We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location, great activities, excellent accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Banbury
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning location, great activities, excellent accommodation”
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed here (2 adults, 2 teenagers) in August in two suites at the main lodge. The setting is stunning, with breathtaking views especially as the sun was setting. The rooms are beautiful, extremely comfortable and with everything you could want on hand. We eat in the first night, and had an excellent meal. On our second day we had lots of adventures - kayaking across the lagoon, whale watching at De Kelders, then quad biking back at the farm across the dunes and down to the beach. Difficult to know which of these was the highlight. The staff were all warm and friendly, and Craig was great. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MosaicSouthAfrica, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Dear Karen,

Whew, I am tardy replying to you but want you to know how much we appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay at MOSAIC. We are so happy you enjoyed your time with your family and were able to experience some of the activities on MOSAIC and in the Cape Whale Coast. Having two boys of our own, we cherish places that we have been able to have family fun and enjoy the beauty of nature.

Thank you for choosing MOSAIC for part of your vacation and hope you had wonderful travels across South Africa.

Hope to see you again at MOSAIC!

Kindest Regards,
Kathryn & Breese Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    30
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
84
176
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Paarl, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We loved Mosaic Farm and stayed there for three nights in the large selfcatering cottage with another couple and their kids. The Cottage is very clean, well equiped (underfloor heating, outdoor shower,comfy beds) and well positioned (close enough to the Spookhuis and lagoon). We had fantastic weather and used the lovely stoep and chairs extensively to catch up with our friends and enjoy the winter sun. The Spookhuis can prepare a wonderfull cheese platter (the best I ever had!) and deliver it to your door to enjoy. We also did a bit of quadbiking, the kids did a bit of paddling on the lagoon (included in your rate) and we also went for very long walks. Stanford is close enough for a bit of shopping (lovely antique stores), dining (Madre's Kitchen) and wine and cheese tasting (Kleinrivier picnics). They also have great staff! What more can I say....we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The-Fraters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeWhaleCoast, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, August 28, 2011
We are thrilled you had a great time at Mosaic Farm and it was a good time catching up with your friends. Thank you for taking the time to write as it helps us to know what we are doing right!
We hope to see you again at Mosaic.
Kindest regards,
Kathryn Johnson
Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

My wife and I had a great relaxing weekend at Mosaic Farm in the Kingfisher suite. The location is secluded and absolutely beautiful. It is short drive outside Stanford on a dirt road. The Kingfisher suite is definitely the best of the lagoon lodge suites. It has beautiful, unobstructed views of the lagoon and mountain – the views shown in the picture gallery on Mosaic Farm’s website. It is next to the family lagoon lodge suite, which also has the same great views, but is next to the central lapa area. The pontoon is not in use at the moment, a fact we weren’t informed of when booking, so we were unable to cruise on the lagoon for sundowners. The highlights of the trip were quadbiking to the beach for sundowners and quadbiking through the fynbos and along the lagoon. Most of the activities included in the price of accommodation are dependent on good weather. They don’t appear to have good back up plans for the guests if it rains. The breakfasts were fantastic and the dinners were adequate – very large portions and they cater to all requirements such as halaal, vegetarian etc. The bath in the suite was huge. The outside shower was excellent – the water heats up very fast and provides a beautiful opportunity for stargazing.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flexabn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2011

My partner and I spent the most amazing 2 days in Mosaic Farm. This is luxury accomodation decorated with an elegant contemporanean African touch and it is located in the middle of the countryside with the most beautiful views of the Lagoon and the Mountains. The sunsets are spectacular, the food is decadent and the staff is very friendly and helpful. They did not only sort out a problem that we had with our beautiful self catering accomodation they turned it into an unforgettable experience booking us into the Lagoon Lodge. The whole place is gorgeous!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Mosaic farm is at a lovely location on the Kleinrivier Lagoon. We loved the restored Spookhuis, the very special Milkwoods and the biodiverse environment. We were disappointed that the restaurant at the Spookhuis did not serve meals (which was unexpected). As we were in the self catering cottage this meant we cooked for ourselves more than we had expected to. In this respect our cottage was a bit underequipped (no sharp knives, 2 teaspoons, pots without lids, no salad servers, no coffee plunger and some more missing items). I haven't visited the website recently but it should be a bit more upfront about what's available for the self catering cottage offerings, which didn't really match up to expectations at this price point and it should make it clearer that the Spookhuis while serving coffee and selling very limited deli items does not serve meals. We did like the staff.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Katharine68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeWhaleCoast, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, May 15, 2011
Dear Catharine,
Thank you for your comments on your stay and we regret that your expectations were not met. Please let us know what self-catering unit you were in, as we will address this immediately. We hope you will visit again.
Kindest regards,
Kathryn Johnson
Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2011

A well traveled person will know within minutes of arriving at Mosaic farm that this place is special. I have personally stayed in many top 5 star international resorts and hotels that don't come close.
Their service is personal, friendly and exceptional. They did far more than expected to meet our every need. The surroundings are breathtaking and relaxing. Our room with king size bed, private deck, panoramic views of the lagoon and mountains and large bathtub was lovely. Breakfasts and dinners were prepared from fresh ingredients and were absolutely delicious. Guided nature drives with sundowners were a definite highlight.
We look forward to our return to Mosaic farm.
So a big thanks to Craig, Warren and Tania for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDSCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We were so relaxed after only a few hours there! The staff is amazing! They are so accommodating and friendly. The rooms are gorgeous and comfortable. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanford
7.8 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#4 of 11 in Hermanus
677 reviews
7.9 mi away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hermanus
907 reviews
5.8 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 11 in Hermanus
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
MOSAIC Cottages
MOSAIC Cottages
#5 of 12 in Stanford
53 reviews
9.5 mi away
White Water Farm
White Water Farm
#2 of 12 in Stanford
108 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stanford River Lodge
Stanford River Lodge
#1 of 11 in Stanford
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge

Property: MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
Address: Wortelgat Provincial Road, Stanford 7210, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Stanford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Stanford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MOSAIC LAGOON LODGE is one of South Africa's finest hidden gems on the famous Whale Coast, 2 hrs SE of Cape Town. On the Hermanus Lagoon with 4x4 beach access, Mosaic is a nature lover's paradise. Here you will be immersed in flowers and bird-life of the Cape Floral Kingdom with activities including: boat cruises, kayaking, beach excursions, quad biking and mountain bikes. Mosaic is centrally located for whale watching, marine tours, cage shark diving and exploring the Overberg Wine Region. LAGOON LODGE is private and secluded with just five safari-style suites. It is built within ancient milkwood trees on the edge of the Hermanus Lagoon with magnificent mountain views. A pampered stay here is fully inclusive of all meals, house beverages/wine/beer and activities. The Mosaic Rain Spa offers massage and skin therapies using only Rain Africa professional products. New in December: the Spa will offer Elemis facial treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing