We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in Zoutpan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Zoutpan Struishuis Guest Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We had a lovely stay in Zoutpan, the area is very charming and quiet, the food was excellent for dinner as well as for breakfast, and the owner is very friendly! The room are not 5star hotel but the welcome was great, we loved our stay !

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 95 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

We very much liked the place on the way to the Garden Route as it is very quiet, safe, and with a lot of space outside for the kids to run around, to climb on the tree beside the reception and to play with the lovely dog survivor. We also enjoyed to talk to the owner of the Guest Farm who invited us for a walk around the farm, The owner as well as the desk clerk were very helpful and concerned about our well being.
We stayed 2 nights and did on our full day there a 2 hours safari in the Garden Route Game Lodge - the 2 hours of safari were enough for our kids, and we had a great lunch afterwards beside the cozy fire place in the restaurant of the Lodge.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stefan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Even though we only had one night stay at Zoutpan, the facilities were really good and would definitely come back, this time for longer, so we can get the whole experience of what Zoutpan had to offer.

Room Tip: Do not always go for the cheapest, and read other peoples experiences before making your choice for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Iven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We got to lodge and was taken to the house and totally shock. Kids love seeing the animals and the outdoors. Fully understand why some places always just put pictures of outside .As when entering the house, what a disaster . Could get a proper clean up. As a there was these horrible fliecatchers hanging around the house and so many flies. Why can it not be taken off and new ones hanged. The bathroom was so awful , it needs a revamp. And the house extremely cold in winter and sure a heater doesn't cost much. For the price I paid it was not worth it. Kids enjoyed feeding the lamb and going horse riding . Was the only highlight there

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geraldine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

The accommodation was clean but very sparse, absolutely nothing to do, the website with pictures of children feeding baby animals was misleading, we saw a few calves standing in a field, and a lovely dog, and that was it. If you're looking for somewhere to break a journey, then this will suffice, but I definitely wouldn't have a prolonged stay. Food was very expensive, so consider taking your own.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2011

We did not feel it was good value for money. The acommodation was clean, but there was nowhere to sit except at the eating table on the hard chairs in the small kitchen area. The view from the bedroom was of the green vibacrete wall very close by but the photo on the internet made it look very scenic. The other view was of the parking area and other rooms. The pool was very welcome in the heat, but again enclosed with no view of the lovely open farmland. Unfortunately despite the ad, we could not feed or milk the cows and we were not allowed to touch them which was disappointing for my 2 children who were expecting to have a more hands on experience. If we wanted the whole farm tour to see the horses, we were told we would have to pay R150 for petrol. I felt the advert was misleading and the acommodation was overpriced, and I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SKLCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

We chose this accommodation a) to break up a trip from the Eastern Cape to Cape Town and b) because we thought staying on a working farm would be fun for the family. We were very pleased on both accounts.

My children absolutely loved the morning farm tour which included milking the cows, feeding the ostriches and feeding the arabian horses. However the trip highlight was the afternoon horse riding - the kids loved it!

The delightful owner, Engela and her helpful family and staff really went out their way to look after us and the dinner they cooked for us was one of the best meals we had in South Africa.

The accommodation itself is relatively modest although it was spotlessly clean and perfectly comfortable.

The only faults I can think of is that the bathroom only had a shower (no bath) and the lovely rock swimming pool was not fenced in - but these are the only faults in what is otherwise exceptional value for money accommodation.

This guest house is a real gem and a made for a great stopover on the way the way along the Garden Route

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reuters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albertina
11.9 mi away
Indalu Game Reserve
Indalu Game Reserve
#3 of 39 in Mossel Bay
111 reviews
2.9 mi away
Garden Route Game Lodge
Garden Route Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Albertina
1,087 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albertinia Hotel
Albertinia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Albertina
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Gourits River Guest Farm and Eco Camping
Show Prices

Been to Zoutpan Struishuis Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zoutpan Struishuis Guest Farm

Address: 2 Off N, Albertina 6695, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Albertina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Albertina
Price Range: $52 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Zoutpan Struishuis Guest Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combine luxury accommodation with a farm experience minutes away from various game reserves and many activities in surrounding areas. Situated 1 km from the N2 on the Garden Route between Riversdale and Albertinia, Zoutpan is also the ideal halfway stopover between Cape Town and Port Elizabeth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Zoutpan Struishuis Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing