We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful location, beautiful facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stanford River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 11 Stanford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Peaceful location, beautiful facilities”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A great relaxing spot. Good access to the river. One of the few spots in Stanford that are geared for couples. Roomy accommodation makes for a comfortable stay. Attention to detail is great - with little nibbles provided to enjoy with your coffee and candles for that relaxing bath. Bath tubs in the honeymoon suites are fantastic and made for a welcome retreat from the terrible weather we unfortunately experienced during our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxygillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StanfordRiverLodge, Owner at Stanford River Lodge, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Hi Roxy and Rory, Thank you for staying with us again, we appreciate your vote of confidence. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and trip to Mariana's always lifts the spirits! John & Valda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    70
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
182
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed in the Otter unit for two. Clean and spacious with a beautiful view on the Kleine river. The unit has everything one could need in a self catering. Between the local Spar and the small Saturday morning market we were able to stock up on necessities and treats. A sundowner trip on Ernie's River Rat Is a must - peaceful, relaxing ......

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christelleswart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StanfordRiverLodge, Owner at Stanford River Lodge, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Hi Christelle, We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had the a great trip on the River Rat. We hope to see you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The two of us were nicely surprised when we got to this place. Super quiet! Calm and beautiful, especially in the morning, when the sun is reflected in the water and surrounding mountains create a very special mystical mood. Very clean, excellent bedding and lots of space, very comfortable. We would love to stay longer than just one night, but couldn't due to our itenerary. On top, the owners were especially helpful giving us a lot of tips regarding our trvavels to our next destinations. Not to be forgotten! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Urszula2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StanfordRiverLodge, Owner at Stanford River Lodge, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Ursula and Rob, We enjoyed having you stay with us and were only too happy to assist with your trip to the Kalaghadi. We were facinated with your stories about your travels around South Africa and beyond and hope you enjoyed the Abdullah Ibrahim concerts in Cape Town. We hope to see you again on your next epic trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The highlights of our stay in the gorgeous Fish Eagle suite included the amazing view on both sides of the suite, the huge candle-lit bath, an expansive shower, and especially the cry of the fish eagle above the lodge in the morning. Since it's mid-winter, the travertine-tiled room was a bit chilly, but a fan heater and a few extra blankets did the trick.
Will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: For privacy choose the Fish Eagle suite. It's a bit more expensive but is located on the upper f...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ilana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StanfordRiverLodge, Owner at Stanford River Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for the great review. We look forward to seeing you in December again. That is the best recommendation!
All the best - John & Valda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Great weekend. Lots of activities in the area and fantastic location right on the river. Stayed in the kingfischer room which has wonderful facilities. We highly recommend taking a canoe trip up the river and a hike in nearby salmondam reserve.Thanks Jon and Valda!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StanfordRiverLodge, Owner at Stanford River Lodge, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Hi Dave, We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and as paddling is my passion we are always happy when the guests take out the canoes and experience the wonders of the river. Regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We visited Stanford River Lodge after seeing the write up in Getaway Magazine. We were not disappointed. We stayed in the Kingfisher Suite which has large sliding doors out to the river. It had all we needed and much more. We took our own breakfast to have on our patio in the morning and sitting there in the evening watching the sunset with a glass of wine felt as though we were in an advert. We took our mountain bikes and rode on a few of the trails John told us about. We also went wine tasting at Raka (could not manage the other vineyards!) and beer tasting at Birkenhead Breweries. The weekend was too short to do all there is to do. The room was spotless and comfortable, the hosts gracious and we have to go back soon as there is much unfinished business in Stanford. Thank you John & Valda.

Room Tip: Kingfisher Suite is great but if you want a cheaper room the Sunbird is as good but a bit smaller
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StanfordRiverLodge, Owner at Stanford River Lodge, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to do a review. We enjoyed having you and Tim stay with us and you two certainly managed to do so much when you were here, but we are pleased to see you will be coming back to tackle the other trails. Keep well and happy mountain biking.
Regards John & Valda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We celebrated our 10 year wedding anniversary in the Porcupine selfcatering unit. What a lovely and peaceful weekend it was, but not without some excitement in some 4x4'ing at Walker Bay with some tips from the owners! Thank you for a lovely stay! We'll see you soon!

Room Tip: Porcupine self-catering was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ETheron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StanfordRiverLodge, Owner at Stanford River Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
We are always pleased when guests enjoy the area as much as we do. Thank you for taking the time to do a review and for the great photos!
Regards from John & Valda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanford
13.9 mi away
Caledon Hotel, Spa, Casino
6.6 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 11 in Hermanus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
7.7 mi away
White Water Farm
White Water Farm
#2 of 12 in Stanford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Stanford Hotel
Stanford Hotel
#9 of 11 in Stanford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.3 mi away
Springfontein Sleeps
Springfontein Sleeps
#4 of 11 in Stanford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
6.4 mi away
Bellavista Country Place
Bellavista Country Place
#2 of 11 in Stanford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford River Lodge

Property: Stanford River Lodge
Address: Farm 7, Wortelgat Rd, Stanford 7210, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Stanford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Stanford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Klein River there are five beautiful double rooms in the main guest house & 2 self catering studio units each with en suite bathrooms and patios. There is a separate self catering apartment with 3 double rooms, 1 bathroom en suite and a further bathroom, full kitchen facilities, patio. BBQs available. All have stunning views. DSTV, fans, heated towel rails, pure cotton linen, towels, hair dryers, swimming pool, canoes and secure parking. Ideal for water sports or bird watching and situated near Hermanus (whale watching) & Gansbaai (shark cage diving) or just relaxing and soaking up the peaceful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Stanford River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing