We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveler rating
63
23
8
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
23
8
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstunning viewsshort driveguest houseshetlandlochsealschalet
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 96 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2016

We stayed for a week whilst on a tour with Shetland wildlife.We had a room in the lodge, we had everything we needed, comfy large bed, windows with views, large bathroom with a shower, fluffy towels, tea and coffee.
Its a lovely hotel full of character, the food was really tasty, breakfasts where hearty and filling, 3 course evening meals where delicious with fresh vegetables and local daily catch.The chef, Keith is a fantastic cook and a lovely fella , always checking guests are happy.
Martin who serves in the bar, waits on and cooks breakfast is a gem, so kind and helpful. Gail our morning waitress was also very friendly and always took time for a chat.
The hotel is in a peaceful spot, very quite and a short walk to a lovely beach and cove.Set on a rise above the Loch, nature in abundance and spectacular sunsets!
Super fast WIFI that works in every room and in the lodge.Great well stocked bar.
We had a great time and will be returning to this gem of a place.
Thank you for looking after us so well

Room Tip: we had room 11, lovely double.
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Aly63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2016

The Spiggie has a great location on the top of a hill so great views across a loch and fine sunsets can be seen from your room. The rooms though are rather tired and overdue for renovation. Food was excellent both at dinner and breakfast, most especially the fish and the bread and butter pudding.

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duncanA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2016

We stayed here last 5 years ago and absolutely loved it so we were very much looking forward to spending our last night on Shetland here again and we weren't disappointed.

The service from the moment we arrived, to the moment we left, was warm, friendly and very welcoming. The bar is a lovely place to sit and contemplate the menu (nice squishy sofas!) and my husband was thrilled to find beer on tap after the bottles he'd had elsewhere!

The food was just as spectacular as we remembered it - all local produce (scallops and lamb) and the divine bread and butter pudding straight out of the oven finished it off nicely.

The room was spotlessly clean with a great bathroom and beautiful views and we loved every minute of our stay.

We hope to be back.

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HJenkins71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2016

We had a really relaxing and friendly stay at Spiggie as part of our wildlife tour around the islands. The staff at Spiggie did everything they could to make us feel comfortable, including changing some food dishes to suit my taste. The Spiggie is situated in beautiful scenery and is surrounded by wildlife. We were being driven around but if you come on your own you would need transport.

Room Tip: They are all beautiful, the views are stunning
  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2016

Enjoyed a wonderful lunch yesterday, asked what we would like to eat. Scallops in white wine sauce terrific, poached salmon also excellent followed by Apple crumble and pavlova. As there were only two of us instead of sitting in the bar we were asked if we would like to move into the dining room and enjoy the best situated table looking out onto the loch and over to the sea. Delightful service and food.

Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Douglas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews