We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Stanford Jem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stanford River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 11 Stanford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2012

I had stumbled across the Stanford River lodge whilst on board the Africa Queen river boat. (Also a must when in Stanford) The boat cruised past this beautiful looking lodge on the banks of the Klein River. I needed a place to stay so checked it out. Since the first time, I’ve been back twice to visit John and Valda at this very special lodge, and most recently spend my 1st night after my wedding there!
It’s a beautiful, clean and homely place with a personal touch and the price is great!
I can definitely recommend it and will be staying there again as soon as I have a gap to go visit Stanford!
Danie S

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 292 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2012

It's the most tranquil, beautiful place my fiance and I had stayed. We spent a lovely weekend for his birthday. The lodge is remote enough yet central to everything else. The price is very affordable, even for South African standard. We stayed in the honeymoon suite, situated on the only 2nd floor. We had a 180° view of the Klein river! We tried to go to different town or holiday place each time, but we will definitely want to come back to Stanford River Lodge!!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hehaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Over the last couple of years we have got to know the 'Finches' and their Stanford River Lodge.
The property offers excellent four star accommodations in tranquil settings. We have paddled and swam for hours in the river and were taken for bird watching sun downers. Once we were treated to a Land Rover safari trip to the deserted beach where we walked for miles. We have been truly spoilt.

Room Tip: Fish Eagle Suite has the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StanfordRiverLodge, Owner at Stanford River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2012

Dear Harold and Monika, Thank you for your kind words. We always look forward to welcoming you back to the Lodge. You enjoy yourselves to the full and put us to shame with all your walking. Another trip to the beach for a long walk is a must. See you soon. John & Valda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We spent the New Year weekend at Stanford River Lodge and have come back to Cape Town to start 2012 feeling refreshed and revived.The Lodge is perfectly situated- close enough to the quaint town of Stanford to enjoy its Antique shops and restaurants, but far enough out of town to afford one amazing peace and tranquility. The bird life is excellent and a gentle paddling trip up the river is a must..The lodge has a stable double canoe avalable for its guests which will tempt even the most faint hearted of land lubbers! Contrary to one reveiw we read before heading out to Stanford, the lodge does have a swimming pool which is tucked away on the side of the house to keep it sheltered and private. All in all, I would recommend this lodge highly for the unobstrusive hopitality of the owners, the clean and well equipped rooms and the perfect position it boasts on the river. Plan to spend more than one night though..the wine farms in the area are worth visiting ..and take your bikes and running shoes if you are so inclined! There is no lack of activities in the area and with a tranquil base such as SRL to head out from it is certainly a more than worthwhile weekend getaway for Capetonians or a peacefulcountry break for tourists looking for some relaxation and good South African hospitality.

Room Tip: From what I could see, all rooms are good and all face the river..the honeymoon suite has the best v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LEGENDCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StanfordRiverLodge, Owner at Stanford River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2012

It was great talking to you both and hearing all your stories about the different places you have travelled to. This is why we love running a guesthouse, you meet the most facinating and interesting people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Thank you John and Valda! We had a great honeymoon, it was peaceful and the the weather was amazing! We will not forget our trip to the lodge and the sunsets over the river! We will definitely be back next year with our baby girl!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

We have visited Stanford River Lodge two years running for our Company’s end of year get-together. We rented the whole guest house for 2 nights and had a braai one night and ate in the Village the other. We really enjoyed the peaceful spot and had fun canoeing down the river and just lazing around the Lodge and pool. Awesome views of the river and mountains made this an ideal spot to get away from it all. It was very comfortable, clean and our caring hosts made us feel at home. We will be back!
Stellar Blue Star

Room Tip: The honeymoon suit which is the only room upstaits definately has the best room and the most amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed at S.R.L. and loved it! We were a group of 8, we went for the tranquility/peace/serenity, yet ended up occupying our time quite fully, mostly paddling on the river, but also visiting the delightful Saturday morning market; taking a drive over the dunes to spot the Whales, and eating at the towns eclectic restaurants.
Despite us keeping fairly busy, there was a tranquilness about the place, both Stanford River Lodge and the town and surrounds, and John and Valda interacted with us, guiding us in what was on offer, but giving us space to breathe in the fresh country air.
Clean, bright, spacious and welcoming, this was one of our favourite break-away's, and we are booking again - soon!
Chris, Rinette and Friends.

Room Tip: well, we did not stay in the Honeymoon suite - but took a look in, and the views! All the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ManorCottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanford
13.9 mi away
Caledon Hotel, Spa, Casino
6.6 mi away
Baleens
Baleens
#6 of 11 in Hermanus
558 reviews
0.3 mi away
Springfontein Sleeps
Springfontein Sleeps
#4 of 11 in Stanford
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
White Water Farm
White Water Farm
#1 of 12 in Stanford
116 reviews
1.9 mi away
MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
#2 of 12 in Stanford
317 reviews
6.4 mi away
Bellavista Country Place
Bellavista Country Place
#2 of 11 in Stanford
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford River Lodge

Address: Farm 7, Wortelgat Rd, Stanford 7210, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Stanford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Stanford
Price Range: $66 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Klein River there are five beautiful double rooms in the main guest house & 2 self catering studio units each with en suite bathrooms and patios. There is a separate self catering apartment with 3 double rooms, 1 bathroom en suite and a further bathroom, full kitchen facilities, patio. BBQs available. All have stunning views. DSTV, fans, heated towel rails, pure cotton linen, towels, hair dryers, swimming pool, canoes and secure parking. Ideal for water sports or bird watching and situated near Hermanus (whale watching) & Gansbaai (shark cage diving) or just relaxing and soaking up the peaceful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Stanford River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing