We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bellavista Country Place
Ranked #2 of 11 Stanford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but...”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed in a Sea View Suite, which was impeccably turned out with a lovely view. The bathroom has a glass roof and lots of windows surrounding a king size bathtub. which would have been fabulous if there had been more hot water. The owner was very pleasant and helpful and the entire estate is immaculately kept with beautiful grounds and views. We got a picnic basket for breakfast, as the restaurant is closed in the off season, which had a very good selection; typical continental breakfast.

I would give the review 3.5 stars ("Good" as opposed to "very good") if I had the option, as what really let us down, was when we arrived to find that the heated pool was, in fact, not heated, as this was the reason we specifically chose Bellavista. Had we known this beforehand we would have stayed somewhere more central.

Overall a lovely place, but unfortunately we were left disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePugHusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgesStanford, Owner at Bellavista Country Place, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Heilo Debora,
Thank you for your kind comments.
The one thing which "let you down", i.e. that the swimming pool was not heated, needs an explanation: When at night the air temperature drops below a certain level (air-water heat exchanger) the system is not capable anymore to warm the water up to pleasant conditions. We are adressing the problem and hope to find a proper solution.
It is very unfortunate you had not mentioned or asked when you booked whether the pool was in operation. I am sorry that spoiled your stay.
Georges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    28
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
59
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We have just spent a week at Bellavista staying in one of the premier suites and loved our time there. Our suite included a spacious triple aspect lounge complete with kitchenette, a bedroom, a bathroom with both shower and bath (yes a bath!!) and lots of outside seating.

Sitting by the infinity pool, or having a meal outside on the colonial looking terrace, you feel as if you have stumbled onto a glamorous film set and are just waiting for the director to shout lights, camera, action! The views are truly magical, with well kept gardens full of birds in the foreground and the mountains and sea way off in the background. A very photogenic location.

The food and service are both very good. The fruit salad and poached eggs I had for breakfast each morning were perfectly prepared and I can definitely recommend the lamb shank curry at dinner. All served in a friendly and efficient way by Tania our waitress.

Louise, who manages Bellavista, is a genuinely nice person. She patiently answered all our questions on life in South Africa, made sure we had a room to use for the late check out we had requested and arranged for our hire car to be cleaned (inside & out), before we left for the airport.

Bellavista may not be the cheapest place to stay, but definitely worth the money for the peace, views, gardens and food. And if you can't afford an overnight stay, you can always treat yourself to lunch there.

And one more recommendation - 10 minutes drive away is Stanford, where there is an genuine Italian ice cream shop and cafe run by a charming Italian family. It's just towards the end of the main street and a must to visit. (I've never had a flavour of ice cream especially made for me before!)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harebellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgesStanford, Owner at Bellavista Country Place, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Hi Harebellers,
Thank you so much for your kind comments which are highly appreciated by the entire Bellavista team. Unfortunately I was away for a few days but I see that you enjoyed our Country PLace, the service and … the kitchen ;-) which makes me as the owner very happy.
I hope you had a trouble free trip back home and have recharged your "batteries" with our South African sun to have a smooth transition into the forthcoming Springtime.
See you hopfully again next year and in the meantime with our best regards from "up on the hill".
Georges - owner Bellavista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is the place to go for sheer decadent luxury. The "room" more like an apartment has an amazing bathroom and the views are exceptional across the pristine gardens - thank you for an truly memorable stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Darryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Just no words can describe this place!

(We needed to stay 1 night longer in Hermanus and there were no available hotels due to very high season/new years. So after looking up on Booking, we found this place which was around 10km away, in a very small rustic town called Standford). The price was high, but we had no other options and it was 5 stards, so we booked it and went straight from Hermanus to the Bellavista Country Place!)

We had such and amazing indescribable surprise! The sea front villa we stayed in was perfectly beautiful in every single detail (im a very demanding person): the huge living room with fireplace, colonial style and very elegant room, a luxury beautiful bathroom with 2 sinks, beatiful big bath, separate shower, all with natural sun lighg, also a spacious balcony where we could sit looking at the sea and listening to silence, wind and birds (real nature).
It is located in the middle of nothing (10km from Hermanus), (5km from the beach - where you can perfecly see it due to its location on a hill), and that is why makes it so special: perfect to relax away from all and everything, surounded by nature, peace and luxury. So romantic!

You go to sleep and wake up with the birds singing, feels just like we were in paradise!

Other GREAT surprise was the restaurant in the hotel, called Panorama. We had searched for it before and had no idea where it was located until we got to this hotel and were in the middle of dinner, when the welcoming manager came and gave us a card so we looked up the name and was the exactly one we were looking for a day before. The food was amazing delicious, top 5 star quality and well prepared in every single detail. Great South African wines.

The whole experience at this place was unforgettable in every single way. Great choice for couples and families. The only defect this place could possible have is: to be too perfect to believe!
Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Choose the sea-front view villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgesStanford, Owner at Bellavista Country Place, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Bom dia Brazil! Thank you very much for your kind comments. We were happy to see you enjoy so much your short stay at our Bellavista and now these very warm compliments.
I hope you had a good voyage back home and would be glad to host you again sometimes in the future.
Again: muito obrigado and best regards from the Bellavista team.
Georges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We had nice days in an good managed, beautiful house.
Clean and spacious rooms
Everything was fine, also the restaurant.
Beautiful, great gardenarea with swimmingpool., .
Marvelous prospect,
Kind and polite staff.









  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Georg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Spent 4 nights at Bellavista Country Place. It is an excellent setting and the rooms are fitted to a high standard. Unfortunately, it was let down by 2 things. The pictures of the suite on their website show a totally different bathroom to the 1 in the suite. Our bathroom had a shower but no bath, though the website indicates there is a bath. As my partner really enjoys taking a bath whilst on holiday, she was devastated when there wasn't 1 and wouldn't have selected this suite if she had realised before booking. Requests to move to a suite with a bath were met with - the rooms are all occupied or guests are coming who have specifically requested these rooms. Probably more about charging more for the mirror-image suite with a bath! The other big let down was the fact that the licensed restaurant was closed for Winter & the Chef had left. As Bellavista is at least 10Km from any other restaurant, this was not good news, particularly if you were planning on sharing a bottle of wine over dinner! Also meant that breakfast was deliverd to your room in a hamper every morning. Novel on the 1st morning, OK on the 2nd, repetitious by the 3rd & 4th mornings. There was nothing I could find on the website to indicate the restaurant was closed, despite being told it was stated here. It is even advertised as Bellavista Country Place & Panorama restaurant, with quite a lot of detail about it in the info folder in the suite. South Africa now has a Consumer Protection Law and I would suspect the presentation could contravene it.

Room Tip: All the website photos are not accurate - check carefully if you want a particular feature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgesStanford, Owner at Bellavista Country Place, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Hello Mr. Norman C.
Its is a bit late for my answer, with my apologies.
It is so strange that you think our place is "let down". During every wintertime we go through a complete maintenance, repair and updating of all buildings inside and outside, including buying new equipement, towels, linen etc etc.
You and your wife had an special package at 50% discount during the period of your stay. I am suprised that you rate the "Value" 3 out of 5.
This Special was only for two specific accommodations. During the booking you did not mention that you'd like a room with a bathtub or anything else particularly. As you could see from the location of your accommodation, the other rooms were also booked by regular customers who all made their bookings before you.
You mention that our website gives wrong pictures. I am surprised about this statement as every single photograph corresponds to reality. And there is a limit how many pics would make a website userfriendly. You say that you browsed the website, you surely should have seen our notice saying that the restaurant was closed over winter time [after April] and will open again at the end of September, sorry is you missed this too.
We are very proud of our hamper breakfast being delivered to the rooms. Most guests love this as they can then linger at leasure. And we are also making very sure that guests who stay several nights will get every morning a new variation of food.
It is a pitty that the fact of not having mentioned that you require a bathtub put you into such a bad mood. It is also a great pitty that this led you to damage some expensive decoration and two kitchen tools which inspite of having been hidden away were discovered by our housekeeping, after your departure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at Bella Vista and had luxury accommodation and excellent personal attention. The Hotel is set high in the hills with a beautiful garden and pool and views of the mountains and sea. This is the ideal place to get away from the city and to spend time relaxing in beautiful surroundings. We enjoyed a first-class dinner in the restaurant on our first night. The staff were very welcoming and made us feel at home from the time we arrived. We certainly hope to pay a return visit and will be recommending Bella Vista to friends and family in South Africa and overseas.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 2. There are also self-catering rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanford
6.4 mi away
Stanford River Lodge
Stanford River Lodge
#1 of 11 in Stanford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
7.5 mi away
MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
#1 of 12 in Stanford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
9.1 mi away
White Water Farm
White Water Farm
#2 of 12 in Stanford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
MOSAIC Cottages
MOSAIC Cottages
#5 of 12 in Stanford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
5.1 mi away
Blue Gum Country Estate
Blue Gum Country Estate
#12 of 87 in Hermanus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
5.2 mi away
Stanford Hotel
Stanford Hotel
#9 of 11 in Stanford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellavista Country Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellavista Country Place

Property: Bellavista Country Place
Address: R43 | 8km off Stanford to Gansbaai, Stanford 7210, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Stanford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Stanford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Bellavista Country Place 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BELLAVISTA is located on a 300ha private Fynbos property, offering 2 luxurious and elegant SEA VIEW SUITES, one JUNIOR SUITE, one SEA VIEW ROOM with an adjacent 2-bed room (4 beds in total) and one 4-bed MOUNTAIN COTTAGE. Some accommodation are equipped for self catering. Children are welcome. Infinity swimming pool overflowing into a kid’s pool. Easy walking trails for bird watching. Close to several Golf Courses, shark diving and whale watching, many wine farms for wine tasting and with restaurants, and much more. Our PANORAMA Restaurant serves Cosmopolitan Cuisine. Fully licensed and has a 180 degree panoramic view over Walker Bay. Meals are served on the terrace, weather permitting. The restaurant is closed during the cold season from May to September. Tranquility and peace are assured. COME, RELAX and DREAM…. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Bellavista Country Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing