We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful replenishing time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stanford River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 11 Stanford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We spent two very special nights in Otter room this past weekend - what a beautiful setting with stunning views of the river and mountain. Our friends stayed in Hoepoe room. Valda and her manager, James, were both very authentic, warm and helpful. Our self catering room had all that we needed and we loved sitting on the verandah after our morning or sunset swim in the river. We braaied/barbecued at sunset and were delighted with the hot weather. The available canoe was also great fun to go paddling up and down stream. I loved being a short distance away from the village as one really feels the peace and beauty sink into one's being as this was part of my year end replenishing time. We had a most delicious long lunch at Mariana's in Stanford and enjoyed exploring the art and general dealer shops in Stanford. I would highly recommend this beautiful escape into nature!

Room Tip: Oter room is self-catering and on the far end so you don't see any other guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capetownfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StanfordRiverLodge, Owner at Stanford River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

The Otter room is special and you are so close to the river! BBQing in the evenings is special with nothing but the frogs and owls to disturb your peace. We hope to see you again some time in the future when maybe you can try out the new restaurant next door at Springfontein Wine Estate. Valda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 304 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

Rooms, are tidy & clean. Very comfortable. John & Valda the Owners are delightful & very helpful. Stunning views all round. The town itself is small but plenty to do with restaurants and shops, old and new. Great for families or a couple. Canoeing and swimming too!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tennille H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Just spent 3 wonderful days at Stanford River Lodge and it was blissful! Perfect place to unwind and catch up with old friends in the most beautiful surroundings and excellent accommodation. The weather played along and we had great fun exploring the many activities Stanford has to offer. I highly recommend Stanford and particularly the Stanford River Lodge for a truly memorable experience made even more pleasurable by our hosts - thank you Valda and John.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StanfordRiverLodge, Owner at Stanford River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Thanks for the wonderful words. We enjoyed having you and your two friends stay with us. It certainly woke up the village with your lively banter and they are still talking about your visit. We like it when the guests take advantage and enjoy what the village and surrounding areas have to offer like the wineries, brewery and other shops and we look forward to hosting you again in the future. Valda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

People often say 'stop the world, I wanna get off', especially around this time of year. The Stanford River Lodge is the perfect place to go do just that! I loved the tranquility and beautiful scenery that forces you to stop, relax, and just let the peacefulness of nature rejuvenate you. What an amazing weekend - you will most definitely see me there again :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PinkLadyButterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed at Stanford river lodge when the floodgates of the heavens opened up and saturated the surface area with almost 200mm of rain, we did stress a little about the rising water but Valda and John are stunning people who made sure we were at ease, comfortable and well looked after .... they kindly offered us the use of their landy to traverse a heavily flooded road which would have otherwise been impossible in our car.

We went to a restaurant called art café in Standford along with other German guests from the lodge, sipped good wine called veldfire, yah, good indeed and ate delicious pizza ... and all thanks to our hosts we were well fed and in good spirits despite the deluge of rain.

Standford river lodge is an excellent spot if you are looking either for tranquility or adventure.
The river flanked on one side by the mountains and bird life is rejuvenating for the soul but with roads that lead of onto the beach and the little town that we did not quite get a chance to explore,
I can say this with utmost confidence ... adventure awaits yet more ... we will be back!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miasilvapym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The Stanford River lodge is close to nature yet just a 10 minute drive from the lovely town Stanford. The bird life is terrific and although the lodge was fully booked when we stayed there, we were hardly aware of the other guests.
The owners were friendly, helpful and available when we needed them, yet allowed us to enjoy the peace and quite of the environment.
While we were there the whole Western Cape had heavy storms and floods. Our hosts remained calm and in control and assisted guests when all the guesthouses in the area were cut off by floods!
We would love to go back and enjoy rowing on and swimming in the river.

Room Tip: We had the sunbird room and otter self catering. Both were excellent. Although both types of accommo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in November 2013. Our room (The Sunbird Room), had a great view over the mountains/river, a stoep and the owners organised a weber-like braai for us + braai utensils. They were lovely hosts: there to help, but not overly in-our-face which allowed for a great relaxing stay. We are definitely returning agin some time, hopefully sooner rather than later!

Room Tip: Ask about the different rooms available, some are situated with better views and a nicer stoep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacoVoges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanford
13.9 mi away
Caledon Hotel, Spa, Casino
6.6 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 11 in Hermanus
583 reviews
0.3 mi away
Springfontein Sleeps
Springfontein Sleeps
#4 of 11 in Stanford
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
#1 of 12 in Stanford
329 reviews
7.7 mi away
White Water Farm
White Water Farm
#2 of 12 in Stanford
127 reviews
2.6 mi away
Stanford Hotel
Stanford Hotel
#9 of 11 in Stanford
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford River Lodge

Address: Farm 7, Wortelgat Rd, Stanford 7210, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Stanford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Stanford
Price Range: $64 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Klein River there are five beautiful double rooms in the main guest house & 2 self catering studio units each with en suite bathrooms and patios. There is a separate self catering apartment with 3 double rooms, 1 bathroom en suite and a further bathroom, full kitchen facilities, patio. BBQs available. All have stunning views. DSTV, fans, heated towel rails, pure cotton linen, towels, hair dryers, swimming pool, canoes and secure parking. Ideal for water sports or bird watching and situated near Hermanus (whale watching) & Gansbaai (shark cage diving) or just relaxing and soaking up the peaceful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Stanford River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing