We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stanford River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 11 Stanford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
1 review
“Superb getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

If your aim is peace and tranquility then this is the place for you. Set on the banks of a river, each room has a beautiful view of the river with a private patio where one can sit and ponder life's gifts - this area being one of them! There is plenty to do in the area so one does not have to travel far. The room was excellent with tea and coffee provided and a small refrigerator (to keep the wine purchases cool). There was also an overhead fan in the room which came in handy when summer temperatures were 30+ degrees. John and Valda are excellent hosts and the whole experience is highly recommended for a holiday or just a short break from city life. Definitely worth repeating. Lesley B

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StanfordRiverLodge, Owner at Stanford River Lodge, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We are always happy when our guests enjoy their stay and I know you especially enjoyed the Klein River Cheese Factory! We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Love Valda & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    70
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
180
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We recently spent a long weekend at SRL, and completely fell in love with it. We booked the Fish Eagle suite that has a HUGE shower, free standing bath, and breath-taking views over the river to the mountains beyond. John and Valda made us feel so at home we didn't want to leave.

The room was spacious and impeccably clean. The bed and pillows were incredible comfy, and the decor was elegant and understated.

Waking up early to go paddling down the river was our highlight of our stay. The canoe is tied-up at the end of the garden, on the river where we also went swimming in the evenings.

We are already planning our next visit.

Room Tip: The Fish Eagle suite is on the first floor, so has better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmyjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StanfordRiverLodge, Owner at Stanford River Lodge, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Being paddlers ourselves we are always overjoyed when the guests experience the beauty of the river. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again some time. Regards John & Valda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stanford River Lodge is a beautful establishment offering an abundance of activities and tranquility for the nature lovers, service was excellent, our room were beautiful overlooking the dam and the surrounding mountains. The lodge is also within close proximity to Hermanus which made it very convenient for self drives.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Latecia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StanfordRiverLodge, Owner at Stanford River Lodge, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Your review is appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again. Regards John & Valda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Stanford River Lodge for our wedding anniversary. It was a lovely, peaceful stay in a beautiful setting. The room was neat and tidy with adequate self catering. We enjoyed canoeing on the river and relaxing by the pool. The lodge is nice and close to town and Valda recommended a great place to go for dinner. I would happily recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StanfordRiverLodge, Owner at Stanford River Lodge, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We are happy you chose Stanford River Lodge to celebrate your anniversary. Thank you for your kind words. Regards
John & Valda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stanford River Lodge has been one of my favourite places to stay on a holiday, thanks to the tranquillity offered by the huge area of land it is set on. All you're surrounded by is nature and all that lies ahead of the lodge is the beautiful river. John and Valda were very helpful in letting us know what to do in the area and where to eat. If you're a runner or mountain biker, the surrounding setting is perfect for these activities. The lodge is modern and clean, and the pool area is great for relaxing during the day if you're not out exploring on the river. We'll definitely stay here again when we're in Stanford

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StanfordRiverLodge, Owner at Stanford River Lodge, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We love guests who enjoy the outdoors as much as we do. You certainly managed to fit a lot in but there is always more and we look forward to seeing you again to enjoy all we have to offer in Stanford. Regards John & Valda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

There were 13 of us sharing the whole lodge - seeing out the old and welcoming in the new on the pristine Klein River. Super well equipped venue to celebrate New Year together!!! When we arrived the owners were still recovering from the huge fire that had swept the mountains and valley for days causing huge destruction. In spite of this the guest house was beautifully presented and we felt fully at home immediately and were left to do our own thing ...eating ...sleeping...drinking great wines...braaiing....canoeing...fishing...horse-riding..playing games....beer tasting...boating and having fun in the stunning Stanford valley. Thank you John and Valda , gracious hosts , for a special spot where we celebrated the beginning of 2013 and all its possibilities, you have a lovely lodge in a little bit of paradise.

Room Tip: all the rooms are really nice and slightly different, upstairs honeymoon suite is away from the res...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank cavinden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StanfordRiverLodge, Owner at Stanford River Lodge, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for writing such a glowing review of Stanford River Lodge and all you can do here. You certainly enjoyed yourselves and tootk full advantage of all there is on offer in Stanford - voted the best village in South Africa for 2012! Thank you for being such fantastic guests and we hope to see you again in the future. Regards John & Valda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Stanford River Lodge on the 29-31 December. We arrived in unusual circumstances - there had been a bush fire on the other side of the river and the town's electric was down - we arrived in the dark but the owners set up candles and solar lights and all credit to the electric company, it was back working again in the middle of the night. This B and B is very special - we stayed in fish eagle room and it was perfect in every way with the added bonus of a balcony to sit and watch over the river. It is is a tranquil location, a bit off the beaten path but we like it that way! It is excellent value for money - we would definitely recommend Stanford river to others.

Room Tip: The fish eagle is wonderful and would be perfect for a honeymoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skyejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StanfordRiverLodge, Owner at Stanford River Lodge, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
You arrived to unusual circumstances but we thank you for your support and kind words. We would love to see you again. Regards Valda & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanford
13.9 mi away
Caledon Hotel, Spa, Casino
6.6 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 12 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
7.7 mi away
White Water Farm
White Water Farm
#2 of 12 in Stanford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Stanford Hotel
Stanford Hotel
#9 of 11 in Stanford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.3 mi away
Springfontein Sleeps
Springfontein Sleeps
#4 of 11 in Stanford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
6.4 mi away
Bellavista Country Place
Bellavista Country Place
#2 of 11 in Stanford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford River Lodge

Property: Stanford River Lodge
Address: Farm 7, Wortelgat Rd, Stanford 7210, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Stanford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Stanford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Klein River there are five beautiful double rooms in the main guest house & 2 self catering studio units each with en suite bathrooms and patios. There is a separate self catering apartment with 3 double rooms, 1 bathroom en suite and a further bathroom, full kitchen facilities, patio. BBQs available. All have stunning views. DSTV, fans, heated towel rails, pure cotton linen, towels, hair dryers, swimming pool, canoes and secure parking. Ideal for water sports or bird watching and situated near Hermanus (whale watching) & Gansbaai (shark cage diving) or just relaxing and soaking up the peaceful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Travelocity so you can book your Stanford River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing