We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Zoutpan Struishuis Guest Farm
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Albertinia Hotel(Albertina)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceans Hotel(Mossel Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Portao Diaz(Mossel Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eden Country Inn(Klein Brak River)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveler rating
46
36
9
5
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
36
9
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself catering unitgarden routefriendly receptionrun aroundfriendly dogsbasic breakfasthome cooked dinnercape townrelaxing stayfamily holidayold styleguest houserooms are cleana great place to stayswimming poolan overnight staystayed one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 96 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2011

We did not feel it was good value for money. The acommodation was clean, but there was nowhere to sit except at the eating table on the hard chairs in the small kitchen area. The view from the bedroom was of the green vibacrete wall very close by but the photo on the internet made it look very scenic. The other view was of the parking area and other rooms. The pool was very welcome in the heat, but again enclosed with no view of the lovely open farmland. Unfortunately despite the ad, we could not feed or milk the cows and we were not allowed to touch them which was disappointing for my 2 children who were expecting to have a more hands on experience. If we wanted the whole farm tour to see the horses, we were told we would have to pay R150 for petrol. I felt the advert was misleading and the acommodation was overpriced, and I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SKLCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

We chose this accommodation a) to break up a trip from the Eastern Cape to Cape Town and b) because we thought staying on a working farm would be fun for the family. We were very pleased on both accounts.

My children absolutely loved the morning farm tour which included milking the cows, feeding the ostriches and feeding the arabian horses. However the trip highlight was the afternoon horse riding - the kids loved it!

The delightful owner, Engela and her helpful family and staff really went out their way to look after us and the dinner they cooked for us was one of the best meals we had in South Africa.

The accommodation itself is relatively modest although it was spotlessly clean and perfectly comfortable.

The only faults I can think of is that the bathroom only had a shower (no bath) and the lovely rock swimming pool was not fenced in - but these are the only faults in what is otherwise exceptional value for money accommodation.

This guest house is a real gem and a made for a great stopover on the way the way along the Garden Route

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reuters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2009

We were pleasantly surprised by Zoutpan, the owner, Engela made us feel very welcome and helped us to settle in.
The location is a great half way point between Cape Town and Knysna, which was our main destination. We stayed for two nights, and had Engela arrange food for us, although self catering is available.
The kids and us were kept entertained by the farm activities available, including milking the cows! I would recommend it to anyone who has kids who will be interested in horse riding, and farm animals.
The farm is right next door to a game lodge, and we were able to get special permission, thanks again to Engela, to go on the game drive, and see the wild animals, it was fantastic!
The rooms were clean and well kept, and the facilities were fine, we made good use of the swimming pool!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Itravel4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoutpan, Owner at Zoutpan Struishuis Guest Farm, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews