We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful location for the adventurous soul”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stanford River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 11 Stanford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed at Stanford river lodge when the floodgates of the heavens opened up and saturated the surface area with almost 200mm of rain, we did stress a little about the rising water but Valda and John are stunning people who made sure we were at ease, comfortable and well looked after .... they kindly offered us the use of their landy to traverse a heavily flooded road which would have otherwise been impossible in our car.

We went to a restaurant called art café in Standford along with other German guests from the lodge, sipped good wine called veldfire, yah, good indeed and ate delicious pizza ... and all thanks to our hosts we were well fed and in good spirits despite the deluge of rain.

Standford river lodge is an excellent spot if you are looking either for tranquility or adventure.
The river flanked on one side by the mountains and bird life is rejuvenating for the soul but with roads that lead of onto the beach and the little town that we did not quite get a chance to explore,
I can say this with utmost confidence ... adventure awaits yet more ... we will be back!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miasilvapym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
There are newer reviews for Stanford River Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 290 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

The Stanford River lodge is close to nature yet just a 10 minute drive from the lovely town Stanford. The bird life is terrific and although the lodge was fully booked when we stayed there, we were hardly aware of the other guests.
The owners were friendly, helpful and available when we needed them, yet allowed us to enjoy the peace and quite of the environment.
While we were there the whole Western Cape had heavy storms and floods. Our hosts remained calm and in control and assisted guests when all the guesthouses in the area were cut off by floods!
We would love to go back and enjoy rowing on and swimming in the river.

Room Tip: We had the sunbird room and otter self catering. Both were excellent. Although both types of accommo...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in November 2013. Our room (The Sunbird Room), had a great view over the mountains/river, a stoep and the owners organised a weber-like braai for us + braai utensils. They were lovely hosts: there to help, but not overly in-our-face which allowed for a great relaxing stay. We are definitely returning agin some time, hopefully sooner rather than later!

Room Tip: Ask about the different rooms available, some are situated with better views and a nicer stoep.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacoVoges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stanford River Lodge deserves special mention. The view reminded me of the Scottish Highlands, our terrace door opened 50m from the water's edge, not a soul in sight but for birdlife and windsong... The ultimate place to rest and rejuvenate. Peace.
Hosts were outstanding. Amenities everything you could ask for. Old world elegance and superb in every way.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annalizabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was our first visit to Sanford River Lodge, we were so warmly welcomed by the owner and she went out of her way to ensure we were happy and all settled in. The setting is breathtaking and our suite opened up to the beautiful views to the river and mountains, this a bird lovers paradise. The beds were so comfortable and our room had all the luxuries we needed. This is definitely a go-back to lodge.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernardImmelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Our stay at the Stanford River Lodge was everything that we needed in a weekend away. Picturesque settings, wonderful, tranquil rooms overlooking the river and some well needed relaxation in nature. The owners of the lodge are incredibly welcoming and helpful and were able to provide us with all the information that we needed on the area, including the best wine farms to visit!
Early morning canoeing, evenings watching the bird life, the friendly little town and wonderful tranquility will all bring me back. A truly wonderful retreat!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had an amazing time! The house was equipped with all you needed and more, we were more than comfortable and warm, the views and birdlife were awesome and watching the river rise and fall was really special too. The canoeing on the river on Saturday afternoon was an experience as well. We will definitely be back and thank you for the kind, warm, friendly hospitality!!Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Self catering cottages are well equipped, clean and enjoyable!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Celeste E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanford
13.9 mi away
Caledon Hotel, Spa, Casino
6.6 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 11 in Hermanus
553 reviews
0.3 mi away
Springfontein Sleeps
Springfontein Sleeps
#4 of 11 in Stanford
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
White Water Farm
White Water Farm
#2 of 12 in Stanford
114 reviews
1.9 mi away
MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
#1 of 12 in Stanford
311 reviews
6.4 mi away
Bellavista Country Place
Bellavista Country Place
#2 of 11 in Stanford
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford River Lodge

Address: Farm 7, Wortelgat Rd, Stanford 7210, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Stanford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Stanford
Price Range: $67 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Klein River there are five beautiful double rooms in the main guest house & 2 self catering studio units each with en suite bathrooms and patios. There is a separate self catering apartment with 3 double rooms, 1 bathroom en suite and a further bathroom, full kitchen facilities, patio. BBQs available. All have stunning views. DSTV, fans, heated towel rails, pure cotton linen, towels, hair dryers, swimming pool, canoes and secure parking. Ideal for water sports or bird watching and situated near Hermanus (whale watching) & Gansbaai (shark cage diving) or just relaxing and soaking up the peaceful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Stanford River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing