We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galashiels Lodge

Galashiels Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stanford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Galashiels Lodge
Ranked #3 of 11 Stanford B&B and Inns
Walsall
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I agree with everything the previous reviewer has said. We also found the Galashiels lodge in passing. The quality or everything is excellent, the welcome is so warm, the rooms are magnificent, and the breakfast is to die for.
Add to all of that your host, Jill along with Minnie, who looks after you, and you really cannot wish for anything else.

Room Tip: Double or Twin are both fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
16
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Lovely family, very welcoming. Gorgeous home with lots of interesting memorabilia, photos and antiques, a quirky mix of SA and Scotland!
Lovely and huge fresh breakfast in peaceful garden. We'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZolaPola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Like another reviewer we came here by accident and we are so glad we did. It is adorable. The garden is to die for. If fact, you may imagine you have and it is heaven... Photos will be attached. It's like staying with your aunty. So welcoming you will feel you have known this place for ever, you had just forgotten you did... And the breakfast - WOW! Make sure you are hungry.

You have to like cats cause they will like you!

Paradise.

Oh yes, and try the gin in the "pub"!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BristolBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We came across this great place on the off-chance and what a stroke of serendipity! This was a happy and luxurious experience from the moment we were welcomed by Jill, an effervescent and personable host, and shown to our beautiful rooms. The house is full of corners, flowers, pieces of art, old photographs, gilded mirrors and ornaments, some of which reflect her husband Brian's Scottish heritage, and surrounded by beautiful gardens and scenery. We spent a lovely evening sampling his drinks and listening to tales of South Africa, and the following day were directed to a close-up with whales. Breakfast on the patio was extensive and leisurely, surrounded by lights, decorations and cats. We must go back one day.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank JuliandyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2009

Firstly we admit to adoring South Africa and if you have never been your life is incomplete as it has to have a quite uneven share of true wealth through ithe warmth of its people and the simply gorgeous grandeur of the country.

In Stanford there lies a gem of a village in the Western Cape, quite accessible from Cape Town and in Galasheils Lodge surely one of the nicest establishments that you would ever want to lay your head down in.

It is decorated in a gorgoeus unique way with beautful gardens leading down to the Klein River.

Breakfasts are yummy and you will definitely return again as this is somewhere that you couls spend half a lifetime

Very highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngusPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanford
10.3 mi away
Birkenhead House
Birkenhead House
#1 of 12 in Hermanus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
2.7 mi away
Stanford River Lodge
Stanford River Lodge
#1 of 11 in Stanford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
5.3 mi away
Bellavista Country Place
Bellavista Country Place
#2 of 11 in Stanford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
MOSAIC Cottages
MOSAIC Cottages
#5 of 12 in Stanford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
5.4 mi away
White Water Farm
White Water Farm
#2 of 12 in Stanford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
3.0 mi away
Springfontein Sleeps
Springfontein Sleeps
#4 of 11 in Stanford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galashiels Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galashiels Lodge

Property: Galashiels Lodge
Address: 10 King Street, Stanford 7210, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Stanford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Stanford
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing