We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everyone was so welcoming and it was an awesome experience, being there.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Garden Route Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2010

Do you know ....i really don't think i would change anything - there is a saying that says " if something works good, you don't fiddle with it." The staff, game rangers, accommodation the venue everything was wonderful. It was lovely and clean and so relaxing and homely. The staff were amaizing. Yes, i really enjoyed being there. Many thanks..... Cynthia Solms

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coecoe048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

820 - 826 of 1,115 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2010

We spent one night at the lodge, enjoying the benefit of their winter special (695 pp) and thought it was excellent value for money. If you expect to have a Kruger Park experience, don`t go. If you travel with a party of children who have never seen an elephant from nearby, this is a good start. Buffet dinner was good and the breakfast was just fantastic. Staff was very friendly and hospitable and it was great to find fire places all over and to have heating in the rooms - they didn`t save on their winter special!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uyttenhove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

So, this place isn't Kruger, but as a very accessible and friendly reserve, it does provide a great opportunity to get close to a good range of animals if you are on a fairly tightly-timed tour around the Cape region (as we were). The cabin accommodation is fine and the food is unpretentious but good. The staff are friendly and helpful - we had Abie as our regular driver and he was great.
We also visited Buffelsdrift, which on balance was a bit better on the food, accommodation and value front, but couldn't provide quite as close an experience of the animals - or lions!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomSaintsRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

As our first official family holiday, this will certainly be a memorable one. From the minute we arrived until we left we were amazed by the professionalism and friendly service. Our 4 year old son was in awe of the wild animals and after this trip I reckon he'll want to be a game ranger when grows up. Truly unforgettable, highly recommended and we can't wait to return. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PippaCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

The experience exceeded all my expectations. I have not come across such a efficient and friendly team at any other lodge in South Africa including Sabi Sands, Madikwe, Pilanesberg, Waterberg and the Eastern Cape. From the moment that we were greeted at the reception door the staff went out of their way to accommodate us and make us not only feel welcome, but at home. At Garden Route Game Lodge the focus is on the total experience and not how much profit can be made from each guest. The variety of activities on offer is amazing! The food was absolutely amazing, I would like to go back at least once a year.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellievt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

The Garden Route Game Lodge is a young but ambitious reserve in a great location. Beautiful facilities - particularly the communal areas, but also the rooms - excellent food and service and we enjoyed a first class game drive experience with Ronald, an engaging, extremely well-informed guide. The Lodge appears to have its heart in the right place in terms of a genuine commitment to conservation. They are expanding their site, so the game tours should be even better next year!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fredhowlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

From the moment we were greeted at the gate we enjoyed an outstanding level of service. The lodge we were allocated was extremely clean and comfortable and had everything to hand that we needed. The staff on the game drives were knowledgeable, friendly and most accomodating to everyone, and they were able to take us to see the animals from very close up. The vehicles used were modern and comfortable. The food was very good quality, well served in a pleasant atmosphere. I cannot recommend the Garden Route Game Lodge more highly and have since recommended it to others visiting the area. We will certainly be booking another visit when we return to Africa.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natepeterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albertina
3 mi away
Albertinia Hotel
Albertinia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Albertina
50 reviews
290.8 mi away
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
59 reviews
17.8 mi away
Gondwana Game Reserve
Gondwana Game Reserve
#2 of 39 in Mossel Bay
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Indalu Game Reserve
Indalu Game Reserve
#3 of 39 in Mossel Bay
115 reviews
16.3 mi away
Botterkloof Resort
Botterkloof Resort
#2 of 11 in Stilbaai
63 reviews
243.8 mi away
Addo Elephant Lodge and Safaris
Addo Elephant Lodge and Safaris
#8 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Route Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Route Game Lodge

Address: N2 | 5km after Albertinia towards Mossel Bay, Albertina 6695, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Albertina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Albertina
Price Range: $194 - $661 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Route Game Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the backdrop of the majestic Langeberg mountain Range, the Garden Route Game Lodge guards the entrance to South Africa’s world famous Garden Route Coast.Only 3½ scenic hours drive from Cape Town, this malaria free, family owned and operated private game reserve is home to an abundance of animal and birdlife including the Big 5.Visitors to the Garden Route Game Lodge can enjoy game viewing in open Landrovers, luxury accommodation and a memorable dining experience in one of our African style restaurants. Our friendly staff and management are there to anticipate your every need to complete your unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden Route Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Route Game Hotel Albertina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing