We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprise !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stanford River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 11 Stanford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Bert &Tessa from Holland were travelling around S.Africa and therefore didn't have
a reservation for accomodation when arriving in Stanford.
Usually not that big a deal to find a roof over our heads; This time it wasn't working
out it seemed on this Saturday-afternoon untill a very friendly lady in the streets of
Stanford mentioned the River Lodge. The unpaved road leading there is except
some dustclouds a very good drive getting you there in 5 min. aprox.
The accomodation is recently built and not very atmospheric on the outside.
On the inside it's well-provided, spacious, and has.....a stunning vieuw! Which we
fell absolutely in love with. Especially in the self-catering units you have an uncen-
sored look over the river and mountains that really stimulates your "being one with
nature"-feeling.
Valda and John are really there for their guests, and for us attributed to an unfor-
gettable stay at the Stanford River Lodge!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 311 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed ourselves very much in this perfectly located accommodation on the river. Our self-catering room had a beautiful view to the river. It was well-maintained, clean and well-equipped. From our terrace, we could see many birds and had the chance to go canoeing. It was provided by the owners. Also, it is near to the Fisherman’s Trail in the Walker Bay Nature Reserve. We had a very warm welcome served with hot tea and rusks. Thanks Valda! John was very informative, giving us tips what we can do around the place and the country. Thank you for making our stay a comfortable and unforgetable one. Greetings from Germany, Hagen and Evelyn

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

What a great place to chill and recharge, yet kept busy doing healthy outdoor things in between times. We went mountain biking from our door, paddled canoes meters from our stoep; 4x4ing along a back road to the beach and watched whales from what was like our own private beach, from the lodge and virtually all to ourselves. Definitely a worthwhile spot for a weekend away from Cape Town. John and Valda’s suggestions kept us busy, 2 days was not enough. We’ll be back to sample all the ‘other’ things we ran out of time for. Stanford was a real SUPRISE!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jade C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StanfordRiverLodge, Owner at Stanford River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2012

Thank you for the kind words about the Lodge and Stanford in general. It was a special time for us as well. The trip to the beach and watching the whales frolicking right in front of us put the cherry on the top!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

My husband and I were looking for a quiet getaway for the weekend where we could still access some amenities of the local town and this place certainly delivered. It close to Stanford (5 minutes drive) which is a characterful town with quality restaurants and interesting little shops. The location of the accommodation is spectacular on the banks of the river and looking onto the mountains.

We ended up spending 1 night in the self catering and 1 night in the lodge due to a small hiccup with the geyser and in winter I would recommend staying in the lodge. It feels cosier.

The thing that stopped me from giving it a 5 is that I was expected to pay the full amount for the accommodation before we arrived which left me feeling very much on the back foot as a consumer.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rollingstone2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

It was some time ago that we discovered Stanford when I participated in a paddling event on the river. We decided to return to Stanford which appeared to have escaped the commercial rush for a 3 day stay, and booked at Stanford River Lodge..

The accomodation is really first class and very well maintained, John and Valda welcomed us at the lodge and we felt very welcome from the start.

We had taken our Kayak and we paddled up and down the river, enjoying the birdlife and exploring, amazing !!
We certainly intend returning again and will be recommending the place to our friends.
Thanks John & Valda
Johan & Marina

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

A little piece of paradise it certainly is. We wanted peace and quiet and privacy and this we definitely got. Beautiful views, lots of birds and paddling on the calm river. We stayed in the Kingfisher Suite which was right on the river which offered every bit of luxury we could have wanted. We sat on our patio in the evening watching the sun set with a glass of wine! It was an ideal base from which to see the area and was a perfect stop having returned from the Garden Route. Stanford is quaint and has a choice of restaurants for all meals. John and Valda are ideal hosts and have much knowledge of the area. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seychellesstingray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Unfortunately, we were able to spend only one night at this lovely lodge. The setting is beautiful, right on the river. John and Valda, the proprietors are helpful, interesting, and very welcoming. We stayed in the Fish Eagle Suite which was a huge, nicely decorated room with soaking tub, balcony, and great river views. We canoed up and down the river in their canoe around sunset which was very enjoyable. They served a delicious breakfast too! We would definitely love to come back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneSJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanford
6.4 mi away
Bellavista Country Place
Bellavista Country Place
#2 of 11 in Stanford
99 reviews
2.6 mi away
Stanford Hotel
Stanford Hotel
#9 of 11 in Stanford
16 reviews
0.3 mi away
Springfontein Sleeps
Springfontein Sleeps
#4 of 11 in Stanford
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
MOSAIC Lagoon Lodge
#1 of 12 in Stanford
344 reviews
3.3 mi away
MOSAIC Cottages
MOSAIC Cottages
#5 of 12 in Stanford
70 reviews
4 mi away
The Thatch House Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford River Lodge

Address: Farm 7, Wortelgat Rd, Stanford, Overstrand 7210, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Overstrand > Stanford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Stanford
Price Range: $75 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Klein River there are five beautiful double rooms in the main guest house & 2 self catering studio units each with en suite bathrooms and patios. There is a separate self catering apartment with 3 double rooms, 1 bathroom en suite and a further bathroom, full kitchen facilities, patio. BBQs available. All have stunning views. DSTV, fans, heated towel rails, pure cotton linen, towels, hair dryers, swimming pool, canoes and secure parking. Ideal for water sports or bird watching and situated near Hermanus (whale watching) & Gansbaai (shark cage diving) or just relaxing and soaking up the peaceful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Stanford River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing