfast, dinner, activities included) you can stay at our Lagoon Lodge (this is in a different area than our cottages but also on the lagoon with beautiful mountain views).

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us. We hope to see you again in the future!!

Kindest regards,
Kathryn & Breese Johnson & all the Staff at MOSAIC

Hope we see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We made a tour through the Western Cape at the end of 2011 and Mosaic Farm was our first stop.

We booked Mosaic Farm since it seemed a wonderful place to relax after hectic weeks at work and it proved to be the best decision !

The drive from Cape Town International Airport took a bit less then 2 hours through the scenic Elgin region (hard not to stop, since they have great wines!). After passing Hermanus (busy at the end of December), you will have to go around Walker Bay Nature Reserve to Stanford, a little & quaint village and from here a further 7 km over a gravel road to Mosaic Farm.

The place is quite isolated : no other restaurants or bars around, but pure silent nature in extraordinary scenery ! The nearest supermarket and restaurants are in Stanford (15 minutes by car).

From the parking area at the back of the lodge, you walk over wooden pathways to the rooms and main building. When walking through the main building looking out towards the lagoon and the mountain range behind it, we were truly speechless : the view, the tranquility, the isolation, the birds... unbelievable ! The terrace here is the best place for sundowners.

There are 4 or 5 rooms/suites which are all in separate chalets. I think there is only one room which does not look right onto the lagoon, and that was ours : no problem at all, since our view was equally beautiful and it also offered a bit more privacy.

The rooms are very comfortable : rustic and romantic style with all comforts you'll need. We especially liked to glass front, which gives you an incredible view (again) and let's you feel really close to nature. Behind the bed, you will find other essentials like a mini bar, coffee making facilities, a safe, binoculars, a birding book etc. The bathroom has an inside section with a large bath tub and a separate toilet and an outside shower where only birds could see you.

Breakfast and dinner is served in the main building, which has also glass walls towards the lagoon... fantastic ! Here you will also find a comfy sitting area and an open fire... good place for chilly evenings in winter.
Dinner was a 3-course affair : quite simple but with the freshest and high quality ingredients, partly from their own garden : I remember we had (on our two evenings) a butternut soup, blesbok with home-grown cucumbers, salmon trout, and other tasty dishes.
Breakfast consists of a standard selection of cereals, fruit, juices, cheeses, meats and your choice of hot breakfast (eggs, bacon, tomato, beans... whatever you liked).

The activities were also just great : in the morning we went on a quad drive which included a picnic in a scenic setting (I liked the fact that the cook was there to put everything in place). In the afternoon (at 3 PM) we left in an open Land Rover to the beach, where Craig served us drinks and snacks... The beach is very natural and remote with white sand, a little dune and cold sea water (too cold for a swim though > not that this was our plan knowing that some kilometers further down the coastline Gansbaai, the 'capital of the white shark', was located).

All in all a truly wonderful place for relaxing, reading and exploring nature.... I am sure this place will become more and more popular, so don't hesitate !





Stanford is a cute little village, around 20 km from Hermanus, which has yet to be discovered by the international tourists. We visited Hermanus several times in the past years, but this time we got to know Mosaic Farm and are truly happy with our discovery.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SafariBart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Dear SafariBart,

Thank you so much for your review of MOSAIC Private Sanctuary-Hermanus Lagoon. We are all so excited to read your comments and know that you had a wonderful stay at MOSAIC and were able to relax from what sounds like a hectic time for you at work. But I am most impressed with your attention to detail and writing skills! Wow, we need you for our promotional material!

We truly appreciate you taking the time to give us your detailed feed back. It helps all of us know how we are doing so we can continue to serve our guests the best we can....... our goal! We do have amazing natural beauty at MOSAIC and love knowing you enjoyed your experience.

We will also watch your world travels as they are extensive. We hope to be able to welcome you back to MOSAIC in the future.

Kindest regards,
Kathryn Johnson & the Staff at MOSAIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Helpful and friendly staff, really good cuisine and personal treatment from chef. Fun outing to the beach through the Fynbos. Well appointed rooms, lovely indoor bath and outdoor shower which was a novel experience! Very pleasant and reasonably priced wine by the glass. Management also generously allowed me access to the office computer and Internet which was appreciated. Lovely place to relax and chill for a couple of days.
Julie
Cape Splendour Tours & Safaris

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank capesplendour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Dear Julie,

It is wonderful that you were able to visit MOSAIC Private Sanctuary-Hermanus Lagoon, outside of Standford. Thank you so much for commenting on TripAdvisor, and we are so glad you had a great time, were well fed by Wilna and enjoyed our staff! Our staff is awesome! Hope you saw some whales in the bay when you went to the beach and will return to MOSAIC soon.

Kindest regards,
Breese & Kathryn Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Mosaic Farm was the second location on our familymoon (honeymoon with 3 year old in tow) and was just stunning. The location is perfect with the lagoon and mountain to stare and stare at! The staff were all so hospitable. We were staying in the self catering Duminy Cottage so was not expecting it to be serviced - but housekeeping visited whilst we were out and made our beds. The outdoor shower was a great way to wake up on our sunny but a little chilly mornings!

We used the Spookhuis for all our catering needs - either eating the platters brought to us or in the restaurant. All the food was delicious - especially the breakfast baskets that went on forever!

We took a whale watching trip out to Walker Bay with Craig on the 4x4 which was a most enjoyable experience for all, especially our little boy. Husband and boy also took a kayak out onto the lagoon. We just wish we had booked for longer to enjoy the peace, place and activities a little more. A perfect excuse to visit again!

Definitely one to go back to.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sazzamoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Thank you so much for your review of MOSAIC, Hermanus Lagoon, South Africa! Wow, we are so delighted you had a fantastic time, especially with such a special celebration. We are really honored that you choose MOSAIC to spend your familymoon (love it!). Everywhere we can, we add a little "lagniappe" (a little something extra) - so glad the Spookhuis catering and the activities worked for you.
We wish you a world of blessings on your marriage and family. Hope to see you at MOSAIC again soon.
Kindest regards,
Breese & Kathryn Johnson and the Team at MOSAIC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed here (2 adults, 2 teenagers) in August in two suites at the main lodge. The setting is stunning, with breathtaking views especially as the sun was setting. The rooms are beautiful, extremely comfortable and with everything you could want on hand. We eat in the first night, and had an excellent meal. On our second day we had lots of adventures - kayaking across the lagoon, whale watching at De Kelders, then quad biking back at the farm across the dunes and down to the beach. Difficult to know which of these was the highlight. The staff were all warm and friendly, and Craig was great. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Dear Karen,

Whew, I am tardy replying to you but want you to know how much we appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay at MOSAIC. We are so happy you enjoyed your time with your family and were able to experience some of the activities on MOSAIC and in the Cape Whale Coast. Having two boys of our own, we cherish places that we have been able to have family fun and enjoy the beauty of nature.

Thank you for choosing MOSAIC for part of your vacation and hope you had wonderful travels across South Africa.

Hope to see you again at MOSAIC!

Kindest Regards,
Kathryn & Breese Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanford
7.8 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
677 reviews
7.9 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
909 reviews
5.8 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
MOSAIC Cottages
MOSAIC Cottages
#5 of 12 in Stanford
53 reviews
9.5 mi away
White Water Farm
White Water Farm
#2 of 12 in Stanford
108 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stanford River Lodge
Stanford River Lodge
#1 of 11 in Stanford
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge

Property: MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
Address: Wortelgat Provincial Road, Stanford 7210, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Stanford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Stanford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MOSAIC LAGOON LODGE is one of South Africa's finest hidden gems on the famous Whale Coast, 2 hrs SE of Cape Town. On the Hermanus Lagoon with 4x4 beach access, Mosaic is a nature lover's paradise. Here you will be immersed in flowers and bird-life of the Cape Floral Kingdom with activities including: boat cruises, kayaking, beach excursions, quad biking and mountain bikes. Mosaic is centrally located for whale watching, marine tours, cage shark diving and exploring the Overberg Wine Region. LAGOON LODGE is private and secluded with just five safari-style suites. It is built within ancient milkwood trees on the edge of the Hermanus Lagoon with magnificent mountain views. A pampered stay here is fully inclusive of all meals, house beverages/wine/beer and activities. The Mosaic Rain Spa offers massage and skin therapies using only Rain Africa professional products. New in December: the Spa will offer Elemis facial treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing