We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly died in the shower”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Garden Route Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2010

We stayed withour family on 22 February. My husband and I were in a Rondavel, and whilst in the shower, my husband received a very powerful electric shock. (He is an electrical engineer so knows a dangerous shock when he receives one!) When I called the front desk, and told them, they said "well what do you want me to do about it?". They did move us to another rondavel, but we were anxious that someone fix the shower in case someone more frail than my husband uses the shower in the future and receives a shock and could quite easily die! On check-out, the front desk said someone would look at the shower. In our opinion, there was no "service recovery". We own a guest house in Franschhoek, and had this happened to one of our guests, we would have fallen over ourselves to apologise, offer something for the inconvenience and concern, and certainly have got back to the guests on their return home letting them know that the problem had been fixed. These things happen, but it's how you recover that is important in the service industry. Other than that, the food was excellent, and we enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WorriedFranschhoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairtrade7, Owner at Garden Route Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2010

The maintenance manager at the Garden Route Game Lodge explains the cause for the shower shock: The cause of the problem at the end of the day was a faulty geyser.
It was a newly installed geyser from the factory wich ended up later having a big problem with its element. The earth wire connecting the geyser to the main earth got coroded and was not making good contact anymore. At the end of the day the earth did not trip the power due to this bad contact and some of the electricity went through the water to other areas. For some reason it went to 2 of the chalets. The voltage we tested in the showers was 16 volts. It is basiclally the same as shocking on a car battery.This is not deadly but obviously gives a fright.
The Garden Route Game Lodge deeply regrets the inconvenience caused to our guests from Franschoek.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,038)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

791 - 797 of 1,038 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2010

This place was the perfect option for me, as I was in Cape Town for a limited time and did not have the opportunity to go to one of the national parks and this allowed me to see the Big 5 with competent guides only 4 hours drive away. And the place is great - cozy fireplaces, great pool area (although I never got to try it as it was raining too much), the chalets were smallish but very well equipped and spotlessly clean. The buffet for dinner and breakfast was delicious (except the sweet potato soup, take that one off the menu asap, please!) and well stocked and the kitchen staff were friendly and smiling..

The game drives were great, although especially for the morning drive the rain was pouring down. Rain ponchos were provided, but do bring a windbreaker just in case. There are many different types of vehicles, mine was an old jeep but most of the others looked very modern. My guides were Ettienne and Ashley - if you happen to get one of these guys as your guide, you know you are in good and knowledgeable hands. The game drive was extremely informative and delivered with good humor and adapted to the interests of the group. You really experience how passionate the guides are about the animals, and that really adds to the overall experience. Excellent job, guys!

I also want to thank Sarah at reservations for her flexibilty and friendliness when I had to make last minute changes to my travel plans as well as the general manager who was great, when my shuttle forgot to pick me up and i found myself far from cape town without transportation. Really good customer service.

All in all, great facilities and an excellent opportunity to experience a bit of wildlife in a small lodge and in the company of highly skilled guides if you have limited time in South Africa. The night before I arrived there had been a wedding there, and I imagine that this must be a popular setting for this sort of events as well as conferences. I am happy to recommend the garden route game lodge.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mytravelquestion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2010

Stayed for one night which was perfect. We had 2 great game drives (5PM & 7AM) with a very good guide. Breakfast was very good with a variety of good stuff, dinner was not bad either. the lodge rooms are very spacious although can be more equiped and clean. It was a great experience and we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bananya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2010

we travelled from capetown to game lodge in 4hrs, we arrived at 4pm for the game drive at 5pm - if you could get there earlier that would be good to take advantage of the nice pool area and balcony area of lodge.

The lodges are quirky and different from anything we had stayed in before, not big but everything you need, really clean, bathroom with shower and tv, balcony area overlooking the game reserve and each lodge really spaced out from eachother - lovely experience.

You get 2 game drives - 5pm and 7am the next day, this was our first experience so brilliant to see all the animals but you get he feelin that it is slightly fake with each animal in a certain area of the reserve, we really enjoyed it but if you have been to Kruger you may feel a little letdown.

Restaurant really good choice, service and amount of food with lovely views over reserve.

You also get a reptile and cheetah conservation tour which are nice perks. We loved it, made our SA trip and staying in the lodge was something we will remember forever.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skpharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2010

we stayed just the one night which was enough, the game drive was fantastic and we wish we had just done the drive but we stayed in a challet which was small, hot, lacking decent plumbing. The clenliness was of a poor standard, the service was pretty basic and lacked the personal touch that you would expect when paying such a high price, we would visit again but only to do the game drive.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deekSaudiArabia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2010

I couldnt recommend this place enough. The staff are so friendly and the game drives are amzing - yes it is alot smaller than you can get up at Kruger but the price is relative to that.
We stayed for 2 nights and every game drive was different (we had 4).
We stayed in the chalets which are very private and romantic and when we first checked in there were Rhino drinking from the waterhole 200m in front of our chalet.
Staff are excellent and food is excellent.
When we were there the giraffe was pregnant and they were hoping that the elephant would soon be too, with the imminent arrival of a hippo the Garden Route Game Lodge is getting bigger and bigger.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FayeandRodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2009

We booked the Garden Route Game Lodge as we knew we wouldn't have time to get to one of the larger safari parks, and wanted to see some wild life. The rooms are very attractive, little round wooden huts with a small verandah for your cocktails (!) and nice views over the reserve. The rooms are small but with everthing you need and we were only staying one night.
The game drives were well organised but be warned, you will see more lions at Longleat, and as at Longleat, the 3 lions are in a compound, fed by the rangers or they would make short work of eating all the other animals. There are not huge numbers of animals but the rangers are very knowledgeable and informative and I learned lots of interesting facts. Our ranger was Retief, who was also quite cute so was a pleasure to listen to!!
The restaurant area was attractive and the food very hearty with a good choice for evening meal and for breakfast. There are 2 areas with open log fires to make you feel cosy after the chilly game drives.
We sat by the pool for a short while before our Game drive and it seemed to be well used by families with children.
If you expect to see open prairies with herds of wildebeest don't come here, but for an experience that is a bit different, with a guarranteed sighting of lion, elephant, cheetah, rhino etc with some really interesting information from the rangers, I would recomend it.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yorkiecorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albertina
3.0 mi away
Albertinia Hotel
Albertinia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Albertina
43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
53 reviews
9.1 mi away
Indalu Game Reserve
Indalu Game Reserve
#3 of 34 in Mossel Bay
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Nyaru Private Game Lodge
Nyaru Private Game Lodge
#7 of 34 in Mossel Bay
230 reviews
3.3 mi away
Zoutpan Struishuis Guest Farm
0.0 mi away
Addo Elephant Lodge and Safaris
Addo Elephant Lodge and Safaris
#8 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Route Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Route Game Lodge

Address: N2 | 5km after Albertinia towards Mossel Bay, Albertina 6695, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Albertina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Albertina
Price Range: $285 - $591 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Route Game Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the backdrop of the majestic Langeberg mountain Range, the Garden Route Game Lodge guards the entrance to South Africa’s world famous Garden Route Coast.Only 3½ scenic hours drive from Cape Town, this malaria free, family owned and operated private game reserve is home to an abundance of animal and birdlife including the Big 5.Visitors to the Garden Route Game Lodge can enjoy game viewing in open Landrovers, luxury accommodation and a memorable dining experience in one of our African style restaurants. Our friendly staff and management are there to anticipate your every need to complete your unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden Route Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Route Game Hotel Albertina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing