We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room for improvement” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Room for improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

Mosaic farm is at a lovely location on the Kleinrivier Lagoon. We loved the restored Spookhuis, the very special Milkwoods and the biodiverse environment. We were disappointed that the restaurant at the Spookhuis did not serve meals (which was unexpected). As we were in the self catering cottage this meant we cooked for ourselves more than we had expected to. In this respect our cottage was a bit underequipped (no sharp knives, 2 teaspoons, pots without lids, no salad servers, no coffee plunger and some more missing items). I haven't visited the website recently but it should be a bit more upfront about what's available for the self catering cottage offerings, which didn't really match up to expectations at this price point and it should make it clearer that the Spookhuis while serving coffee and selling very limited deli items does not serve meals. We did like the staff.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Katharine68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeWhaleCoast, Owner at MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge, responded to this review, May 15, 2011
Dear Catharine,
Thank you for your comments on your stay and we regret that your expectations were not met. Please let us know what self-catering unit you were in, as we will address this immediately. We hope you will visit again.
Kindest regards,
Kathryn Johnson
Co-Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    30
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
81
172
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

A well traveled person will know within minutes of arriving at Mosaic farm that this place is special. I have personally stayed in many top 5 star international resorts and hotels that don't come close.
Their service is personal, friendly and exceptional. They did far more than expected to meet our every need. The surroundings are breathtaking and relaxing. Our room with king size bed, private deck, panoramic views of the lagoon and mountains and large bathtub was lovely. Breakfasts and dinners were prepared from fresh ingredients and were absolutely delicious. Guided nature drives with sundowners were a definite highlight.
We look forward to our return to Mosaic farm.
So a big thanks to Craig, Warren and Tania for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JDSCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

We were so relaxed after only a few hours there! The staff is amazing! They are so accommodating and friendly. The rooms are gorgeous and comfortable. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rcprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

The Mosaic Farm is an incredibly stunning resort and the place for perfect rest and relaxation. The views are breathtaking and the staff goes well beyond what is asked of them. They serve with grace and thoughtfulness. We felt so much better after our restful say at Mosaic Farm!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahcprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

The setting of the lodge is peaceful and stunning.
Craig, Warren & Tanja's warm welcome made us feel familiar on the spot.
We enjoyed every moment at Mosaic Farm: inspirinig discussions, excellent meals like in a 3* gourmet restaurant, relaxing and intimate bungalows in a wonderful scenery.
One of the best places we have ever been to in South Africa!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Altetrotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in one of the beautifully designed lodges near the lagoon. What a treat ! The whole place has a fantastic laid back atmosphere that also manages to be very well run ,efficient and accomodating . The views are spectacular and the birds so varied ( 100 flamingos one morning). The staff are so kind and knowledgeable and the interior deisgn fantastic. It's great to just walk from the door but the beautiful Ferrnkloof nature reserve is only half an hour away as is the lovely cliff path at
Hermanus. This is a very special place with dark starry skies at night and warm friendly staff who will lay on a variety of excursions by day. or iron your clothes beautifully We REALLY enjoyed our stay and hope to go back


Hermanus. hermanus.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss_Poland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2011

As Part 3 of our honeymoon, Mosaic Farm was something I was really looking forward to. After enjoying a leisurely drive down from RiebeckKasteel, we arrived in pretty Stanford and made our way to the lodge.

Welcoming in thatch, wood and stone, and set in a milkwood forest, it really is amazingly secluded, private and romantic. Our luxury chalet had lovely views of the lagoon out in front, a private wooden deck with lazy chairs, king-sized bed with romantic mosquito nets, a huge double stone bathtub and outdoor shower.

Included in our stay was breakfast and dinner, both of which were fantastic, although the portions were quite big - especially when you're eating three courses!

Our absolute highlight was the second evening of our stay, enjoying a 30 minute quadbiking ride through the dunes to the beach, where we collected drift wood and had sundowners on the sand...

The staff were fantasic, very friendly and welcoming and who were there to attend to anything we asked for. I would recommend Mosaic Farm as an ideal getaway in a beautiful natural environment. It's close to Hermanus for shopping, Stanford for cute coffee shops and of course, a number of wine farms for wine-tasting.

A wonderful part of our honeymoon :)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanford
5.8 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Marine Hermanus
The Marine Hermanus
#3 of 12 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
8.2 mi away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
MOSAIC Cottages
MOSAIC Cottages
#5 of 12 in Stanford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stanford River Lodge
Stanford River Lodge
#1 of 11 in Stanford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
9.5 mi away
White Water Farm
White Water Farm
#2 of 12 in Stanford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge

Property: MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
Address: Wortelgat Provincial Road, Stanford 7210, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Stanford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Stanford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MOSAIC LAGOON LODGE is one of South Africa's finest hidden gems on the famous Whale Coast, 2 hrs SE of Cape Town. On the Hermanus Lagoon with 4x4 beach access, Mosaic is a nature lover's paradise. Here you will be immersed in flowers and bird-life of the Cape Floral Kingdom with activities including: boat cruises, kayaking, beach excursions, quad biking and mountain bikes. Mosaic is centrally located for whale watching, marine tours, cage shark diving and exploring the Overberg Wine Region. LAGOON LODGE is private and secluded with just five safari-style suites. It is built within ancient milkwood trees on the edge of the Hermanus Lagoon with magnificent mountain views. A pampered stay here is fully inclusive of all meals, house beverages/wine/beer and activities. The Mosaic Rain Spa offers massage and skin therapies using only Rain Africa professional products. New in December: the Spa will offer Elemis facial treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing