We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where Oceans Meet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Garden Route Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2012

If you've been on a safari then this may be a little disappointing, if you've not, there its like a safari park only a little larger, with electric gates giving access from one area to another. The tracks were very rutted so the game drive can be quite uncomfortable. We saw 4 giraffe, 2 elephants, 2 lions, rhinos, various antelope, but the highlight were the cheetahs. We saw 4 cheetahs in the breeding project and two 6 month old cubs which we got to stroke through the wire fence and have our hands licked! The dining area was impressive, the meals were very good and the rooms a good size.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

681 - 687 of 1,115 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

Everything about this place was first class. When we arrived, we were greeted by their friendly staff and were made to feel at home. We were told about what was happening during our stay. We had a two safaris, one in the early evening and one in the morning, a tour of the reptile exhibit, and a tour of their cheetah program. We were also explained about the meal arrangements. All this was included in the price.

My room was a bungalow with a thatch roof and it was all in character of being on a game reserve. From my deck, I could see several herds of animals. I got my binoculars out and discovered that I was looking at Zebras and Springbosk. Upon further exploration, I saw two giraffes. I knew I was at place that was special. The safaris were incredible. I could rave on and on about it. We saw the big five and many other forms of wildlife . The guide was informative and made the trip exciting and memorable. I have amazing pictures to show for it.

The food was excellent and plentiful. Both the dinner and breakfast were buffet style with a wide variety of food. One of the options for dinner was barbeque venison which was very tasty.

If you don;t have the time to go to Kruger National Park, I would strongly recommend you come here. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Garden Route Game Reserve for one evening. The accommodation was comfortable, unpretentious and the dining area under thatch was lovely and spacious. But in particular, I loved the Game Drive. The reserve has its limitations being close to the main highway, but this was made up for by the very informative and interesting Game Drive. The guide paid attention to the little animals, the vegetation and the eco-system, something you don't always get when just focusing on the "Big Five". It was by far, the best Game Drive I have ever been on. I think Garden Route Game Lodge is good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MorneXanet001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

An easy drive to Garden Route Game Lodge from Capetown, very scenic, and well signposted. On arrival we received an efficient but warm welcome and brought to our accommodation which was in a beautiful setting, very comfortable with everything we needed for our 2 night stay. Breakfast and evening meal was very good and the resturant had lovely mountain views with a sunset to die for looking out from the terrace. Best of all though were the safari's our first was at dusk and the 2nd the next morning. Byron, our guide was excellent and went out of his way to be helpful and informative. The drives were very well organised and far exceeded our expectations. The animals had loads of space to roam and the water buffalo's mud to wallow in. We were lucky to find two cheetah cubs in the bush eating the breakfast their mother (hiding behind scrub swishing her tail) had caught for them. We were very impressed and loved every minute - certainly we would have no hesitation repeating the experience.

Room Tip: We were very pleased with our room which had a private porch to sit and watch the sun set.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Overnight and Tour Safaris was fantastic. Informative, educational and great experience.
Staff are friendly, accommodation luxurious room, buffet breakfast and evening meals were beyond expectation which Muslim meals provided too. Enjoy the Safari Game Drives with qualified field guide and have good experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mahpoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I was in Cape Town for August 2012 and wanted to make sure I got to see the wildlife and as much of the Big Five as possible. Unfortunately, I did not have the time to go to the bigger national parks (Kruger, Addo), so I searched for a good game park in the Western Cape.

I was pleased to find a R795 (about $100) per night special in the newspaper for the Garden Route Game Lodge, which included a private chalet hut with a comfortable bed, television, and private bathroom with shower, a 2.5 hour afternoon game drive, and a buffet breakfast. I chose to have a buffet dinner and a sunrise game drive, which was about $60 more total.

This was an AMAZING value for money. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. You are appointed a game ranger during your stay who takes you on the game drives. I had Byron who was terrific.

The game drives themselves are incredible, especially if you are from the USA like me and was seeing most of the animals for the first time. They have several types of antelope like eland and kudu, as well as springbok. We saw giraffes, hares, many different kinds of birds. Of course, the Big Five were highlights and we saw rhinos, lions, elephants, and water buffalo. They have a leopard but were up front in telling us not to expect to see it as it is nocturnal. Not a big deal, because everything else was awesome. Free roaming in the park which we did see is a mother cheetah and two cubs.

The buffet dinner featured several South African specialties (bobotie, bredie, malva pudding) and was worth the extra $25. The buffet breakfast was also great and was included in the special R795 price.

I completely recommend the Garden Route Game Lodge. A little bit of a drive from Cape Town (3.5 hours) but absolutely worth it!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

From the moment we arrived we were made welcome. Safari was always informative and educational. Accommodation was adequate for my party. The buffet breakfast and evening meals were beyond expectation. A very friendly and value for money experience.

Room Tip: A great family friendly experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANTHONY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albertina
3 mi away
Albertinia Hotel
Albertinia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Albertina
50 reviews
290.8 mi away
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
59 reviews
17.8 mi away
Gondwana Game Reserve
Gondwana Game Reserve
#2 of 39 in Mossel Bay
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Indalu Game Reserve
Indalu Game Reserve
#3 of 39 in Mossel Bay
115 reviews
16.3 mi away
Botterkloof Resort
Botterkloof Resort
#2 of 11 in Stilbaai
63 reviews
243.8 mi away
Addo Elephant Lodge and Safaris
Addo Elephant Lodge and Safaris
#8 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Route Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Route Game Lodge

Address: N2 | 5km after Albertinia towards Mossel Bay, Albertina 6695, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Albertina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Albertina
Price Range: $194 - $661 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Route Game Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the backdrop of the majestic Langeberg mountain Range, the Garden Route Game Lodge guards the entrance to South Africa’s world famous Garden Route Coast.Only 3½ scenic hours drive from Cape Town, this malaria free, family owned and operated private game reserve is home to an abundance of animal and birdlife including the Big 5.Visitors to the Garden Route Game Lodge can enjoy game viewing in open Landrovers, luxury accommodation and a memorable dining experience in one of our African style restaurants. Our friendly staff and management are there to anticipate your every need to complete your unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Garden Route Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Route Game Hotel Albertina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing